X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Alfama Patio Hostel Reviews

Escolas Gerais, 3, Patio dos Quintalinhos 1, Lisbon, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1267 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best place in Lisbona to stay, like home.


97%

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. She was completely "anti-hostel"...until now! Obrigado Alfama!!! The bbq and pub crawl were worth it!!! and special was DJ Matador!!!!


83%

Nice breakfast, staff always available I answer any question. The only problem is that you need I take a tram to go almost everywhere.


94%

The hostel is a really special place.the garden,the dorms,the shared rooms and especially the roof terrace are so cosy and comfortable.just to feel good:)everything is very clean and the workers are friendly.the breakfast is good,especially the pancakes!the hostel is situated in the historical part of lisboa,not as central as others but its a really nice area!in conclusion,a really great hostel!


97%

Alfama Patio Hostel feels like home and staff are so friendly and helpful and easy to be around. The facilities are nice and I loved the Alfama neighborhood. It is not as central as some other locations, but it is a legit neighborhood where fado comes wafting down the streets from local clubs and restaurants. It is a little hike up the hill from the Sta. Apolonia metro and train station, which makes it very easy to get around.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is situated in the old neighborhood : Alfama, it is a quiet bur close to the center and many tourist attraction (Castle of S. Jorge, Cathedral of Se...) A big thanks for the team of the hostel (Lucas, Joana and Pedro). They gave you all the information that you need during your stay in Lisbon. Also there are pancakes for breakfast.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Helpful staff, great, easy-to-find location.


77%

Our room in a desolat condition. Doorlock out of funktion, unsafe private lockers. Other rooms very clean and beautiful. Some staff with engagement, some with less, generally ok. Otherwise fantastic atmosphere. Despite the negative aspects worth it. Coming back.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The Alfama Patio Hostel is wonderfull it seem to be at home.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was really great, especially the staff. Be ready to hike in the Alfama neighborhood, and have fun dragging your suitcases up those hills!


94%

Nice place to stay. Nice yard and balcony with beautiful blooming flowers. Nice atmosphere. Beautiful view from the room window: the red house roofs and the Atlantic far away. The staff are very nice. Recommend it, definitely.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location and helpful staff. Breakfasts are GREAT! Clean, quiet and comfortable with a nice outdoor seating area.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

A good hostel in the hearth of beautiful Alfama. Great breakfast (pancakes, cereals, bread and jam, fruits...), lovely atmosphere. Only bad thing, they do NOT have WIFI! Really annoying being a back-packer who has to look up staff on the city or future destinations. Apparently they've had this problem for quite a lot (I read previous reviews and experienced it myself), they only have ONE pc in the hall, which is not great for all the people going around. Apart from that, we loved it!


91%

Very good hostel. The toilets and bathrooms are small but they are very clean. Many activities are organised by the hostel in coorparation with two other hostels, which is very nice. Also because of this you get to know new people all the time. The staff is very friendly and the ambiance is very relaxed.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything in this place is nice, simple, clean, wi fi, you can cook, the staff is helpful.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I don't usually get round to writing reviews but this hostel was so great I had to post something. Couldn't ask for lovelier staff or a better setting in the gorgeous Alfama district - really one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Fresh pancakes for breakfast every morning, genuinely comfortable beds and hot showers, great view of the river from the terrace. Particularly good for solo travellers as it's got a mellow vibe and is easy to meet people. Thanks Lucas and co for an amazing stay!

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place, well located, near by the tram station, in the typical and authentic district of Alfama. The staff is very friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it, its located in the old city so its a little difficult to find with all the winding roads but that just contributes to the atmosphere and you'll get used to it very quickly. Just follow the tram tracks, they run just outside! There's a locker in the room and there's always a dinner you can join and people are easy to meet there. One of my new favorite hostels, I would definitely return on my next visit to Lisbon.


97%

Loved it here! It was my first time in Europe, and my first time staying in a hostel. The staff made me feel so welcomed. They did an excellent job of organizing daily activities that helped us navigate the city and meet new people. I loved that they have a sisterhood of hostels going on. That gives you a chance to go to events at the other hostels and meet people from there. Alfama is a super charming part of town, with winding cobblestone streets and high hills. Great to explore! No complaints


91%

Very charming place, with kind staff and outstanding outside patio! We had an amazing stay at this hostel, THIS PLACE IS SO CUTE :)


(68 results)


View all Lisbon Hostels

Please give us your feedback