X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alfred Park Budget Accommodation Reviews

207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1261 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Awesome hostel! The kitchen is seriously well cared for, the rooms are clean and the staff is really helpful. The hostel is also quiet as the common areas are spaced from most of the rooms. I hear the wifi isn't working on all the floors but if you happen to stay in one of the 4-bed dorms near the hostel entrance it works perfectly fine. The location might be a bit farther from the city center but with the free shuttle nearby and Surry Hills you won't actually be missing out on anything!

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A dishwasher would be great...

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good place to stay. The dryers are more than useless though...


80%

quiet hostel near central station, good place if you want to save money.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is located in a beautiful neighborhood, Surry Hills, in front of Albert Park and 5 blocks from Central Station. I stayed in a four bed room and it was OK. Beds are comfortables, they clean the bathrooms everyday, there's a huge kitchen, lockers and nice staff. But there's no free wifi (it's 3 dollars x day), no breakfast and 0 noise policy after 22.30. It's a quiet hostel, suitable for people who's already working. Being one of the cheapest in Syd, it's totally recommendable.


86%

Loved staying here. Comfy, convenient and great staff who were so helpful. Stay here for sure.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a super great time staying there. I was a bit frustrated that the wi-fi wasn't accessible upstairs in the attic room we were in, but you can't have everything and that's hardly a big deal. Found it very clean, staff were friendly, and so were the other guests. It was nice and quiet and the location was ideal - free parking on Pitt St. was a lifesaver. Definitely would recommend to family and friends.


80%

This place is better than what you would expect for the price you pay. Would recommend if you want good cheap accommodation.


77%

Great location. Short walk from Central Station and an easy walk around Surry Hills which is a great neighbourhood for bars and cafés. The rooms are nothing special but you get what you pay for and the price is reasonable for Sydney. Really good kitchen facilities. It's a good place for a cheap and short stay if you plan on being out of the hostel most of the time. A good base for getting around the city.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Toilet is very clean. Kitchen also ok. Room can be improve. The double deck no stair to climb up. 6 person room too small, almost no place for luggage. Wifi is only partial free, should have let the us know before we book the room. Need more power point. Need some computer so that some can use to transfer file from HP to external/USB. Well CCTV monitoring. if got long stay ppl, put all of them same room. got storage but no padlock. Near central station and can arrange pickup to airport.


97%

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Good location and comfortable place to come back to after a long day.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Stayed in the flat in the car park out the back - was an okay experience, but felt a bit too crowded for how much it was. The location is very close to the Central Station, but it's a quiet neighbourhood with not much around. Not much of a party atmosphere, but the staff were very friendly and helpful.


71%

It was difficult to control hot water vs cold water in the shower.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

It was great, the staff were really helpful and I had no trouble with the facilities at all. Would recommend it to anyone

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Location of the hostel is across from the park. it's handy to go for a run or enjoy open space. it's 15 min walk to china town & essential facilities. Good coffee end of a block. Staff are excellent, kitchen & bathrooms are cleaned by some tenants and they do excellent job. Unfortunately, many travelers & some long term stayer are grubs, doesn't clean up. It's chilled out place. It lacks social atmosphere as there are no tv or computer available. Free secure lockers if any available.


89%

Good experience situated in a historic part of Sydney many interesting buildings to see within walking distance. Staff very pleasant and helpful. They keep the place clean.


54%

Not suitable for families, definitely only backpackers.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Overall the stay was good. However, we did not have WiFi in our room, which was frustrating, and the cleanliness could have been better. The TV also did not work. The staff was very helpful and having luggage storage for free was wonderful!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Went in June, so probably the low season for backpackers and tourists. But the hostel upgraded me to a room with an ensuite. The only downside were the beds. They definitely need an upgrade. The springs were digging into my sides and back the longer I slept.


69%

disappointed that the room looked nothing like the picture on the site, I also thought there was suppose to be a TV in the room which there wasn't! on the plus side, the beds were very comfortable and location was great! was also disappointed that I wasn't able to secure my car cause the roller door wasn't working

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback