X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alfred Park Budget Accommodation Reviews

207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1326 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Staff was very friendly. When the wifi was down, they let me use their internetcable instead. Bathrooms and kitchen was mostly clean; when not clean, you couldn't blame the staff buy only the residents.. Wifi usually pretty fast. The location was great with a nice park on the other side of the road and only 5 mins walk to central station. 10 mins to Woolworth supermarket. Only complaint is the broken aircon which meant a boiling hot room on 2nd floor. Would definitely recommend!


80%

Great Hostel on the outskirts of Sydney CBD, situated next to Central Station and Alfred Park. Theres no free Wifi, no computers to use, no free breakfast and no chill out room. You can get all these included in the price in all other hostels in Australia...bit of a let down considering the price! Although this is pretty much a working hostel, it's pretty quiet and if its night life and parties your looking for, you ned to stay in Kings Cross. My room stated 4 beds, its actually got 5 beds. :(

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We made a wrong booking but the staff where very helpful and solved the problem to our satisfaction.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

It was ridiculous that I could not get a locker. Any hostel should have one locker per person, end of story.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is unfortunate that you were not able to find a locker during your stay, we value security highly in our hostel and is why we have over 30 cameras recording common areas and corridors 24/7 for your safety. We supply a limited amount of lockers outside of the rooms as there is not enough room to have 150 lockers (1 per person) on site, it is physically impossible to do. This is why we offer anyone who needs to store away valuables in our office safe/store room free of charge

80%

Only complaint was that we had a room with no aircondition and the fan was broken. Otherwise we likes our stay very much, it is good value compared to how little you actually pay


77%

Good, Clean hostel, particularly for the price in Sydney. Opposite a lovely park and near central station. We (2 girls) were upgraded to an ensuite dorm because it was available. Unfortunately, with no lounge or common room it lacks the interaction with others staying. Overall a good stay.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Limited wifi is disappointing (like everywhere else). Otherwise a good place to stay. At the height of summer the air conditioning was invaluable.


63%

Hi, ist was a nice place near to the central station.The staff was very helpful and it was posible to bring my luggage early. I had a room together with 3 nice women, but there was no more space in the room. No place for the luggage and the frigdge dosen´t work, also the air-conditioner! There was no room cleaning! Toilet outside. For me wasn`t a problem, that there was no meeting- room to sit together, but if you stay longer, it will be nessesery. For only 3 days, it was ok fore Sydney.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities were alright. Locations was excellent and the price was alright for what you got. Could do with larger fridges as there wasn't enough space for everyone's food.


77%

Good clean hostel.

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Room was smelly, WiFi included only 4 hours but internet speed is Ok, lockers, Staff was friendly

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good location, accessible to public transport easily; Kitchen area is very uncomfortable during dining hours; should have locate for more washing machines and dryers; shared shower rooms are sufficient for the guests; love the piano as well :)

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Bedding was damp the whole stay, and there was cockroaches in the bathroom, cut my stay short for these reasons and received a refund for the remaining days that I hadn't stayed. Although they did not refund me for the night I left which I thought was poor. Staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly and location is only 1 train stop from the centre of sydney where everything happens. Overall would not stay here again.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Not a bad place, would definitly recomend it for any budget hostler, i would have stayed much longer if i had the time


69%

For our family (8 people) this hostel is nice, far from the center but we can walk about 15 minutes to China Town, on the first day (8 days for our trip) the receptionist allowed us to check in soon, 2 rooms. It's a lovely hostel.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The beds were fine, but the own bathroom in the 4 bed room was mildly said really unpleasant to use.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The rooms were not the cleanest and didn't seem like they were maintained. The wifi and internet is brutal and is a hassle to log in - also you only get limited time or MB which is not mentioned on their website.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good Hostel with all facilities. Cleaned every day. No problems with the security and staff gives you all informations you want. You can go there with eyes closed


91%

Excellent staff, nice rooms in a very old building. Great location.


49%

Location not good, rooms are claustrophobic 10 pm hostel is dead Internet sucks and only in lobby Got better choices for less money


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback