X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alfred Park Budget Accommodation Reviews

207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1291 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Excellent staff, nice rooms in a very old building. Great location.


49%

Location not good, rooms are claustrophobic 10 pm hostel is dead Internet sucks and only in lobby Got better choices for less money


86%

You get what you pay for..m it's a great location but it lacks a cosy common area to socialise.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Pretty decent place, generally quiet and clean. Close to central station and supermarket and also a half hour walk to the CBD

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Reasonably priced hostel, conveniently located for Central Station. I arrived much later than expected, after reception was closed, and the staff were very helpful, providing a phone number and leaving my key in a safe place. On the other hand there were no free lockers available, so not a great place if you have valuables to store.


100%

all the time I've been staying at the hostel, I had not any problems ... everything was perfect ... thanks for the book apartments

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is good, opposite nice park and ten minutes from central train station. The building itself could do with a good clean, everything just looks old, worn and a bit grubby. Staff were ok. Wifi was poor and only available near reception. Although it was pretty cheap, when I returned back to Sydney for a few more days I stayed somewhere else (Railway Square YHA) and although more expensive I thought it was much better value.


100%

离Central 火車站非常近 環境很好 被單床單都很乾淨

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel was very good value for money. I had a room with four beds in it - it also had an ensuite. The ensuite was very newly decorated and clean, the room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. The location was good for myself as I didn't want to be right in the centre for a week. The hostel's location near to Surry Hills was ideal; shops and restaurants were close by. Opposite the hostel is a large park which has an amazing outdoor swimming pool - this was a huge bonus! Great value.


54%

Mainly occupied by job seekers or working groups who are staying in permanently. Carpets are old and ripped so as the bed sheets. Consider looking for a relatively nice and clean place within the same price range

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I've been two times in this hostel, they improve the hostel very fast. This hostel is nice for travelling but not for a long stay because there are always many drunken guests in bad condition.


69%

I had reserved a single ensuite room but, unfortunately, it was right above the kitchen gathering area. There was a LOT of noice until after 10 pm which made it difficult for my 6 am rising to catch the train. Good location near Cental Station but VERY noisy!!


86%

Awesome hostel! The kitchen is seriously well cared for, the rooms are clean and the staff is really helpful. The hostel is also quiet as the common areas are spaced from most of the rooms. I hear the wifi isn't working on all the floors but if you happen to stay in one of the 4-bed dorms near the hostel entrance it works perfectly fine. The location might be a bit farther from the city center but with the free shuttle nearby and Surry Hills you won't actually be missing out on anything!

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A dishwasher would be great...

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good place to stay. The dryers are more than useless though...


80%

quiet hostel near central station, good place if you want to save money.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is located in a beautiful neighborhood, Surry Hills, in front of Albert Park and 5 blocks from Central Station. I stayed in a four bed room and it was OK. Beds are comfortables, they clean the bathrooms everyday, there's a huge kitchen, lockers and nice staff. But there's no free wifi (it's 3 dollars x day), no breakfast and 0 noise policy after 22.30. It's a quiet hostel, suitable for people who's already working. Being one of the cheapest in Syd, it's totally recommendable.


86%

Loved staying here. Comfy, convenient and great staff who were so helpful. Stay here for sure.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a super great time staying there. I was a bit frustrated that the wi-fi wasn't accessible upstairs in the attic room we were in, but you can't have everything and that's hardly a big deal. Found it very clean, staff were friendly, and so were the other guests. It was nice and quiet and the location was ideal - free parking on Pitt St. was a lifesaver. Definitely would recommend to family and friends.


80%

This place is better than what you would expect for the price you pay. Would recommend if you want good cheap accommodation.


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback