Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Algarve Surf Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Sep 2017
9.7

Cool hostel to stay at, nice people. Surf lessons were a bit expensive but overall good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
9.4

My stay at the Algarve Surf Hostel was great! The house is really cool, the surfing great (also since the instructors are so good). The Algarve Surf school has two hostels. This one (Lagos) and one in Sagres. If you only want to surf and even more of a family vibe I'd recommend going to Sagres. If one is looking for a few nights out, heading to bars and clubs Lagos is the better choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.9

Great hostel, 20 min walk from city centre. Nearby aldi which was great! Nice people running the hostel, attended a Mexican night which was a great way to meet people. The pool is also a massive bonus!! Went on a day trip surfing organised by the hostel - great instructors but warning that it is absolutely exhausting! Comfy beds and great breakfast in the morning. Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dianaandra8899
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Aug 2017
10.0

This was my first experience of staying in a hostel and I was a bit apprehensive , but it was amazing. Staff were super friendly and very helpful, The rooms were getting cleaned everyday and the breakfast was more than anyone could expect : from your normal cereal and toast to lots of fruit and freshly baked cakes and home made pancakes.Plus you can make your lunch sandwich on freshly baked bread rolls Defensively going back ! Thanks to all at Algarve Surf Hostel Lagos:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2017
6.9

This hostel was overall a good stay however there was small things that could do with improvement such as the information given when checking in- we did not get told you need to be at breakfast right on 9am otherwise you miss out on the hot food and they don't make more. The hostel is also quite a long walk from the beach and main town centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
9.1

We had a fantastic stay at this hostel! The staff and facilities are excellent, and of all the hostels I have stayed in, it was one of the most conducive to meeting fellow travellers. Great social atmosphere and great people. The Friday BBQ was delicious and great value, and the daily breakfasts and take-away lunch (free) were convenient and well above average for a hostel. Only downside was the location which is a bit of a hike outside of the city center, but the walk was quite manageable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.6

Staff are really friendly. Breakfast is good with continental options and a rotating hot breakfast item like French toast. They have a sandwich station where you can make sandwiches for lunch so you can bring them to the beach or surfing. Rooms are surprisingly quiet at night even with keeping the door open to the patio for a breeze. Book a surf lesson! They are really professional and teach well. Only con is the location is not good. A solid 15-20 mins from old town with some uphill :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel in the world! Perfect if u traveling alone or with friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Could not fault it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.7

Best hostel I've been to! What can i say about the staff, simply incredible!! They all are so helpful, super friendly and know how to have a good time! Freshly baked goods every morning, free breakfast, free sandwich station! Very practical for a day at the beach or surfing! The BBQs organized by the hostel are the best. The food is absolutely delicious and it is a great way to meet other guests! The hostel also offers surf camps - the instructors are so patient and very helpful. So worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×