Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alice Springs YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd May 2017
9.1

Friendly hostel, plenty of facilities in the hostel as there's not a lot going on in Alice Springs. They had a good collection of Documentaries about Uluru and aboriginal culture, as well as classic australian films which was a great way to spend the evening. Their projector was broken for the outdoor cinema and a staff member was rude to me when I washing my clothes in the laundry area sink.. but they had a lovely communal area and I wouldn't let one comment ruin my stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2017
6.3

Not the best hostel I've been to. I was only there one night so it was fine for that. I was in the 16 dorm room which wasn't actually as bad as I thought it'd be, the layout doesn't make it seem as big as that. However the door lock had broken which meant it didn't feel too safe, although there were lockers to keep stuff. Wifi is a little slow - but it's free! Staff were fine. Although one member did have a go at me about having an empty water bottle in the non drinking area!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
8.3

Nice staff on reception, rooms 1-9 seem a bit dark and dingy. Wifi is ok, showers good, spotless kitchen, excellent location in town, luggage storage for your trips to Uluru. A lot of odd older long termers though, some friendly, some bossy. Overall a very nice hostel :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.3

Great location but of course Alice is a small town so that parts easy. Staff are legendary. In particular Jules and Brent. Kitchen is great. Rooms are above average and clean. Bathrooms and showers great. Lockers great Try to avoid 16 bed dorm if you can as the door slams all the time. 10min walk from supermarkets and shops. 5min walk to Anzac hill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.1

Nice bathrooms and good kitchen! Also, the pool is a nice thing to have in the red center. Many old people around for a youth hostel. Also some children. A very relaxed and quiet mid-sized hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2017
7.7

Security wasn't great, one evening some girl used her key to her own room and was able to get into mine, she walked up the wrong flight of stairs. After this I was a bit worried leaving my stuff out. The atmosphere wasn't amazing but I did kind of expect this in Alice springs, the pool made up for it though. Kitchen facilities were great and so was the lounge area was too! Everything was really clean as well and staff were friendly!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed our stay. They let us drop our bags off whilst we went on a 3 day tour to Uluru. Staff were very helpful and the kitchen facilities were excellent. Rooms were nothing special but were just what we needed. Lack of plug sockets in our room was the only real negative. Also pool was welcomed!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Very clean, both the 4 and 8 bed dorms were spacious with big lockers and kitchen was very clean with lots of equipment. Best hostel in Alice springs and most centrally located. Very useful that you can leave luggage at the hostel when going on tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.1

Great location, close to shops, bars etc. Nice pool area and swing chairs. Tables outside are set up very sociably and there's a nice lounge area inside with couches and a tv so maybe in peak season there would've been more atmosphere however we stayed in Feb and there weren't many people about. The air con in the rooms was AMAZING - in fact, had to wear a jacket inside. Separate toilet and shower rooms rather than cubicles so you get privacy. Great cold water tap too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.1

The place is nice and the atmosphere is very cool. The porches and outdoor seating give it a campus sort of feel. Theres a pool and a huge kitchen. Rooms are a bit tight but nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.