X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

All Days Hostel Reviews

5 Selby St, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
912 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I stayed here 2 nights in a 4 bed private room with some girlfriends and we had a fantastic time! There is a grocery store right across the street and really close to the subway. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and kept everything very clean. BATHROOMS ARE BEAUTIFUL. Air conditioning in the room was glorious. 10/10 would recommend to all my friends and family.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice. Just as advertised. Great room and bathroom was clean and always available when needed.


71%

Adequate. Rooms very small. Free wifi, computers, phone for local calls was good. Bathrooms were ok, only about three showers for the whole place. Kitchen facilities were good. Location was good - walking distance to many attractions, supermarket and train station. Guy at the desk was not very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your experience. Just to clarify; we have 14 bathrooms in the building, 3 of these located in the same floor where you stayed.

86%

Auberge très sympa située à 2 pas du métro, dans un quartier agréable.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The A/C didn t work and was not repaired. I could hardly sleep because of the incredible heat in our room. It was not possible to open the only window. Room was way too small for four people.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We sorry for such experience, however the room is equipped with AC unit & running just perfect, other girls who complaints the second day seems had problem with remote set up.

71%

Vieille literie. Odeur de renfermé. Très bon emplacement

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The 'Cleanliness' was the downfall of our stay. The bedlined was dirty, very dirty. If the sheets had been washed, not stating that they hadnt been, but stains on the sheets are extremely off putting.


74%

The whole hostel is kept very clean, the facilities are fine and the location is very close to a subway station. Maybe my room was a bit too small for being a dorm, but nothing to complain about actually. The only main problem was the atmosphere that you would expect in a hostel, that was totally missing. Only few guys going around, nobody chatting or spending time in the common room etc. In conclusion, this is a great hostel, but if you want to socialize maybe it's better to look elsewhere.


80%

Very friendly staff, the trip to niagara falls is highly recommended, very good tour guides!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Tiny rooms! Disappointed


91%

C'est très bien.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel in general had a pretty good service. I stayed in a private room and it was very comfortable, just a little too small. There are plenty of bathrooms so you don't have to wait too much to use the service and almost every time it was average clean. The location is a really big plus since it's close to a subway station and downtown too.


97%

Had two nights in 3 bed (2 double beds) en-suite room. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent facilities, clean spacious room along a corridor from the kitchen downstairs. Good location although takes around 30 minutes to get to bus station on Bay Street. Would recommend.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean, perfect location. No complaints! Would have preferred if you could get a card machine to take payment but that is all.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Probably the best hostel I have stayed in. Great facilities and access from local public transport, and well within walking distance to downtown Toronto.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

El hotel es lindo y las habitaciones son espaciosas. Los baños están limpios. Únicamente destaco 3 cosas negativas: está a 15 minutos caminando del centro (hay metro también), en la web dice que se puede pagar con tarjetá y ahí hacen lo imposible para que lo hagan en efectivo y por último, cuando estábamos haciendo el check in nos preguntaron por nuestra religión algo fuera de lugar e incómodo.


74%

The rooms we had were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Our booking was screwed up when we got there, and we were not given the rooms we had originally reserved on the first night. This seems to be a common problem given other reviews, I recommend calling after booking to confirm the rooms you want.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel, not too far from dowtown,very close from a subway station, supermarket on the other side of the street, Kitchen full furnished, friendly staff.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Owner has put a lot of care into renovations Good security Very clean Internet variable Common gathering areas too small for socialization 2 Kitchens clean but small and can quickly get crowded


77%

Rooms were not what I reserved. Staff blamed mistake on me but other residents had similar problem.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for booking & staying with us. Missing a day or booking the wrong room online is completely a customer mistake, our commitment is to provide you with what exactly reserved according to Hostel World terms.

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback