Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

All Nations Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Sep 2017
3.1

The whole stay was disgusting, the 8 bed dorm we had at first was terrible as our sheets were stained after we got in at 11pm from our flight, + our door didn't shut properly. We then got upgraded to a 4 bed were our windows had mould growing on them and we got to learn that the hostel has a mice infestation, which they only combat using mice traps. Also the hostel is right next to the trains, so you're constantly woke up every 10 minutes by trains when trying to sleep.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
6.3

If you enjoy getting roughly 4 hours sleep a night with mice for company then this is the perfect place for you. Free pancakes was a bonus in the morning and staff were friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry to hear you had a rough time sleeping during your stay and encountered mice. Please know we have pest control visiting the property weekly to pay the mice a visit and we maintain a strict no food in room policy to further its impact. It's good to hear you liked our free pancake breakfast and thought our staff were legends. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne and wish you the very best for your journey here in Australia. Kind regards, - All Nations

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.3

Excellent location cleanliness staff n really enjoyable! Love my stay & will return again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Its good to hear you enjoyed our location, staff and general cleanliness! We're glad you enjoyed yourself and wish you the very best for the rest of your journey. Kind regards, - All Nations

31st Aug 2017
8.0

The location of this hostel is perfect. Unfortunately the staff was very slow when checking in. The kitchen is way too small for the amount of people staying there. They also turn off the wifi after 7pm and you had to pay to use it after. As I was out all day I couldn't use the "free wifi".

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thank you for leaving us a review. we're sorry to hear you had issues during check-in, we have recently hired a new reception team and some are still receiving training and may not be the fastest at checking people in. Mad travel down stairs turns off the free WiFi they offer when they close their shop for the day. We apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne and wish you the very best for your journey ahead. Kind regards, - All Nations

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Aug 2017
2.6

Awful hostel. Loud from being close by public transport all night rude staff constantly checking rooms but not public areas and abusive towards us. Kitchen looks like a bombs hit it. All round awful stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and we're shocked to hear staff were abusive toward you!? This is extremely unacceptable and we wished there was more information about this so we can prevent it from happening again, please if you have a moment could you email me with information about this encounter. The kitchen is our weak spot and despite constant cleaning at times during the peak hours it can get a bit hectic in the kitchen and we apologise that it wasn't to your standard during your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and wish you the very best for the rest of your journey in Australia. Kind Regards, -All Nations

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Aug 2017
5.4

Rather dated, could do with a deep clean and reflooring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for leaving us a review. Its true, the building is an old one and this may not be for everyone though alot of people find that aspect to be charming and we're sorry that it wasnt to your taste. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne and we wish you the very best for the journey ahead. Kind regards, All Nations

25th Jul 2017
7.7

Location is great, right next to spencer st in the free tram zone and by southern cross, but facilities deffo need a major upgrade, try to get a bed on the fourth floor and away from the window otherwise you'll hear water running all night and people screaming from the downstairs bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its true the location really is great and convenient. We would like to hear about which facilities you thought needed upgrading so we can improve our services. If you do return and are placed into a room that isnt to your liking please come see our 24hr reception and we will do our best to accommodate you! Hope you enjoyed your stay here at All Nations and your more than welcome back anytime your in Melbourne. Kind Regards, All Nations.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2017
9.1

Great place to stay! Amazing staff, and UBAR was an unreal night of cheap drinks and male strippers 😜 (Go on a Monday!) Thanks again, and will defiantly be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Thanks for leaving us an awesome review. Glad to hear you had a good time in UBAR for Magic Mondays with our gorgeous magic men and that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our staff do everything they can to give you the best Melbourne experience I am sure they were downstairs in Ubar enjoying magic monday with you!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
6.0

We had a mouse in our room the first night, dont know what else to say.... staff didnt really care like it was a regular accurance!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry to hear you encountered a rodent during your stay, we currently have pest control around every week and do all within our power to keep the rooms clean and food free. Kind Regards, All Nations.

20th Jul 2017
4.6

This hostel is in a great location; however, it's very dirty. No one does their dishes- not even the staff. The bathrooms are disgusting! And the rooms are freezing. They always had every window and door open possible in the winter. The staff weren't that helpful. I never received my "welcome package" and I left early. Would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience here, it does get cold here and we do our best to accommodate our guests. We offer spare blankets and have rooms with heaters in them upon request. Aw apologies you didn't receive your welcome pack, a very unusual situation indeed. Should you return to Melbourne we would be happy to give you the most welcoming pack you have every received. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne regardless and we wish that next time you visit you give us the chance to change your mind. Kind Regards, All Nations.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×