X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

All Nations City Backpackers Reviews

2 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
913 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great location and friendly staff


100%

Has a ball at All Nations. Trivia was a hoot! Clean bathrooms and great vibe. The las on the travel desk gave me a great deal on a great ocean road trip too! I'll be back for sure!


97%

very good location and comfortable bed!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay- See you next time!

91%

yes great place to stay - great that the bathrooms and toilets are getting done up

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay!

71%

great atmosphere!


54%

I was lucky, I stayed here for only one short night, as it was really unhygienic! Wouldn't stay here again! Only the location was good and the staff was friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for leaving a review. All our rooms are cleaned daily by our house keeping team. If by some chance your room isn't up to standard, please see one of our friendly, 24 hour receptionist and they will be happy to help out. We are glad you enjoyed our central location and welcoming staff. Safe Travels, All Nations

83%

Good overall. Great place for one night before early flight. Short walk to skybus.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Comfy beds, the room for the 10 bed dorm was huge, which is rare, so everyone had room for their stuff. Bathroom space is limited, 3 toilets and 3 showers per floor.... doesn't accommodate the number of people on the floor, lots of waiting. Ok for a night or 2 but that's it. Wouldn't stay there long term.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for leaving a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the comfy beds. We have just purchased hundreds of brand new matrices and bed frames, so every room is as comfortable as yours! Our bathrooms are currently being renovated and will be completed within the next week or so. Hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels, All Nations

66%

Location is great which is only 5-min walking distance from Southern Cross Station. The free Tram 35 is just next to the hostel. No free wifi, breakfast or locker.


80%

Only negative is no free wifi, and occasionally the noise if you need an early night. But otherwise good kitchen facilities, decent bathrooms, and very friendly and helpful staff at 24hr reception.


80%

Good hostel. Great location. Not as much atmosphere as other backpackers I've found in Aus though!


57%

I was very disapointed in this hostel. Our stay was bad, started with $20 extra taken for the room at check in and kept going with the staff taking all of our food. When we complained we were told that we should put a label on it or it would be taken or thrown away by the staff. No one told us about it and as we were very tired when we checked in we didn't notice the sign. This is completely unacceptable. When we came back hungry and had nothing to eat they didn't help us and didn't care.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you found your stay disappointing. At the time of your arrival we did have anew member of staff in training.She mad a mistake in overcharging yo -however the mistake was quickly fixed and you were refunded. Our Kitchen is deep cleaned every Thursday with Multiple Signs notifying guests of this process. Food is put on free food shelf for all people in the hostel to take. This process is essential and prevents mouldy food and bad smells. We do hope the rest of your travels are well

89%

We were really impressed with how clean the bathrooms were, so yes! Keep that up! The noise from the trams at night were pretty annoying but you can't really do anything about that


69%

Enjoyed my stay but was very annoyed about not been told that the formula 1 would make the hostel very busy and I was forced to find another hostel due to booking too late

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice Area, friendly staff! The room was realy clean and bid.I slept in a 10bed room.


83%

great spot.close to CBD. close to southern cross station

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us while you were in Melbourne. We are located in the CBD close to absolutely everything, which most travellers find very convenient. We hope the rest of your travels are going well and we hope to see you again sometime. SJ

49%

The staff let me check in early by having me pay and taking my bags behind the counter, then when I came back for my key another staff member told me that they didn't have my stuff or any information about my check in. They tried to get me to pay again until I insisted that I had paid already multiple times when all of a sudden yes she saw that I did pay. She then also "noticed my stuff in the back". The hostel was dirty. rooms, bathrooms, hallways all need a good deep clean they smelled musty.




View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback