X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alley Youth Hostel Reviews

No.33, Lane South West Wharf, Temple Backstreet, Lianhu District, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
109 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice place in the middle of Muslim quarter, maybe little bit dificult to find (better to have address written in chinese or printed map - address is 西安市莲湖区西大街城隍庙旁边大学习巷直走看到二十五中学左拐西仓南巷33号 and you can use http://map.baidu.com/ to have chinese route map). It is 10-15 minute walk from subway Sajinqiao or few minutes by ricksaw. Enjoy your trip, I can recommend this hostel.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Location is really good, but staff were not always available, we had troubles with bathroom and solutions were not the bests. Also internet is not so good. Not so clean place to stay.


60%

No internet/wifi or extremely extremely slow. Bethroom very dirty, dirty toiletpaper was only removed after 3 days and only after asking various times. Location is verygood, some of the staff friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest We are extremely very sorry to hear of what made you such dissatisfied . for the wifi in the hostel which new internet cable was just built , would been making much better internet than before and we have already talked to our staff about this situation which will not happen again. anyone has any situation is possible to inform the manager as soon as you can. we ensure that we will try our best make every guest stay here being comfortable and cozy. have a nice day !

63%

The bathroom of the dorm was dirty, we had to ask a few times before it was cleaned, and then they didn t clean it again fterwards. The basket with dirty toiletpaper was there for at least 3 days. Wifi is extremely slow even to chinese standards. Some off the staff where very helpful


86%

Food sold in the restaurant is affordable but not good, and service is average, where staff will give you what is necessary and let you figure out the rest for yourself. There are occasional problems in the opening of the locker. There is also a folder labelled 'Tour' with advice on destinations for tourists. I suggest changing it to "Guide" instead of "Tour" as the latter can be mistaken a sale tactic for tour agencies. Additionally, it would be useful to have an english version.


89%

Only one person speaks English, and she is extremely sweet and kind. She doesn't know much about how to get to different places, so prepare to look that up all on your own! We loved this hostel so much because it was right in the center of Muslim Quarters, the perfect spot, and it had so many things you could participate in for free. I would highly recommend this hostel. The only down side is that bathrooms were extremely dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thanks for your comment . actually we have some staff can speak English very well. we also have some nice parties here. every Friday there is a Chinese traditional food "dumplings party ‘ . we are here waiting for you !!

83%

Staff are friendly, clean rooms and washrooms. Lounge are and wifi are decent. Right in the heart of Muslim Quarter which gets lively at night, excellent street food and souvenir shops for bargain hunters. 30 minute walk from the metro or 7 minute walk to the bus stop. Only complaint is there's no elevator which sucks if your room is on the 6th floor like mine. :)

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment .we are very pleasure to meet you here . have a nice time in China .every day many guests from all over the world to be best to meet others . we also organize some interesting activities for guest. join us soon!!

80%

Location is fantastic. Staff are fairly useless. Not that I was expecting fluent English, but not even the basics are spoken except for one girl. We were also forced to wait from 7am until 2pm before they would allow us to check in. I repeatedly asked why and was told it was because we were in an 8 bed dorm and that's the rule. We got into the room and there was nobody in it! And nobody had checked out because I was there waiting in the lobby. They left us waiting while our room was empty!

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest we are apologizing for any inconvenieounce to you and we should inform that the room occupancy when you arrived . so we are impossible to help you check before the guest check out at 12:00 . normally we suggest that guest can keep their luggage in the luggage room .and all also this girl was unable to communicate with you very well because of her limited English.most of our staff can speak very good English. there are 8 guests stay the room you booked so you check out together.

97%

Good hostel that has good working wifi at the hostel bar. Staff is friendly and helpful even though all of them do not speak english. Location good and close to the muslim quarter. It is a bit chaotic, but has a nice vibe to it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest thanks for your comment . wish you have a very nice trip in China. we also offer the free Chinese lessons by our staff .

97%

Its a little bit hard to find this hostel cause the written direction from the app is confusing. I cant say one bad thing about this hostel. Definetely will come back here and recommending this place to my friends!


100%

Fantastic location and excellent atmosphere. Recommend to anyone staying in xi'an!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your common . the hostel offer the travel tips salon of china, dumplings party every Friday and projector movies every day . nice and reasonable price western and Chinese dishes . we are looking forward to meet you here !! hang out with many western guys here!

69%

. Only concerns were the shower has no barrier around it and the whole bathroom flooded every time anyone used the shower because the drainage was so poor, which meant the bathroom floor was always wet and dirty. When I first checked in my room wasn't available until after 630 pm which was extremely inconvenient and nothing had been mentioned previously about thiis. Great location though, and what you would expect for price


80%

We stayed in the 8-bed dorm for a few nights and really enjoyed it. The hostel is located in the Muslim Quarter and the surrounding market is great. The attached bathroom was clean enough and the hostel had a good bar with happy hour every day. They also served good food and organised activities such as dumpling making. Not everyone of the staff spoke English but there always was someone who did.


94%

In the heart of the food market. Great location if that's what you're looking for - but it is noisy. Good hot shower, wifi, rooms cleaned daily. Bring a towel. They'll do your wash, but you have to hang it to dry on the roof. No elevator- 6 stories. Some staff very helpful, others less so. I had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment . we are close to Bell tower in the center point of xi`an. we also can offer nice western food and cheap tour . welcome every body come to stay with us !

94%

Great location in a lively neighborhood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment . have a nice trip ! we are so glad to meet you here . you are awesome!

91%

Very good clean hostel not the easiest to find required journey through some back alleyways but worth the search. Stayed in a very clean private room with tv ( one English channel) and the wifi worked well very fast. Although only one person on desk had good English the one that did was very helpful. Its good value for money and walkable to places like bell tower subway and night market - great if you want somewhere lively on a night

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment . we are located in the center of xi`an . we have already made better english team here . we strive to try our best . have a nice time on the way .

80%

Great location, right in the hustle and bustle and market life! The cheap street food is also very good, the only problem youl have is choosing where to eat! Definitely reccommend.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment . you could ask us inform you where to eat even we offer the very good western food in our bar.

71%

WiFi connection to my room was nonexistent, they didn't offer any towels, the room looked poor and smelled like mold, but it had air conditioner and TV. Staff was okay, general atmosphere was good, location was nice, right in the Muslim quarter, very close to the city center and subway.




View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback