X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alley Youth Hostel Reviews

No.33, Lane South West Wharf, Temple Backstreet, Lianhu District, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
45 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The hostel was pretty tricky to find - it's located in a slightly quieter backstreet. The alleyways are filled with market stalls with plenty of food, including full meals, breads, fresh fruits and vegetables. It's incredibly noisy and fun! You can hear it from the hostel though. The staff spoke fine English - they were really happy to help, and they have plenty of information on trips, or anything. The communal area was really fab- you can get both breakfast there and a drink in the evenin


91%

It is located in a very nice spot with the street food surrounding. Easy to find the hostel if you ask for directions to the people on the street. The bar/lobby area is very good. Too bad there are no elevators. Although the staff has difficulties to speak English they try their best to please you.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location - right in the Muslim Quarter and a 10 minute walk to major attractions and to the subway & bus stops. Staff were super friendly and courteous. Tried their best to communicate in English =) Super good WiFi (really hard to find in China) and rooms were updated, new and comfortable. Would recommend staying here =) *TIP: they do offer railway pick up for 100RMB one way but it's super easy to take the subway. *can be hard to find at night if you don't know where to go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hank you for your comment.we are in the center of the city,so the location is good:).yes we had update the room when you check in,you are lucky.Not only railway pick up,we off airport pick up service 200rmb/car less 4 person. tip: subway close time is 11:30pm in summer.

100%

Within the Muslim Quarter which means you'll never go hungry! Can be hard to find at first. They do pick ups from the train station/airport for a fee. Within 10-15 minute walking distance to the subway and the Bell Tower. Staff were super friendly - offered to carry my luggage upstairs even though they didn't have to. Rooms were updated and clean. Facility was super nice. WiFi worked GREAT on all floors (Super plus for China). Would definitely stay here again and recommend to all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment,we will try our best do our best.:) tip:we already update room facility on 2015-03-12,ex breakfast,WiFI,hairdry(all room)......

77%

Good location (close to main street

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,thank you for your comment.our location is in the center of the old city,so it is easy to go somewhere.near Muslem tradition market. another,we know Alley hostel is growing up ,we wish our guest can keep some comment on the website,help us to do better. we wish every guest have nice trip.

54%

Although hard to find, the hostel is in a perfect location, amongst the hustle and bustle of the Muslim Quarter. Rooms are clean and basic but what you would expect for the price you pay. Although trying their hardest, it was hard to communicate with staff and they seemed to be unsure on a lot of things. Out of 8 cocktails on the menu, not one was available as they had run out of drink.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry dear guest when i know that.we hired professional bartender and offer breakfast already.more train for our staff, tip:in the evening we have movie in the bar, dance party on sunday evening,if your want clean the room tun yellow card outside the door. apologize again.

94%

its good abd very pleasent to stay. i will recome=med this hostel to all my friends. one thing to climbup to 4th floor is very tiring should have lift for eldely visitor

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
:),Dear,thank you for your comment.eldely visitor can order second floor,and our staff will very pleasure to help you take your lug:) thank you come again...... TIP: we already update many facilities.

80%

Generally a good stay, but you might need to whip out your Chinese to find the place. It's in the heart of Xi'an's Muslim Quarter - the prime location for good eats. The hostel bar is little pricey if you're looking for a cheap dive, and was empty during my two-night stay in the middle of the week during winter (low season).

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank for your comment.According to the guest comment,we already change the price of the bar,it will be cheap,and off breakfast now,coffee&tea is free refill in the morning:) tip: 1.winter is low season in china,price is very cheap,so i suggest very guest if you're looking for a cheap dive ,this time is perfect. 2.we have free map & coupon card off,if you promise will leave comment over there:)

89%

Unfortunately the hostel was very hard to find, so that's how you can get there: When you are at the drum tower, go around and follow a street called beiyuanmen. At the first crossing, turn left into another crowded food street, that later turns into miaohou lu. Follow this street for about 15 minutes. Take the third alley on the right handside. You should see a big sign saying "U2". In front of it, there's the alley youth hostel. Apart from that, everything was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment.we are in the heart of the old city,so a little difficult to find ,but if your stay here ,you will find the location is perfect. TIP:take a little moto( The traditional traffic tools) will be easy get our hostel

91%

Cool hostel but So HARD TO FIND No signs out front please have some english signage. Otherwise excellence

Owner Comment (Hide)
According to the guest comment,we already make a english signage outside main entrance yellow light box "Alley Youth Hostel",and update so many Facilities,like wifi,breakfast,BAR...... thank you for your comment

74%

The hostel has a great location and the rooms are clean. However, there are only few staffs who speaks English. Luckily though, I was in a room with Chinese students who helped me with the directions to Xian tourist sites.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly,thank you for your comment.we are in the heart of the old city,if your stay here ,you will find the location is perfect. Secondly,According your comment,we hire more staff can speak english,they name Rayn,Steven,Fifi,so if any guest stay here, one staff can help you at least.In fact,not every staff can speak english very well,but we will do more training. TIP:we wish every guest can leave comment overthere,gift for it.

77%

Nice hostel in a great location in the Muslim quarter. The staff is willing to help and the rooms are nice. Not really an international atmosphere but ideal if you want a deeper contact with local people. Overall a nice experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a lot for your comment.Our staff is friendly,if any guest need help,we pleasure to do something for you.another your check in time is low season in china so you can't see more guest.we are young,but we want more and more person know us,that need every guest help us,leave your comment,disseminate us,we will appreciate it. TIP:we already update room facilities.

91%

- the staff is very nice and helpful if you know what you want and don't hesitate on insisting - very nice location, bus stop within 10 minutes walk - the rooms are nice, a 8 bed dorm is splitted into 2 rooms, very nice if you are travelling in a group - too bad there are so many floors and no elevator - overall, good experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a lot for your comment.Our staff is friendly,if any guest need help,we pleasure to do something for you. About the elevator,we have to say no word,someday maybe......when we get rich. TIP:we already update room facilities and off breakfast right now.we have pick up service.



View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback