X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alley Youth Hostel Reviews

No.33, Lane South West Wharf, Temple Backstreet, Lianhu District, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
77 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great location in a lively neighborhood.


91%

Very good clean hostel not the easiest to find required journey through some back alleyways but worth the search. Stayed in a very clean private room with tv ( one English channel) and the wifi worked well very fast. Although only one person on desk had good English the one that did was very helpful. Its good value for money and walkable to places like bell tower subway and night market - great if you want somewhere lively on a night


80%

Great location, right in the hustle and bustle and market life! The cheap street food is also very good, the only problem youl have is choosing where to eat! Definitely reccommend.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment . you could ask us inform you where to eat even we offer the very good western food in our bar.

71%

WiFi connection to my room was nonexistent, they didn't offer any towels, the room looked poor and smelled like mold, but it had air conditioner and TV. Staff was okay, general atmosphere was good, location was nice, right in the Muslim quarter, very close to the city center and subway.


77%

The location (muslim quarter) and the atmosphere are excelent! The staff is nice and helpful. The rooms quite big althought not very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your commend . hostel is full every day . we need seek for more staff for clean room better . we will try our best .

49%

The internet did not work most of the time and was painfully slow when it did. This created difficulty when planning. This 'youth hostel' operated oddly from my experience. There were children staying as guests, one of which was in our room sharing a bunk with his brother, so a 1 in 4 dorm turned into 1 in 5 dorm. Shower flooded immediately. Is a 6 story walk up. The guests we shared the room with smoked in the room and were generally inconsiderate, leaving lights on when we were sleeping etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest we are sorry to hear that make you not happy. when you found the situation, just inform us .we will deal with the problem. you check out after 18:00,we did not charge you extra room fare. the WIFI in the room works depend on the guest situation . it is full every day .many guest from other countries, we try our best to make guest comfortable. we offer the free computer on fist floor and the wifi is good in the lobby of hostel .we will strive for all . have nice trip.

91%

A very nice place. Clean, safe, located in an interesting muslim district (a little bit difficult to find). The owner speaks great English. They care about the atmosphere, for example they organized for the guests making the dumplings and eating them (for free). It was really nice. WI FI works. The staying is not expensive. We had a great time there. Only the bathroom near the reception was very smelly - should be improved.


100%

Seriously great location. Friendly / helpful staff. Washing machine available. Wifi didn't work, but I understand that you can borrow a computer in the lobby to use the internet. Very, very good location just to reiterate. Clean also. Definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment .we strive to try our best for every guest. we are new here but we will offer the best service (Professional travel information in China cheap food ) .you will feel it when you stay with us.

74%

Very hard to find, even the taxi drivers have no idea. Muslim zone so very dirty and smelly. The burning trashes on the street during the night but the hostel itself is very nice, colorful and clean. Stuff super friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guets We are sorry to hear from you on this situation. Actually we are easy to find . in the case we recommend every guest just take a motor tricycle to our hostel in western avenue.(10yuan ). Otherwise just call us we will help you more. Most of guests really enjoy visiting the muslin area .(nice and beautiful ancient Chinese buildings ) have a good trip ;my friend

71%

Hostel is located in a fantastic location in the heart of the Muslim Quarter and was not that difficult to find (just off of 西洋市). I loved coming back in the evening to the hustle and bustle of the Muslim Quarter, even if it is a little touristy. I was not a huge fan of the staff at the hostel -- one of the women at the front desk was highly incompetent and did not know how to get places from the hostel. Also, the wifi was extremely slow and did not work anywhere but downstairs in the lobby.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Alley Youth Hostel is located in the Muslim Quarter. I LOVED the location. It's walking distance to the Drum Tower, Bell Tower and the Xi'an City Wall. The staff was very helpful with all our questions and requests. My only complaint would be the offered tour. I found no books that could help me around the city, so my friend and I opted to pay for a tour to see the Terracota Army. Needless to say we were stuck with a tour guide who neglected us and spoke Mandarin only.


77%

Would be better if not losing track of reservations.


71%

Generally a nice hostel and good value for room size/facilities. The female staff are generally poor and lack English,took over an hour for breakfast as they waited 25min for the man to arrive, then 3 stood watching him cooking it - despite 3 prior requests for a tea.The breakfast was good value, but was cold. Male staff had good English and made efforts to please - film/footy and travel advice. Location is hard to find initially, but in melting pot of Muslim quarter, so a nice vibe.WIFI poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear sir we are sorry for this situation. we could not be hour to cook breakfast and they do not know the tea ordered .they just try to learn how to know how cooks food and the man try fast to cook the food . we will do more training and try to get the staff speaking english well . sorry again.

91%

Quite hard to find (tips below) really helpful staff! Find the junction with the bell tower between 'Bei dajie' and 'Xi dajie' (bus 611 from the train station) Go down 'Xi dajie'. Away from the bell tower. Keep going (quite long) until you see two Chinese archway's and the the 'Jin jang int West capitol hotel'. Turn right through the second (smallest archway) Walk the complete length of this street. Turn left on this T junction and after about 100m turn right again. Hostel after 80m

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your really nice detail for the direction .have a nice day ! just say that it takes several minutes from belltower to the archway . we located in the center but not noise and crowed avenue ,just in the quiet alley near muslin quarter ,as you have too much experiment of busy center of the city , to be your best choice is staying with us !

86%

The staff was really kind and helpful. The room had everything I needed.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for comment ,have a good trip

100%

Really amazing hostel located in muslin quarter ,walking distance to all of the symbolic sites, belltower citywall . Lots of great streets and alleys to explore alley neighbourhood. you can visit really chineses traditional buildings. Staff were friendly and helpful& speaking english very flutently . nice,clean room 24 hour check-in and staff were happy to help you at everything way . great & cheap food or drinks in the bar . the tour was cheapest in xian where i have been . High recommend.


91%

Was nice and clean hostel in a very cool area. It was a bit tricky to find but at the end it was one of the best hostels we stayed in China!


60%

The location was great and the room was clean enough. But the staff was NOT HELPFUL. Besides the one older gentleman (who wasn't always there), it seemed like the hostel was run by teenagers who didn't care about their job. They were unenthusiastic about answering questions and didn't thoroughly explain anything we asked about. They gave us one or two word answers; we had to pry information out of them. I wouldn't recommend this hostel just based on the poor staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest we are sorry to hear about the problem to make you not feel well and displeasure. so far we ensure these should not happen again here. we already have new service rule and change some member of our team . the new manager has well experience of hostel management to deal with all situation .thank you inform us above. we will knee on improving all in every way. thanks a lot

80%

The location is the best of this Hostel, although a bit hard to find, but completely worth it to wake up a listen a thousand different sounds at the same time. But, conveniently, all the movement of outside does not disturb the tranquility of inside because of sound proof doors and windows. Great stay in Xi'an.


63%

Reservamos ya que tenia buen precio y ademas incluida desayuno, sin embargo cuando llegamos y nos dicen que no esta incluido y lo querian cobrar, menos mal logramos que no lo hicieran, no era nada de bueno y se demoran una eternidad en servirlo. El staff no era muy acogedor y se pasean gatos por todo el lobby. Los baños nunca estuvieron limpios y el internet no funcionaba muy bien. Buen ubicación aunque dificil de encontrar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear God.I don't know what happened first,we apology about your breakfast,but we free charge the first already second,the piece is 28/per,if includ BF,hehe...you know that third,if you want clean your room ,please put the yellow cad outside the door fourth,your stay time have lot guests,So affected the speed,but we already update the facilities,this month fifth,about our staff,we must to say,we will change it last, I have to say that does not make you satisfied,that is our fault.

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback