Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alma Porto Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • MitchaAdventure
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th May 2017
2.6

I would not recommend this for anyone ... the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful and did not even greet me in the morning... the place smelled like wet dog and it was very uncomfortable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
10.0

Fantastic place to stay. Always meeting great people. Really cool location; not the middle of the city but easy walk to everything and public transport very close including ½ of the major train stations. Cool garden. Really nice rooms and common spaces. Not too big!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
6.3

It is a really nice hostel, but unfortunately I can't really recommend it, because the neighborhood is not safe at night. I went out for dinner after arriving at about 10pm just down the street, and was followed part of the way back (until I went to a nearby cafe that was open and waited for the car to drive away). I was later told by staff that this area (which just 2 blocks from the hostel) is famous for prostitution. It's really too bad because I liked the hostel a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.0

While the staff/volunteers are great and the price was right, the hostel itself was lacking. There was mold or mildew in at least one bathroom, not enough hot water, and the kitchen fridge was sort of broken. If you're coming to Porto for a short time and you're on a budget it's okay, but you get what you pay for. Don't recommend for solo travelers, I had a difficult time meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
9.4

Wow! I stayed in a lot of hostels this week, and Alma Porto was by far my favorite. The beds are so comfortable and clean, the staff is incredibly welcoming and friendly, and there's even a piano in the front desk area! Staying here was like joining part of a little family. I came expecting accommodations and left with memories and friends to keep. Definitely a hostel I'd recommend to all. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Fantastic

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
9.4

A place with soul! Beatiful traditional portuguese house with a garden. Great staff are the biggest asset of the hostel - friendly, helpful and attentive; many being travellers themselves therefore able to understand the guests' needs. As for facilities, you get a well equipped kitchen with a fridge, free breakfast (unlimited bread and jams and cereals), hammocks in the garden (yes!), good wifi (works in the rooms too). Downside are the showers which aren't always hot. Overall: recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel had the coolest vibe! It's run by volunteers, so the staff isn't always the same but they're always super great people. The patio, Terrace and garden were my favourite part because there are hammocks and a lemon tree. The breakfast is good, the rooms are clean and it's just 2-4km from main attractions. Caution: they have a hostel cat that's super friendly, but bring your allergy meds so you're not stuck finding some like I was. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful place. Especially the staff is awesome. The two Croatian girls Lucija and Andrijana did a great job and made a lot of pancakes for me :) I already miss them. The atmosphere is quite nice. Everybody is meeting in the kitchen or the living room. I really recommend you to stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
8.3

The hostel doesn't have laundry facilities and there's no hot water - especially a problem since the bathrooms are freezing! The kitchen is not very social since the table only faces a wall, and wifi is spotty. However, the common room is nice, there is heating in the dorms, the hostel cat is lovely and overall the hostel is really really good value for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.