Hostelworld.com

Alma de Santa Guest House

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 81 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 81 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.4
Alma de Santa Guest House Located at Rua Andrés Belo 15, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Alma de Santa Guest House
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241210 Rua Andrés Belo 15, Santa Teresa
93% 81
-22.9218633 -43.1830952
Alma de Santa Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
7.1

Alma de Santa is a near-perfect alternative for those who want to experience the true Rio as a Carioca, but mixed staff and dirty facilities disappointed us...Our stay was quiet and peaceful; of course this will change with fluctuations of residents. The price was good, owner very kind, but one of his staff members was sassy and both failed to tell us that the water was shut for 18 hours. The shared bathroom was dirty and breakfast small. No AC and water for a disgusting evening we almost left.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guys, First of all, we would like to say we really feel very sorry about the water, but it wasn´t our problem, was big problem of the city of Rio de Janeiro, several establishment temporarily closed the service, so we have a large water reserve, but with so many days without water we stayed also without water, we are providing an even larger reservoir. The lack of water eventually damage our clean, which greatly cherish, not only as a host but also as travelers we know that cleaning and a friendly staff you can do wonders for your stay. Thus, we ask if possible to contact us directly to find out what happened regarding attendance.

  • Lauralaos
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Mar 2016
7.7

The place was clean and quiet, which was great. Some of the receptionists were awesome, some were lousy. The food simple but good. I recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2016
10.0

Beautiful place to stay at!!!!!!! Really nice people to hang out with that will give you many tips what to do in Rio. Wish I could have stayed longer, but next time again, for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks. It is a great pleasure to have you with us. Came back often.

28th Feb 2016
10.0

This is my home in Rio de Janeiro! Ultra-friendly staff, nice facilities, beautiful garden, proximity to the city center (Close to Gloria metro station) and to Santa Teresa neighborhood. Breakfast is excellent and so is the honesty bar :-). The owner is exquisit and will really make you feel at home. Don´t be scared by the flight of stairs you need to eighther climb or descend (depending on where you´re coming from), once you´re in you won´t want to leave! Ciao :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is so nice to read words like yours. Our pleasure to welcome you here. Thanks. Come back soon. Flavia

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2016
9.4

Very chill, friendly vibe. Paulo and Danne were wonderful hosts the whole time I was there. It's not a party hostel, but a social place to meet fellow travelers and share beers and food at the bar in the patio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
9.1

Laid back, friendly atmosphere with helpful staff Clean kitchen and bathrooms with a great outside area to chill day and night Just a little bit of a steep hill to climb to it but it shouldn't put you off staying here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
9.1

We had a truely great time in the hostel, the staff was nice and helped us get around in the city. One of the best hostels I have stayed at!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2016
9.1

We were there during the carnival. Great place, nice breakfast and super friendly staff!! The location is also good for the carnival as a lot of parties happen in Lapa and St. Teresa which is not too far away on foot. The metro Gloria is about 15 min walk away from the hostel. Also the Sambodromo is only a few metro stops away. We had a fantastic double room with a view onto the stairs where lots of people in carnival outfits passed by all the time, so that was great fun to watch too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2016
9.7

Alma Santa is one of the best hostel/ guest houses I have stayed in. I've been all over Europe and South America and this place is unique. Friendly and helpful staff; Paulo, Dani and Alexander are a delight and super charming. The breakfast is good, the showers are great, beds comfortable and the backyard very peaceful. It is great value for your money. There is a bit of a climb up stairs to get there but totally worth the climb. Lovely overall, highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thehealthconnection6000
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jan 2016
9.4

We have never ever enjoyed such friendly, helpful and outstanding staff. Unless you are disabled or extremely geriatric dont even consider going anywhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.