Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alma de Santa Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.3
Alma de Santa Guest House Located at Rua Andrés Belo 15, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Alma de Santa Guest House
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241210 Rua Andrés Belo 15, Santa Teresa
91% 107
-22.9218633 -43.1830952
Alma de Santa Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed two nights during the Olympics. Very adequate for the price. Only 10mins from the metro and has great security. Kitchen facilities are limited but overall would recommend to anyone looking to stay around the santa Teresa area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.7

Location is pretty good only thing is you have to walk there either from bottom of the hill or top of the hill. For front door key, you will scan your fingerprint so you dont need to worry about paying for key deposit or losing key at all. Atmosphere of the place was fun. I was there for Olympic games and it was a mix of young family and young adults. There is a bar in their back yard and staff made Caipirinha. It was fun I wish I was staying there longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
9.7

A great place to base your Rio vacation from.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel to start my trip. The staff was very nice and got to meet very friendly people. Will definitely stay there again if I come back to rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
9.7

Great place. A bit of a climb up to santa teresa but worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2016
9.7

Absolutely loved our stay at alma de santa guest house. Staff were super friendly, nice clean dorms and really lovely outside garden and bar. It wasn't super busy when we went but had a nice chilled out atmosphere and was very sociable. Probably the best place I stayed in during our 2 month trip in South America. Its in the good neighbourhood of Santa Theresa - the only downside is its on a bit of a hill so can be a bit of a steep walk to arrive, depending on which side you're coming from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.7

Wonderful hostel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Accommodation is very clean and the hostel is quiet. Sometimes a little too quiet, there were a couple nights I was alone in my dorm with only one other person. When the hostel is filled, it's a great place to meet people while still enjoying a peaceful environment. Very close to the metro station as well as many cool sites ( art museums, tomorrow museum, selaron steps etc). Cool area, not too touristy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st May 2016
10.0

A really chilled, relaxed hostel with lovely friendly staff. The location is wonderful, just a few minutes from the metro and I felt really safe walking around alone after dark. They have fingerprint recognition to enter the hostel - I kid you not! Great breakfast, very clean, lovely garden area, fantastic people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
8.9

Alma de Santa is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Felt more homely than a hostel. Located about 10 minutes walk to the Metro in the neighbourhood of Gloria. Staff are fantastic and very helpful with questions. Atmosphere was calm when we were there but has the potential to be a great social hang out. We stayed in a private room, which was clean and bright. No air condition but, personally, not a problem for me. Showers were clean with hot water and awesome water pressure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
7.1

Alma de Santa is a near-perfect alternative for those who want to experience the true Rio as a Carioca, but mixed staff and dirty facilities disappointed us...Our stay was quiet and peaceful; of course this will change with fluctuations of residents. The price was good, owner very kind, but one of his staff members was sassy and both failed to tell us that the water was shut for 18 hours. The shared bathroom was dirty and breakfast small. No AC and water for a disgusting evening we almost left.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Guys, First of all, we would like to say we really feel very sorry about the water, but it wasn´t our problem, was big problem of the city of Rio de Janeiro, several establishment temporarily closed the service, so we have a large water reserve, but with so many days without water we stayed also without water, we are providing an even larger reservoir. The lack of water eventually damage our clean, which greatly cherish, not only as a host but also as travelers we know that cleaning and a friendly staff you can do wonders for your stay. Thus, we ask if possible to contact us directly to find out what happened regarding attendance.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.