Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Alobar1000

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 697 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 697 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
Alobar1000 Located at 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel-29, Kathmandu.
Alobar1000
Nepal
Kathmandu 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel-29
83% 697
27.7156783 85.3142451
Alobar1000
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Extremely social, fun loving atmosphere. The mattresses are quite hard, so wouldn't do your back any good for a long stay over. Greatest hostel vibes I've ever witnessed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.1

Tons of common areas with open areas to meet people, which is great; food at the restaurant is good and pretty well priced for Kathmandu. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the travel desk attached to the hostel is really helpful when planning as well. Filtered water available for 10 rupees/liter. The 12 bed dorm can be noisy, as it's next to reception, and can also get warm in the summer as there's no fans, but it was so much cooler than India that I didn't really mind. Social place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.3

Overall good stay. Good location, staff super friendly and helpful - always said hello when we walked in. Good wifi in the common room but didn't stretch as far as the dorms - not an issue for us but might be for some.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
9.7

nicest staff ever! super central, bathroom was always clean! Love the rooftop!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
8.6

The kind of place you can easily get stuck. With a chill rooftop and a bar and kitchen, there's no need to leave :) Sometimes the bathrooms ran out of toilet paper. My room (12 person dorm) was right next to reception and could be a bit loud. Great location - right in Thamel but down an alley so no street noise. Overall, really good value. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
10.0

Best Hostel in Thamel and Best most comfortable Hostel I have ever stayed at. Perfect location with everything close, staff is the coolest and is more like family; Samten, Pasang, Tina, Tashi, Prince, Prakash, Anju and Sushant all made my stay perfect with Anju and Tashi Doma being the coolest. Bar and restaurant on roof so very social plus security always at gate so no worries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th May 2016
7.1

Often has power cuts and the water was also not working for a while during my stay. Communal areas are great, rooms basic and toilet/shower area grim. But out of the way in Thames as well. When I returned to Kathmandu I stayed elsewhere, which says it all really

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
7.7

Great hostel for meeting people. The dorms are a bit cramped and the large ones don't have lockers near by but it's ok. Food good and very socialable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.7

Overall a good stay. The shared bathrooms are not very clean and the wifi worked poorly. Very social place where it is easy to find new friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
7.4

My stay at Aloobar 1000 was amazing. The staff was really helpfull and made my stay extra special by being your friend instead of just serving you. The best thing about Alobar1000 was the atmosphere. It's packed with backpackers, all looking to make contact. My journey through Nepal wouldn't have been the same if I hadn't gone here, since I wouldn't have met the amazing group of people that stayed there. We met a couple of times again afterwards, in Pokhara and in the Himalaya's.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.