Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alobar1000

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.9
Alobar1000 Located at 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel-29, Kathmandu.
Alobar1000
Nepal
Kathmandu 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel-29
85% 798
27.7156783 85.3142451
Alobar1000
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

I thought this hostel was awesome. A little on the outskirts of Thamel but not far to walk anywhere in Thamel or the city. Food was cheaper at the hostel than most places in Thamel so it was nice to eat here. Staff were great and super friendly. Beds weren't the comfiest but good for a sore back! I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
6.6

The roof top was great but in winter you literally sit outside in the cold. We met some awesome people and conitued our travel with them! The staff in the restaurant is nice but the ones in the reception are really unfriendly and didn't seem to want to help you at all! The bedding does not get changed and don't take the hostel's taxi!! My friend got pressured into giving a 10$ tip just because her flight was delayed. We didn't book it again when we came back to k. and we were happy about that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.4

I only planned on staying there a couple of nights and ended marrying 3 of the front desk girls and part of the cleaning staff. They are the best and kept feeding me at midnoon because they knew I was poor. Apart from that this hostel is social af! Very recommend, their rooftop is full of backpackers and people ready to get low get low get low get low get low get low... to the windowww, to the wallll, to the sweat drop down my bawls, to all these beaches crawl, to all these skeet skeet motherf

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
7.7

Likes- it was very central and only a hop skip away to the shops and restaurants. They had big lockers for you to store bags and the restaurant was value for money. Dislikes- showers and general cleanliness but you get what you pay for, and also a reflection of Kathmandu. The bed was similar to sleeping on the floor, definitely not a cloud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.3

I totally recommend this place for solo travellers who are looking to meet people or find travel buddies. The roof top bar is just perfect to chill and hang out while enjoying delicious food. The rooms are basic but good value for money. There is a lot to do to improve the washrooms though..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

Great place to meet people and plan your treks!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
8.0

Great location, great staff and the rooftop is an awesome place to hang out and meet people. I just have to say the bathrooms really need a good cleaning and more toilet paper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • livonashoestring
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Great location, cheap food and chill atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adambuchanan101
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Nov 2016
6.9

This hostel has good and bad points, Good The rooftop is a great space to hang out and meet people, the food is reasonably priced and decent The showers are hot Good lockers are provided Bad The beds are not comfortable The hostel is cleaned daily, but is very dirty and needs lots of work clean it up from being a bit of a s***hole The airport transfer is a ripoff (just grab a taxi outside The hostel is located a long way down a dark alley just outside Thamel, wouldn't want to walk there alone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Nov 2016
9.1

Perfect place to meet other travelers. Awesome rooftop to sit back and relax, socialize, and eat the hostel's great (and cheap!) food. Also has a decent travel desk where you can organize any transport or trekking adventures for decent prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.