Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alobar1000

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Alobar1000 Located at 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel-29, Kathmandu.
Alobar1000
Nepal
Kathmandu 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel-29
85% 714
27.7156783 85.3142451
Alobar1000
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Sep 2016
7.7

Super cool vibes... Bathrooms weren't very clean though and the rest opens quite late and closes too early. Internet was working good and the staff was very useful with organizing buses and trips accurate to my budget. That's a plus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.1

It's a great hostel full of amazing people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
6.3

Great atmosphere, but definitely is lacking on cleanliness in the rooms and bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
9.7

This hostel is the best place to meet other travellers! By my first night I had organised a week-long trek with a group I met at the hostel. The rooftop is a great place to relax and the food from the restaurant is well priced and delicious, I would recommend getting the ginger, lemon, honey tea!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel, very sociable place with the chilled out rooftop area. Nice staff and good large lockers under the beds. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Only negative is the location - very very close to bars and tourist stuff which is great but the street leading to it off the main road is not lit at night. Not a reflection at all upon the hostel but just something we noted... Have already returned for a second visit, thanks :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
9.7

By far my favorite hostel maybe ever. Great atmosphere and the staff is great. I still miss my Tina and Pasang ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
8.6

Great hostel in good location in THAMEL. Only bad parts are bathrooms are a little grim and its down a muddy back path off a main road. But hey it's Nepal. Atmosphere is like no other hostel I've been in. So great! Staff will hold your luggage for real cheap if you're trekking and wifi worked well too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Extremely social, fun loving atmosphere. The mattresses are quite hard, so wouldn't do your back any good for a long stay over. Greatest hostel vibes I've ever witnessed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.4

What a hostel!!! Absolutely amazing place to stay with the most amazing guests. I don't know what it is about this place but it attracts the best kind of people. All of the food is really good and reasonably priced. The only thing I would say is that sometimes there are cold showers but I never reported this (it happened twice) and a sign does say let reception know and they will sort it out for you. My own fault really! Highly recommend! Especially as a solo traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.1

Tons of common areas with open areas to meet people, which is great; food at the restaurant is good and pretty well priced for Kathmandu. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the travel desk attached to the hostel is really helpful when planning as well. Filtered water available for 10 rupees/liter. The 12 bed dorm can be noisy, as it's next to reception, and can also get warm in the summer as there's no fans, but it was so much cooler than India that I didn't really mind. Social place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.