Hostelworld.com

Alobar1000

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
9.4

perfect location in kathmandu, every taxi pretty much knows where it is. good food in the restaurant. super chill rooftop, easy place to meet people and hang out

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Alobar1000 is an awesome hostel. Great location, great staff, perfect place to socialise and meet people to plan trips, good cheap food. Don't hesitate to go there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice wee hostel with a cool & social rooftop to chill out on. Nice fire pit in the evenings to. Good location and a travel store next door to help with all the bus ticket booking etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

I thought this hostel was awesome. A little on the outskirts of Thamel but not far to walk anywhere in Thamel or the city. Food was cheaper at the hostel than most places in Thamel so it was nice to eat here. Staff were great and super friendly. Beds weren't the comfiest but good for a sore back! I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Awesome place to stay if you're looking to meet other backpacker- especially in low season because I heard a lot of other hostels were really empty. Lovely rooftop to sit and chill and drink tea and super close to Thamel markets for shopping and sightseeing. Only downside was the really hard beds and general basic feel of the place but really hot showers all the time and staff are really kind and helpful :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.7

I had a good stay at Alobar, and met lots of interesting people. The reception staff are relatively uninterested and start talking/laughing very loud early in the morning so not super good if you're in the dorm on the bottom floor. The bar staff are lovely and helpful. The common areas are awesome and the food is reasonably cheap. Only one shower with hot water that is awkward and pretty filthy, but a hot shower's a hot shower. Would stay again (further away from reception).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jan 2017
6.6

The roof top was great but in winter you literally sit outside in the cold. We met some awesome people and conitued our travel with them! The staff in the restaurant is nice but the ones in the reception are really unfriendly and didn't seem to want to help you at all! The bedding does not get changed and don't take the hostel's taxi!! My friend got pressured into giving a 10$ tip just because her flight was delayed. We didn't book it again when we came back to k. and we were happy about that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.4

I only planned on staying there a couple of nights and ended marrying 3 of the front desk girls and part of the cleaning staff. They are the best and kept feeding me at midnoon because they knew I was poor. Apart from that this hostel is social af! Very recommend, their rooftop is full of backpackers and people ready to get low get low get low get low get low get low... to the windowww, to the wallll, to the sweat drop down my bawls, to all these beaches crawl, to all these skeet skeet motherf

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
7.7

Likes- it was very central and only a hop skip away to the shops and restaurants. They had big lockers for you to store bags and the restaurant was value for money. Dislikes- showers and general cleanliness but you get what you pay for, and also a reflection of Kathmandu. The bed was similar to sleeping on the floor, definitely not a cloud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.3

I totally recommend this place for solo travellers who are looking to meet people or find travel buddies. The roof top bar is just perfect to chill and hang out while enjoying delicious food. The rooms are basic but good value for money. There is a lot to do to improve the washrooms though..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.