Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alpes Huaraz

  • Jr. Ladislao Meza no 112, Barrio de San Francisco, Huaraz, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • thelisaphillips
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Jun 2017
7.7

Good place to meet people. Location: ok, an easy 10min walk to the centre. Room: Good hot water, our private room (207) was small, a little dark and was right next to the stairs so we heard all the early starters leaving and partiers coming home - it made for a bad nights sleep every night. Breakfast: standard bread, toast and fruit. Pay extra for eggs. We ended up going out for breakfast. Wifi: ok if you're near the router

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
8.6

Location - easy walking distance from the Plaza de Armas Room - good size and clean. I had a private room - good strong hot water. Only downside, Huaraz was cold and there was no heat. There were however sufficient blankets on the bed to stay toasty warm. Breakfast - be warned, the free breakfast is continental. If you want more energy for your next hike you will have to spend money, not too expensive though, less than S/4 Internet - not so good, kept dropping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shaneomacf
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd May 2017
7.7

Nice hostel to stay in if doing one of the treks. Not a very social hostel though and not much facilities or events to bring people together, just a stop over really for trips. A bit of a walk to the centre of Huaraz. Room was nice though and showers were hot. Wifi generally worked good on 2nd floor. Rooftop views are very nice. Strict policy with the kitchen which is a bit much having to get a pass from reception. Good for a nights stay but that's all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2017
7.7

Staff are helpful and you can book tours which are convenient but tend to be more expensive. Nice entertainment room/ roof terrace. Wifi works very quickly. The hostel is functional but very unclean. My bedroom had a funny smell the entire time, and was dirty. The kitchen is especially bad - there is a bizarre rule about getting a 'kitchen pass' to stop this but it still remains unclean with lots of dirty plates and no washing up liquid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello we try to offer and guarantee a good service at a reasonable price (35.00 soles for tours that include a return trip by private bus and guide from 6am to 6pm) The bedrooms are cleaned and disinfected Every day. The problem is that when you are in dormitories you have to understand that sometimes there are people who arrive with dirty clothes and that we can not avoid this. This is why we have air fresheners in the rooms. We have a spacious and modern kitchen with 2 stove tops and 2 refrigeradors for your confort. The kitchen pass is our way of regulating and enforcing the rule that everyone who uses the kitchen is to clean all of what they use. The staff of the hostel is responsible for cleaning the kitchen every day, however, it is inevitable that people use the kitchen and do not follow the Golden rule of washing all that they use. But you must be a witness to the request that is made to them at the time of their arrival to wash everything that they use. Thank you for your feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
9th May 2017
9.1

If you are deliberating between Alpes and Akilpo (we were for quite a while) then I would 100% recommend that you stay here (Alpes). Maybe the best shower we've had in 3 months, decent kitchen and common areas. Our private room was very comfortable and great value for money. Breakfast is basic. Fantastic location (5min walk from town) as the very centre of huaraz is very loud and hectic. However, go to Alkilpo to organise your treks as they are way more knowledgeable than the staff here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
10.0

Alpes Huaraz is wonderful. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. We planned on doing the Santa Cruz Trek but an illness has prevented us from doing this. They have helped us arrange many other activities for us to do. We also, last minute, have had to continue to book extra nights and they have had no problem with us staying longer. The staff is so helpful. The rooms are very clean. I speak no Spanish and my fiancé speaks very little. And they have worked with us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
9.4

Nice Hostel, friendly staff, speaks english, walking distance from the Cruz del Sur Bus station, 5 min walk from the main street. Stayed in a private room, room was clean, Communal kitchen is well equipped and clean. Hostel was not full hence, it was pretty calm, Try to get a room on the upper floors. Breakfast available, minimal but cheap. Laundry available, Tour organization available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
10.0

I've been to Alpes Huaraz many times and I love it everytime! Location is nearby the square in a quite neighbourhood which is nice if you need to rest after a long day. The hostel is run by a lovely family who make sure you get everything you need to have a nice stay. Breakfast is home made- you can upgrade it if requested. Staff is very chatty and helpful too. They offer guests a variety of tours options, wifi works perfect and rooms always very clean and neat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oridahan1116458
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
9.7

Nice place and nice staff.. Roza the best help in everything!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
10.0

We chose this place over some of the others due to its location and wanting somewhere a little more quiet. It doesn't like like much from the outside, but once you step inside you're met by a beautiful courtyard that all of the rooms open to. The rooftop terrace has stunning views of the city and mountains. Clean, secure w/lockers (bring your lock), and incredibly attentive staff that will help you plan your day regardless of whether it's through one of the tours they operate or on your own.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.