X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Als Place Hostel Reviews

Kruziceva 10, Split, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
239 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I had a really nice stay in Als place. The hostel is small and cozy, you fell really comfortable! AL and all he staff are great! I really enjoyed my stay! I recommend.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The property was kept clean The almost complete lack of sufficient aircon made the stay very uncomfortable due to the 37 degree heat when we stayed there. There is no need to be so stingy with the Air conditioning to save money. I know I, and other guests, would have been willing to pay a significant amount extra each night just to have a decent nights sleep without sweating through the bed sheets (despite the fact that air con was advertised as being included).

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Location is absolutely perfect. Staff if very knowledgable and eager to provide information. More bathrooms would be nice as there is only one per dorm but overall i would definitely recommend this hostel.


86%

Had a wonderful stay at Al's! Great bloke and helps create a wonderful atmosphere. Basic facilities but who needs more than a bed to stay in and meeting new like minded people when in Split. Excellent location in old town and not far from bus, train station and ferry port. Al helped me book my tour to Krar national park and gave some suggestions for exploring the town and beaches. Whilst it is very hot inside during summer the AC is welcoming during the night when we sleep (11pm-7am).


100%

....cool little place right in the centre. Super friendly staff, kitchen, decent dorms all clean and tidy. Also has a social area with no-one on their phones. Will be back. Oh and wobbly step!!


100%

Absolutely fantastic hostel with a very chilled environment and amazing staff. It's near the city centre and there is a supermarket not too far away. Due to the small size of the hostel it is very easy to make friends and Al is always very helpful and accommodating. Credit also has to go to Ruza, one of the staff members who went out of her way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Will miss the place lots, would definitely recommend.


91%

Al is an awesome person. He and his staff are very helpful and friendly. The place is perfectly located and reasonably priced for Split. Only issue was the heat wave going through Europe and AC was only on starting at 10pm.


83%

Great hostel. Miloš was really friendly, bathrooms were really clean, good location and both the kitchen and bar were great for socialising, I'd definitely stay here again!


97%

Great hostel, Al is an awesome host and has plenty of advice and stories to share. Great location and just a cool hostel in general. If you're in Split and looking for a hostel, be sure to check this place out.


77%

Owner gets crabby if you don't leave the hostel after check-out. Other than strange check-out rules, pretty solid hostel.


69%

Staff were super friendly and helpful. Location was great, couldn't have been more convenient. Only complaint would be the cleanliness...bathroom definitely could have used some work...was very dirty in the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true we had a lapse on keeping one bathroom clean for one day, the problem has been resolved and it won't happen again, Alan

100%

Als place is a gem! Right in the heart of split. Was perfect! The staff were extremely helpful and the owner Al is a very genuine bloke. Always there for helpful advice and very welcoming. Also the people in my room were fantastic couldnt of picked a better crowd. Very value for money. Would stay here again on my next holiday to split! Thanks guys!


71%

The locking system is kind of odd apart from that everything was fine.


94%

Great hostel in excellent location. Staff were very helpful and gave good local advice on things to do and places to eat\drink.


97%

We had booked in the private room but before stay received a message saying that due to unforseen circumstances it's location had been changed. As it turns out we ended up staying in the owner Alan's own apartment which although a bit further out than we expected was very nice and clean. Alan and his staff were also very accomadating and friendly, really felt like they went out their way to help. On then whole had a really enjoyable stay and have no real complaints.


89%

This place is great value for your money! Had such a good time there, didn't even matter that I was traveling alone, met a bunch of cool people while there. Could have easily stayed for longer. Can definitely recommend the place :)

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a great stay. Everything was quite clear, very accommodating and friendly. The quick history lesson of the area was also much appreciated. Thanks again!

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great experience in Split, and this hostel is the reason. Al is really nice (so is the rest of the staff) and I met great people ! In the old city and close to a grocery store.


97%

The hostel is greatly located. We did not see much of the owner but staff were new and very helpful with every questions. There is a kitchen and this is also device free place so here people get talking with other guests which is nice if you are alone. Beds are comfortable and have lockers in room. I liked it and stayed more nights

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a great time at Al's place. It's not a palace but it's a really cool place to stay with a good feel and managed by a guy who really cares about the experience you have not just in the hostel but in the whole of Split.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Split Hostels

Please give us your feedback