Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Als Place Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

Had a really relaxed time at this Hostel and very much enjoyed the vibe of old town which we were dead center in. The staff was really friendly and accommodating. Stephanie gave us really great tips on Split and made us feel welcome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jul 2017
4.9

My friend and I stayed in this hostel for 3 nights and had a very bad experience. The dorm was not clean, everybody left their things on the floor so we had to step on it. But the worst was that they threw a party right in front of our doors and spoke very loud and didn't care about the people that wanted to sleep (noise until 1:00 AM) Also, the security was very bad because no one would lock the entrance and the room doors. The only good point was the very nice location, into the old city.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
4.6

Disorganized and haphazard.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
8.9

I arrived the day after Ultra, so the city was on a bit of a come-down, but I still had a blast! The staff were great; very friendly and the sort you can have a drink with - which is exactly what I did! The location is perfect for exploring Split as it's right in the old city, with supermarkets and bars nearby. There is a bar opposite, which I thought might be a problem but providing you close the windows and doors you can't actually hear any of the noise. Would go back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2017
10.0

This place is absolutely amazing! I've been to a fair few hostel and i have to admit this place is great. Im also a solo traveller so being comfortable and safe is the main key with me and i give it a 10/10. Also the staff there are super duper friendly and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
2.9

Where to begin? Dirty, so expensive, smelled bad, broken A/C, broken wifi, broken bed, clogged shower, unprofessional staff. The door to the room didn't lock. You should know if you stay here there won't be anyone at reception to chat with or ask questions - this is more of an expensive flophouse than a hostel. I only slept here one of four nights because I was too skeeved out. I've stayed in dozens of hostels around the world and this was up there with the worst.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We are sorry you had a negative experience. We refunded you in full, and we once again apologize for everything that was malfunctioning. All of that has been fixed now. You stayed during Ultra festival, so the atmosphere was livelier than normally. We encourage our staff to socialize with guests, and they are always available to answer questions - if they are not at reception, they are in the common area. We had free shots and beers for all guests during Ultra weekend and you were repeatedly invited to join the festivities, which you declined, seemingly intimidated by your dorm mates and the festive atmosphere. Thanks for you feedback and we wish you happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Located slap bang in the centre of old town surrounded by fun bars and nice restaurants. The staff are very friendly and super helpful, helping us organise day trips, and providing complimentary drinks as well as great company!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
6.9

I would have given a higher score for value for money stayed during ultra festival so prices for all accom was around 3 times more. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm and In our building there was only another 6 or so bed dorm, so that is why I didn't rate the atmosphere high. Having said that, the hostel seemed to be attached to another Building which seemed to have a lively bar and maybe more dorms. During ultra I was too stuffed to explore it though. dorm was nice and clean and the staff were so lovely

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emrchn
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Best resepsionist ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.6

Al's is clean, convenient and has a chilled atmosphere. The staff, especially Irma, are extremely polite and will accommodate guests needs when required. Right opposite Charlie's Bar which has a fun backpacker atmosphere. Would stay again if returning to Split.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.