X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Altea Hostel Reviews

3 boulevard Raimbaldi, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
582 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Place is very close to the train station, what is a really good point for you getting at there. Thou, it is far to walk to the beach. The kitchen is very tight and there are signs for you to not prepare food, only to heat something pre-cooked.The place doesn't feel clean, at all. The employees are very polite and willing to help, but there is a lady that seems to be the owner or so, that is always in a bad humor toward the ppl in kitchen. Rooms have air conditioner that can be used all day long.


69%

Overall a good experience. Our room had a small balcony which was enjoyable. The terrace was cute but we found it a little strange that it didn't allow alcohol. It wasn't as social of an experience as what we were expecting. Staff was extremely enthusiastic and a little intense at times, it gave us a good laugh. Squeaky beds. Loved the AC unit.


60%

We stayed at the hostel for one night, which was okay. We came one hour before check in time and we should wait out from the hostel because we did'nt wanted to pay extra for getting our luggage locked in. That was a little bit wierd. Its good to be with someone if you walk outside in the night. The room was okay but no curtains out to the terrace where people smoke


86%

A good hostel, with good wifi, a nice terrace area where you can meet other people, and a very helpful and friendly staff.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The man at the desk is super energetic and helpful. We met some cool people here and there's a nice terrace area. The AC works well and everything is clean. Our only issue was the beds.. Very uncomfortable and SO squeaky. Did not get a very restful sleep. Also a little far from Old Town and the beach.


60%

Location was good, just a 5-10 min walk from the train station and 15 min walk to the beach. There was an AC unit which was really nice considering it was around 100F when we visited. For the price it was good.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall, the hostel is pretty good (convient location and clean). Be aware that they do nickel and dime you. Anything additional is charged and they have very strict check out rules. Of you are smart and know all this It is fine.


80%

Staff are really welcoming and helpful! The common room is on the back terrace and is a great place to meet people, except they lock you out at 9.30! Located about a 15min walk from city centre/beach. Reliable wifi in the rooms and heaps of power plugs. Bunk beds are small and no storage space in the rooms.


91%

Staff really helpful

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Our stay was pleasant ¸ We had a lovely terrace which was opened until till 10 pm : We met some happy people.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Our air conditioner leaked on the floor, we weren't shown the common area so didn't realise there was one until we were about to leave, didn't seem to be any lockers or anything? Had to make up our own beds which is pretty hard in a bunk bed. Some of the other guests in our room were pretty rude but I know thats not the hostels fault. They gave us a really helpful map though. Not a bad place to say but not amazing at all.


100%

The man at the reception was kind and helpful. He took the time to explain some of the places of interest in and around Nice.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Air conditioning was great. Experiences with staff were mixed.


97%

I would recommend this hostel because everyone there was organized. We were able to leave our bags there for a very small fee.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Our stay was pleasant ¸ We had a lovely terrace which was opened until till 10 pm : We met some happy people.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Very small rooms. The six bed room was basiclly 2 bunkbeds with three beds each. The kitchen and terrace was'nt that great and nowhere to put your luggage. But the atmosphere was good. Lots of backpackers to meet and talk to. Air condition on the room is a big plus! Not to far from the trainstation or the beach.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

I was disappointed by the rude welcoming of the younger employee and his indiscretion about something I asked him and that he repeated to the people living in my room (that I didn't know). No lockers in the room. Room wasn't cleaned, plus some sheets and pillow case were still in the room, even though I was the only one in it. Shower was clogged but then when I told the reception, they fixed it asap. Light in the bathroom was on the whole time, impossible to switch it off.


31%

One certain member of staff was very unhelpful and his manners were far from the best either. The hostel is situated in the slums of Nice& it has a funny smell as soon as you walk through the door. We paid 70 euro each for 3 nights and a 20 euro deposit plus additional money for towels and additional money for luggage holding which every other hostel we had previously stayed in did not charge for! The rooms were dirty and it got a rough 30 second clean every morning from the cleaner


69%

After check-in when picking up our luggage from the storage, we were not allowed to use the shower in the bathroom, even though we could use the toilet. The guy said the cleaner was coming, but we saw no cleaner. Then he just said he decides. So we washed ourselves in the sink, which was ridiculous. After that, they almost didn't let us take our food from the fridge because the kitchen was closed. Also weird to have a compulsory charge from sheets, and you need to make your bed yourself.


71%

Altea is a fine hostel, it's got everything you need. The kitchen was really good to cook your own meals, it had a really nice terrace but the only bad thing was it closed at 9:30pm and you weren't allowed alcohol. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the bathroom we had was amazing, very big and modern. The location was good, about a 15min walk to the beach and not far at all from the station. All in all a good stay but I still don't think it was worth the money, a little bit expensive.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback