Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Located at Ronda Universitat 17 (entresuelo - 3), , Barcelona.
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Spain
Barcelona 08007 Ronda Universitat 17 (entresuelo - 3)
84% 474
41.3867584 2.1665167
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
6.6

Great staff and location. The showers and bathrooms could have been cleaned more, but it seemed like they were understaffed. Overall, it was more than I would have liked to pay for the hostel, but the location was worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
7.1

Negatives: - the lockers are only located in the hallway and too small (barely fit a 21 inch luggage and a small backpack) - showers don't have hot/cold water control and comes out cold. Positives: - Great location. Just one block away from Plaza Catalunya (Aerobus stop to the airport).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.3

First time staying in a hostel, didn't realize that even though you mention two people and pay for one bed that they make you pay for two beds. Besides that, staff is awesome, very kind and helpful. Facilities are ok, free computers, wifi only good in common areas near the modem, bathrooms were decent, did see a cleaning lady cleaning when we arrived about 4pm and when we left in the morning to explore around 11am. No a/c, all of Spain apparently, no breakfast, comfy beds, would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th May 2016
6.6

The hostel and the staff are nice. Unfortuantely the pricing is a rip off. According to the hostelworld home page the place was full. As I needed an additiol night I wrote an email, which was answered positively that there was a bed available. The additional night cost me EUR 60.-!!!! compared to the EUR 25.- for the night that I booked on the hostelworld homepage. Apparently the "creative" in the name of the hostel refers to the pricing policy...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
10.0

Loved the hostel! First off it's very close to everything, right in the heart of Barcelona a block away from Plaza Catalunya (airport buses stop right in front of it and run 24h). The staff was great and explained to me everything I asked and even more about Barcelona. The hostel was very nice, great ambience, rooms, bedsheets, lockers and bathrooms were very clean! I also felt safe since they check everyone who comes in the hostel. Definitely will come stay again when I come back to Barcelona.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
8.9

if your looking to rest up and hit the ground running in the morning this is right place. small place so not too many random people everywhere this can be good and bad.the beds were comfortable. the place was clean. cleaning girl comes every afternoon you will find that is best time uses the showers and the restroom if cleanness is paramount. This is privately owned hostel very homey feeling. small kitchen enough to make simple meal. you can also bring food from outside. currency exchange too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
10.0

I want to thank the staff for great costumer service. The location couldn't be better. It's just 2 minutes away from Plaza Catalunya. The hostel is very clean and tidy. I really enjoyed my stay in Barcelona, thanks to Alternative Creative Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
10.0

This was my 3rd stay and I just love it. The location is unbeatable. Staff are so nice and very knowledgeable. And there are always interesting people staying at Alternative! It's clean and safe. Can't really ask for more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
4.6

The entire place felt very crammed and I would not recommend it to those who like more space in the common areas and sleeping areas. The place did not feel too comfortable with much activity going on as people were moving constantly. It felt more like a waiting room than a resting place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.