Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • joelradford19879656
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.6

This hostel was great, very helpful and friendly staff always happy to sit down with you and help you get the most out of your stay in Barcelona. Comfortable, clean, air conditioned and a small kitchen where you can do some basic cooking if need be. I thought it was pretty pricey for a hostel especially on the Saturday night where we went to a nice hotel for cheaper than staying an extra night in the 8 bed dorm but apart from that it was one of the better hostels I've stayed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.7

ACYH was booked last minute as an escape from another hostel in Barcelona and turned out to be everything we hoped for. The location is fantastic (a quick walk to most things and right next to a central metro station), staff was friendly and overwhelmingly helpful and the rooms and services were brilliant. We had a fantastic time here and will return in the future. Definately helped us make the most of our time in Barcelona! 100% would reccomend. Worth a little extra to stay in such a great area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cle100306969560
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
8.3

Staff were really helpful, any questions we had were answered with ease. Nothing was too much trouble and all very friendly and approachable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kylediehl963638
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.1

An awesome hostel that is small which gives it a nice feel. Definitley not a party hostel. Quiet enough to get an early night sleep. The kitchen is limited but you can make it work. Right in the heart of Madrid. Expensive. Everything was great other than the absolutley ridicilious, outdated, and downright wrong, 2% surcharge on your booking fee if you pay by card. I would understand if this were 1995 and cards were not as coommon, but honestly, get with the times. Theres no excuse for this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
10.0

I love this place! People were friendly. Facilities were cleaned everyday. I felt safe here. Great for solo travelers to meet people. Def will be back here when I come back to Barcelona

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
7.7

After traveling in South America, this was my first time at a hostel in Spain so I was definitely expecting getting more for my money (learned my lesson). Functional. The staff was really nice and helpful--highlight of the stay. Lockers are a bit awkwardly located and the bathrooms are all off one long room that's really narrow. Told I couldn't drink the water there because the building was old so buy a big bottle of water at the little store nearby and you're good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We´re sorry to hear you didn't find your stay with us perfect, we try to make everything for our guests as enjoyable as possible! It is not recommended to drink the tap water anywhere in Barcelona, and we do offer bottles of water for sale for an excellent price at reception. We would love to have you stay at our hostel again so we can improve upon your last experience!

  • ferrami6375
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
9.7

Extremely friendly staff. The receptionist gave us a 15-minute tutorial of Barcelona and all the local bars, restaurants and neighborhoods. The owner traded USD to euros for us at a great rate. Bathrooms were nice and eco-friendly, though they were somewhat narrow. Would have preferred fewer people in one room, but otherwise would wholeheartedly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
9.4

We loved the alternative youth hostel. The staff was SO friendly and helpful. They gave us a ton of resources for seeing attractions of Barcelona and such. It was also very organized and pretty clean. The beds were very comfortable too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
9.7

Great location, incredibly knowledgeable and friendly staff. Would love to come back here, and highly recommend it for people looking to be in the heart of the city. There were not many showers given how many people were staying there, and changing for the shower was a bit awkward since there was no intermediate room for changing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.4

This is a really great hostel right near Ciutat Vella. Staff is really nice and helpful. They have little things that make a difference--free tea and coffee, great computers to use, etc. Rooms are a bit small, but the bathrooms are large and new. No large common area and not very social, but comfortable place to hang out unlike a lot of hostels. Overall would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.