Hostelworld.com

Alternative Hostels

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Feb 2017
9.7

Both Xavier and the guy who usually stays overnight and into the early morning (I'm so sorry I forgot your name) were absolutely wonderful! They were incredibly helpful and really nice people. The hostel is gorgeous with a really beautiful layout. It is a little bit further from Centro than other hostels, but it is also right next to the river walk and the Museo del Banco Central. I would definitely recommend it, especially for the awesome staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel. Wife and I were expecting a dorm but got a twin private room. Hostel looked to be a mix of twins and dorms. Large kitchen with plenty of equipment. Lots of areas to hang out in. 10-15 minute walk to bars / town centre down a road which felt very safe. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.0

Very beautiful hostel with a clean bathroom. They also have a computer for public use which is great. I also love how you can still stay in the space after you check out. They have about 8 lockers in front of the front desk. Overall the staff was pretty friendly except one guy (he was friendlier later in the day) who was at the desk around 8 a.m. Saturday Feb. 4th. The location is about a 20 minute walk from the plaza. Really loved staying here. I met a lot of cool people. Not a party hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

This place had hot water, great wifi, a safe location, and a really friendly staff! I would definitely stay here again. Not much of a party vibe but that wasn't what I was looking for here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.9

After dropping off my bags in my room, I was immediately greeted by a group of travelers hanging out in the common space and offered some pasta. People were open to sharing trip ideas or invites to join adventures. Breakfast is not that filling (two pieces of toast and a banana) though there are plenty of options in the city for heartier meals. Creaky wooden floors meant it was challenging to quietly go to bed. There weren't individual lockers (only a few on a first come first serve basis).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.4

I really liked Alternative! The staff were great and it was really clean. The building itself is pretty interesting. It has a nice open feel to it. The showers were strong and hot and the beds were comfy. I'd stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
9.4

i enjoyed staying here, its out of the historical centre but still within walking distance. The room was a bit too noisy with cars but during the night it quietens down. The staff were very helpful and did there best to meet our needs and answer our questions. all in all its a very comfortable hostel to stay in. especially the kitchen amenities, including a blender :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.1

I loved this place. Super clean, loved the balcony, pretty close to the main section of town. The staff were very friendly. A lot of noise echoes but otherwise the best place we've stayed. The showers were fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

I love this hostal, very clean,staff friendly and very helpful. They give a towl soap& shampoo. It's not too far from downtown, 10 mi walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.0

Great location, close to museum and a short walk to colonial area. Also not far from parks and riverside. Nicely laid out house with terraces. Well maintained and clean with helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.