X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Alvaro Residencia Reviews

Conde Romanones, 8 ext, 2�D, 28012, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
788 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel was very centrally located to all the major sites and nightlife, but was not wildly busy or loud which was nice. The residence was very clean and we actually had our rooms turned down daily. Staff was extremely friendly and laid back. There were full amenities and we had no issues sharing the bathrooms with other guests. Very good value!!


74%

Good value for the money and great location. Staff was unavailable a lot of the time, but helpful. Kitchen facilities were nice, rooms lovely, bathrooms could be cleaner but uninterrupted hot water was great. Not much of a common area for meeting people, but a nice, quiet place to stay. Good deal on the private rooms as well.


97%

Really great if you want that homely vibe, close to the centre of town and run by a very lovely and helpful lady. It is basic but didn't give off a hotel hostel.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It's in a woman's apartment so just be prepared for that.


80%

Great location with a metro 2 mins walking and some main attractions pretty close to the hostel. Bathrooms were cleaned constantly and they were always in great conditions. The staff was friendly!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel felt more like a hotel! It was beautiful, so clean (and the beds were made in the day) the staff are lovely and really helpful. The kitchen/bathroom facilities are great, and you can walk to most of the main attractions (palace, museums, el retiro etc). She even provided towels for us! Best hostel I've stayed in.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay! Although it only has rooms for 2 people, one of the most friendly staff I've ever worked with. Highly, highly recommended. Great location, great staff, nothing negative to report.


100%

The Alvaro Resedencia was the best place I could have picked for my stay in Madrid. It is steps away from the Tirso de Molina metro stop, and is in the center of shopping and restaurant hot spots. The family that runs the location is extremely kind and accommodating.The residency itself is very homy. The restrooms are outside of the room itself, however there are three available restrooms with full showers, so accessibility is not an issue. I would absolutely stay there again!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice owner, very close to the Cathedral and the Palace. The room (we had a twin room) was nicely decorated, and very clean and bright. The building had a courtyard and a marble lobby, which was very luxurious-feeling for the price.


86%

Fantastic location and lovely hostel :) Would definitely stay here again! Had problems with the wifi - it didn't stretch to the rooms


86%

Very nice location and owner. It is a small hostel, which is nice, but there was no public space to meet up with people other than the dinnertable in the kitchen.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Our stay at Alvaro Residencia was very nice. Though the owner didn't speak Spanish, she was very kind and patient with our language barriers. The walls were a bit thin but everything else was great. There was a nice kitchen, clean bathrooms, and wifi. It felt extremely homy but the owner also made our beds everyday which was unexpected. She also didn't care if we were out late. We loved our stay and would certainly go back again.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It is a quiet, friendly place run by a lovely family. If you want to avoid a noisy hostel, go to Residencia Álvaro.


91%

Made to feel very welcome, staff very helpful and completely relaxed. Could come and go with ease, and felt very homely. Would go back, and would be very happy to stay there on my own as a single female.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This was an excellent hostel - great kitchen and AMAZING location. The only downside was how thin the walls were - felt like your next door neighbours were in the room with you.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The very nice hostel is located in the cheaper south of Madrid (for good tapas go to "Latina") but still very close to "puerta de sol" (5 minutes walk). Perfect stay for economic tourists and lovely people in the hostel. Full recommendation!

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Alvaro Residencia was amazing. Great location. We had a private room. Although the bathroom didn't have a shower head the showers in the hall were clean. It was no problem. The kitchen is awesome! And The staff was very kind :-) Highly recommend!


91%

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of February. Really great location and price for the location. Believe the price is currently discounted because there is major construction in the building but it did not affect our stay at all. The hostess at the hostel is very nice and gave us tips about what to see. Very clean and quite. Good price for a stay in such central Madrid.




View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback