X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Alvaro Residencia Reviews

Conde Romanones, 8 ext, 2�D, 28012, Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
756 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This was an excellent hostel - great kitchen and AMAZING location. The only downside was how thin the walls were - felt like your next door neighbours were in the room with you.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The very nice hostel is located in the cheaper south of Madrid (for good tapas go to "Latina") but still very close to "puerta de sol" (5 minutes walk). Perfect stay for economic tourists and lovely people in the hostel. Full recommendation!

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Alvaro Residencia was amazing. Great location. We had a private room. Although the bathroom didn't have a shower head the showers in the hall were clean. It was no problem. The kitchen is awesome! And The staff was very kind :-) Highly recommend!


91%

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of February. Really great location and price for the location. Believe the price is currently discounted because there is major construction in the building but it did not affect our stay at all. The hostess at the hostel is very nice and gave us tips about what to see. Very clean and quite. Good price for a stay in such central Madrid.


89%

Staying here was a great experience! The staff was very nice and very helpful, everything was clean and the location was excellent, only a short walk from Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, and many attractions. I ws extremely pleased with this experience. The only downside was the construction that was happening in the building during my stay, but it wasn't enough to outweigh the many positives.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Enjoyed my stay! A great, comfortable base from which to explore Madrid! I couldn't believe the value for money - this was because the building is currently undergoing renovation and the builders can start early in the morning. This did not affect me, however and I suspect that other people won't be bothered by it either!

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The building was under renovation so it wasn't a pleasant experience for us. If They put information on the website that the building was under refurbishment we won't be surprised and disappointed.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The place was incredible. The most incredible part was the staff. Rooms were also really good. I will definitely be coming back.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is perfectly located within a 5 minute walk to Plaza Mayor and many good restaurants. I stayed a night, and it was clean, quiet and comfortable. The WIFI worked great, and there is a full kitchen if you want to make a meal. It was a little hard to find, but it is right off the metro station which was really helpful coming to and from the bus station. Would definitely recommend!

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A fantastic home style hostel. We felt like we were guests in the owners' home. Great location (walked everywhere), and close to metro.


71%

Big problem of Reservation : On our email of reservation, we had three nights without monday 30th december. So we paid one day in a other hostel because Alvaro Residencia was complete. When we arrived, saturday night, the woman of Alvaro Residencia informed us that Hostelworld reserved 4 nights. Big anxiety we couldn't pay two nights in two different hostels but Hostelword ask her expenses for this fourth night. The woman has been very comprehensive : we didn't pay this fourth night.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice. You can cook and is in the city center


97%

loved it.... definetly would stay there again.

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

This was an ok place to stay for 1 night. The staff was very nice and helpful but there was a strange, strong smell that filled the facility most of the time.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It's very dark for the way to walk up to the resident. But the staff is very friendly. I like her.


77%

It was perfect for us: we wanted a cozy and quiet cheap hostel with a private room. Nice kitchen, nice hostess and near Tirso de Molina, one of our favorite places in Madrid (very close to Sol and the city center). If you are looking for a fun and full of activities hostel, this might not suit you, but if you just want a fair price and a comfortable place, choose Residencia Alvaro.


94%

Location is just perfect! Our twin room was spacious and clean. No problems to leave luggage after checkout possibility to still use showers. Owner (lady) was very nice and helpful. We didn't see lockers, but we didn't also ask for them. Beware that house is under construction and workers are quite loud. It didn't disturb us, but might be a problem for people who have problems with sleep


74%

Stayed at this hostel for 2 nights. The hostel was clean but in a very rundown building. There was constantly noise, dust and workmen around. The lady who owned it was fine but did not want to talk english at all. There was a lost of disorganization on our reservation and what room we were supposed to be in. It was fine and served its purpose but it was not one of my favorite hostels. Each resident got their own shelf in a pantry and in a refrigerator- that was a nice touch.




View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback