X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alvaro Residencia Reviews

Conde Romanones, 8 ext, 2�D, 28012, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
873 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Fantastic location, very close to lots of sites!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice, clean place to sleep in a great location. The rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortable. We had no problems with noise at all. We also speak zero Spanish but had no problems communicating at a basic level with the hostel owners. Would recommend for anyone looking for a good night sleep, but not for someone looking for a party.


89%

Great place to stay in Madrid! Big room was a plus and we loved that there we so many bathrooms with showers.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This Hostel is in a perfect location. Within walking distance to all the attractions. It is clean and the rooms are spacious. The women who owns the place is so sweet and extremely helpful. We enjoyed our stay here very much and more than likely will return. Nos encanto todo de su hostel. Gracias por todo su ayuda y informacion. Eres muy amable.


69%

Stayed there for 3 nights. The hostel is located in the centre of Madrid (5 Min to Puerta de Sol and Plaza Major). It is an old house. The corridors are very narrow and well the rooms look better on the pictures than they actually are which doesn't mean that they are bad. For my stay I booked a shared bathroom. Bathrooms/toilets are very modern and clean. The kitchen is fully equipped. The staff was very friendly and helped where they could. Typical Spanish hostel. Average for the price.


86%

The lady that runs the residencia is so nice. She only speaks Spanish but is really helpful. The hostel itself however is pretty pricey and the wifi can be very unreliable at times.


89%

The owner is a lovely Spanish lady who does her utmost to make you feel at home, despite not speaking much English she was super helpful and hospitable!

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It was great. The host were nice. A little small bathrooms but you manage. I recommend it.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

More like a B&B than a hostel: owned and run by a family. The rooms are spacious, clean and come with extra blankets, a large closet and a TV. No security box or locker but there is someone on location 24/7. (I did not have my laptop with me though and just carried my passport on my body.) Full use kitchen with fridge/shelves marked with your room number so items don't get confused. They have 1 laundry machine on site and 3 full bathrooms. Also very close to a grocery store. Great wifi!


91%

We booked very last minute and were still welcomed in to stay. Something needed fixing in one of the hostel rooms so we were just upgraded to an apartment for no extra charge which was amazing!!


97%

Thank you very much, we couldn't have a better stay! It felt like home:)

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We spent two wonderful nights in the Alvaro Residencia. The location - 5 minutes away from the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol, and 10 minutes from all the major art museums and the Palacio Real - is absolutely perfect. The kitchen is very well-stocked and the entire hostel is cozy, clean and comfortable. The owner was incredibly helpful with everything we needed, showing us how to use the metro system to get everywhere we wanted. I could not recommend the Alvaro Residencia more highly.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel for very low price! Very cozy and clean! Felt like at home. The owner doesnt speak English, but very caring and lovely woman. Location is perfect, 1 minute walk to the tube station and 10 minutes walk to the main square. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location...about 5-10 minute walk from Plaza Mayor and right by the metro. Owner is very nice but doesn't speak a lot of English. Rooms are clean. Just don't stay in room 7 if you plan on going to sleep before 11pm because it's right next to the kitchen and the wall is very thin.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The host was very friendly and explained to us everything we needed to know even if she wasnt speaking english. The furniture was a little outdated and the rooms very dark. Unfortunately the house is extremely loud at every time - late at night and early in the morning. There were even people ringing the bell at 4 in the morning. The noise kept us awake all our stay - even with earplugs. So we were very tired all the time and could not enjoy our stay. I would not recommend this place.


91%

We had a lovely time here. The location could not have been better. Only blocks from Sol yet still in a lovely quiet neighborhood close to everything.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

noisy in the early morning

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Staying in the Alvaro Residencia was a pleasant experience. The location was ideal, close to the Plaza Mayor and most of the major sights you'd like to see as a first time visitor (we did virtually everything on foot). The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and adequately spacious. Also the shared bathroom was very decent. The Hostel also offers a nice kitchen. The owner was very friendly. Her English was perhaps inadequate but this was more than compensated by her friendly atittude.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much. Nice to meet you.

80%

Clean rooms. When we stayed there, it was very noisy. The walls are very thin so we heard The neighbours fighting and talking. The host doesn't sprak english but she explains everything very well in her own way. The location is perfect! We did everything on foot! There's also a supermarket behind the corner which came in handy to buy Some water.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I was so impressed! Great location, super clean. The woman who runs the hostel is incredibly caring and hospitable. I would always come back to this hostel.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback