X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amakaya Backpacker Hostel Reviews

15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
60 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Far to walk to the beach specially because of the hill that makes the way back quite hard. Friendly staff and great offer of activities although the options were all pretty expensive.


94%

High class hostel, only one of their staff is a lil bit over friendly. Asking for a lollipop from your client doesn't seem appropriate to me


80%

Great place to stay but set back from town more than we expected. Still not to far to walk down to town or Central Beach but steep hills coming back. OK if you are fit or have no disability. Very clean facility with helpful signage and staff. Only bad factor that twin room was located next to two toilets and kitchen and thus noise issues from other guests could be problematic.. Taxi booked through hostel seemed a tad expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Stephen Thanks for the review. We are only a 300m walk from Main Street shops etc. Not sure if you thought we were right in town? I will monitor the noise levels from the kitchen - especially in the morning when it can be quite busy because of breakfast. Thanks for highlighting this. The prices to activities can be quite high if less than 4 people. Our staff usually books taxis with the better pricing. I will monitor this as well. Regards Dave Swart

74%

Good clean place to stay but a steep walk downhill to town and central beach have to be borne in mind. Good wifi and helpful staff and owner. Only critcism is room we were given while not en-suite was close to two bathrooms and close to kitchen making noise from other guests an issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Stephen Thanks for the review. The walk to town and back is not too steep but I have to agree that the hill from Central Beach is very steep! I will monitor the noise levels from the kitchen - especially in the morning when it can be quite busy because of breakfast. Thanks for highlighting this. Regards Dave Swart

100%

Definitely enjoyed my stay at Amakaya. Very nice staff, facilities and location, and also a very secure environment. We were given a recommendation for an excellent restaurant also (L

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Samuel Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The food is always good at LM in Plett! Good to hear that they did not let us down. Thanks for taking the time to 'pen' this review. Dave Swart

83%

The staff was very nice. They helped us with the bookings for our activities and we even got a 10% discount on some of them including the dinner at one of the restaurants nearby. The bar has a beautiful terrace, but we were a bit disappointed to be the only ones using it. Rooms and bathrooms were ok. A very short walk from the main road where all the bars and restaurants can be found.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nicola Thanks you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were the only guests using the terrace. We in fact had 34 guests staying on your first night and 18 the second night. This sometimes does happen because we are so close to the bars and restaurants and guests often go out for dinner and to visit the clubs. I hope that you nevertheless had a good time. What can we improve regarding facilities? Regards Dave Swart

86%

The staff was really friendly and very helpful. The location was really nice, quite close to the center and to the beach. The beds were good and the rooms were clean.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jantina Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Dave Swart

37%

When in town in Plettenburg Bay, we were followed by two men and had to be rescued by some locals and taken back in their cars. The locals then told us we shouldn't have been in that area, and shouldn't have valuables on us, the hostel have a duty to tell us these sort of things, and they definitely did not! The receptionist was very friendly, but her knowledge on activities was poor, and the hostel offered no reasonably priced day time actives. The bar was dead all evening long also!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Victoria.The lady on duty when you checked is very knowledgeable of activities in the area so it is surprising that she could not suggest any to you. We do not have control over the pricing. It is a pity you blame us for wandering into whatever area it was. You did not tell us of your experience so we could warn other guests. There are no nearby areas that would be regarded as unsafe. Please advise where this happened. We had 21 guests in that night and cannot help it if the bar was empty.



View all Plettenberg Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback