X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amakaya Backpacker Hostel Reviews

15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
63 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Stayed at the private twin room, very confortable. Commom area is ok. Breakfast was good. Staff was very helpful and friendly! Convienently near market e and some restaurants.


80%

Far to walk to the beach specially because of the hill that makes the way back quite hard. Friendly staff and great offer of activities although the options were all pretty expensive.


94%

High class hostel, only one of their staff is a lil bit over friendly. Asking for a lollipop from your client doesn't seem appropriate to me

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Mohamad Thanks for your review. I have discussed this with my staff. Regards Dave

80%

Great place to stay but set back from town more than we expected. Still not to far to walk down to town or Central Beach but steep hills coming back. OK if you are fit or have no disability. Very clean facility with helpful signage and staff. Only bad factor that twin room was located next to two toilets and kitchen and thus noise issues from other guests could be problematic.. Taxi booked through hostel seemed a tad expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Stephen Thanks for the review. We are only a 300m walk from Main Street shops etc. Not sure if you thought we were right in town? I will monitor the noise levels from the kitchen - especially in the morning when it can be quite busy because of breakfast. Thanks for highlighting this. The prices to activities can be quite high if less than 4 people. Our staff usually books taxis with the better pricing. I will monitor this as well. Regards Dave Swart

74%

Good clean place to stay but a steep walk downhill to town and central beach have to be borne in mind. Good wifi and helpful staff and owner. Only critcism is room we were given while not en-suite was close to two bathrooms and close to kitchen making noise from other guests an issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Stephen Thanks for the review. The walk to town and back is not too steep but I have to agree that the hill from Central Beach is very steep! I will monitor the noise levels from the kitchen - especially in the morning when it can be quite busy because of breakfast. Thanks for highlighting this. Regards Dave Swart

100%

Definitely enjoyed my stay at Amakaya. Very nice staff, facilities and location, and also a very secure environment. We were given a recommendation for an excellent restaurant also (L

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Samuel Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The food is always good at LM in Plett! Good to hear that they did not let us down. Thanks for taking the time to 'pen' this review. Dave Swart

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

The staff was very nice. They helped us with the bookings for our activities and we even got a 10% discount on some of them including the dinner at one of the restaurants nearby. The bar has a beautiful terrace, but we were a bit disappointed to be the only ones using it. Rooms and bathrooms were ok. A very short walk from the main road where all the bars and restaurants can be found.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nicola Thanks you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were the only guests using the terrace. We in fact had 34 guests staying on your first night and 18 the second night. This sometimes does happen because we are so close to the bars and restaurants and guests often go out for dinner and to visit the clubs. I hope that you nevertheless had a good time. What can we improve regarding facilities? Regards Dave Swart

86%

The staff was really friendly and very helpful. The location was really nice, quite close to the center and to the beach. The beds were good and the rooms were clean.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jantina Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Dave Swart

37%

When in town in Plettenburg Bay, we were followed by two men and had to be rescued by some locals and taken back in their cars. The locals then told us we shouldn't have been in that area, and shouldn't have valuables on us, the hostel have a duty to tell us these sort of things, and they definitely did not! The receptionist was very friendly, but her knowledge on activities was poor, and the hostel offered no reasonably priced day time actives. The bar was dead all evening long also!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Victoria.The lady on duty when you checked is very knowledgeable of activities in the area so it is surprising that she could not suggest any to you. We do not have control over the pricing. It is a pity you blame us for wandering into whatever area it was. You did not tell us of your experience so we could warn other guests. There are no nearby areas that would be regarded as unsafe. Please advise where this happened. We had 21 guests in that night and cannot help it if the bar was empty.

89%

Friendly, clean and quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Please let us know of any improvements you feel we should make. Regards Dave Swart

77%

helpful staff, cool bar on the top, nice people

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Lena Thanks for the feedback on your stay with us. In order for us to improve our offering to guests please elaborate on how we can improve on the value for money aspect of our business as well as our facilities as you rated these two with a 3 out of 5 which is very low for our industry. Any positive input is welcome. Thanks Dave Swart

100%

awesome bunch of people, good vibe and not a bad bar up top with some sweet views, very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Karl Thanks for the review and also the bungy footage on our facebook page. Awesome! Dave

86%

The most helpful staff out of all of the hostels we stayed at along the Garden Route! Really helped by giving personal stories about things to do in a variety of the stops. Suggested great restaurants in Plett and really helped our trip start off on the right foot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jordan Thanks for the review and glad that we could be of help during your trip. Dave

80%

Nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Tim Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to offer any suggestions on how we can improve our guests' experience while staying with us. Regards Dave Swart

94%

Good location. I booked the 4 bed dorm (very small and at the back of the building, seems to be offered as family room now) but changed to the 12 bed dorm as recommended by the receptionist. Helpful staff (a guy from the hostel went to the taxi and minibus stand with me to get cheap transport to the Bloukrans bridge). Nice bar and terrace, a bonfire outside - what else do you need? (Other travellers, but I met them there.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Tobias Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay. I am glad to hear that the staff were helpful. Please let us know how we can improve on the security and facilities that you have rate as a 4 in your review. The room at the back is now the staff room for our Manager and is no longer offered as guest accommodation. Hope that you enjoyed your stay in Plettenberg Bay and the rest of South Africa. Regards Dave Swart

51%

It didn´t seem there is somebody responsible for the place. The kitchen looked like hell (when was that water-filter-system cleaned for the last time? Then better remove it) and there was very few equipment we could use for cooking. Cockroach in our bedroom, which was tiny (but for being so tiny it was well equipped).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Alexander Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We did find that a temporary staff member was not carrying out duties correctly and in hindsight proper checks should have been done daily on her work. I am pleased to say that what you mention has already been addressed - the water filter was actually addressed on 5 January - again a duty not being completed. You will have noticed signs in the kitchen advising guests that it is their responsibility to clean their dishes/pots after they use them. Our night staff was not following up on this, hence the mess that the cleaner could only get to after ensuring the rooms were ready for incoming guests. This has also been rectified, including any empty beer bottles that may be left around after the bar closes. We have a contract with a company, Rentokil, who regularly inspect the premises for bugs - cockroaches, ants etc and they have always found the premises to be pest free when they do their inspections. I did draw their attention to your experience and have taken extra precautions with a barrier spray on all window and door frames to prevent a future occurrance. I trust that you nevertheless enjoyed your visit to Plettenberg Bay and South Africa. Regards Dave Swart

74%

The place is nothing too special, but the terrace view and its central location makes it a place I would recommend to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Chiara Thank you for your review which has highlighted a staff issue that I have noticed from another review that we received when the same staff member was on duty. The lady who was on duty the day you stayed with us was a casual who was helping us over the busy season and it appears that her standards and relationship with guests were not what they should have been. A lesson learnt from my side and something which will be monitored more closely in the future. I hope however that you had a pleasant time visiting Plettenberg Bay and our country. Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future when we can make your stay with us a better experiencemore. Regards Dave Swart

26%

We arrived on time but our room was not finished yet, while we were there in the afternoon. The kitchen was very dirty, as well as the living room and the rooms were also in bad repair. The girl who was working at the reception did not know anything about Plettenberg and she was not very helpfull when we asked her what the best place was to go to the beach or for dinner. She did not seem to care about the guests. This was definitely the worst backpackers we've ever seen!

  • 16th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Lotte I am appalled to hear about you experience with us and wish that you had asked to speak to me (owner) at the time so that I could address this immediately. This is certainly not our usual standard which can be seen if you read any of the other guest reviews on Hostelworld or Tripadvisor and also can be seen from reviews in our guest book. The lady concerned was a casual working for us for December and left our employ on 28 December. This incident certainly seems out of character with the usual standard of work we experienced from her. I have forwarded your comments to her, but am sure that it will be of no concern to her as she has left us. Should you still be in SA and passing through Plett or should ever visit Plett again please contact me and I will offer you free accommodation during your stay. I have checked your booking and notice that you paid by credit card. I will look for the slip and refund your money to you as I do not believe that you should have to pay for this poor service and cleanliness that you experienced. Once again, please accept my apologies. Regards Dave Swart

89%

Charles and the rest of the staff was very helpful and the location is perfect and is close to the main shopping center in the city.


69%

Not much atmosphere. Way too over priced for what it was. Staff were good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Alcinda Thanks for your review. I am sorry to see that you were dissapointed with you stay with us. Often the atmoshere in a backpacker depends on all the people in at the time. With regards to the pricing, your stay with us co-incided with the annual 'Matric Rage' festival for school leavers. At this time we are usually fully booked with students who have just finished school - but usually mainly from 24 Nov - 8 December. At this time our rates are a lot higher than usual because of all the extra arrangements that are needed for this time. Usually the dorm you were in is R150.00 per night and reverts to this price from 9 Dec 2012. For some reason I cannot find your reservation nor payment on our booking system nor receipt book, but do find your details in our Guest Register so do know that you checked in. Can you remember who checked you in and out and who you paid? I need to follow up on this. If you are still in SA and have a contact number please let me have it so I can talk to you or you can contact me on my mobile 083 419 7533. Thanks Dave Swart Can you remember who checked you in

« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Plettenberg Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback