Hostelworld.com

Amber Tree Lodge Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
Amber Tree Lodge Backpackers Located at 10 Kloofnek Road, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town.
Amber Tree Lodge Backpackers
South Africa
Cape Town Western Cape 8001 10 Kloofnek Road, Tamboerskloof
95% 418
-33.9300169 18.4087085
Amber Tree Lodge Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
9.1

This was the first hostel I've ever stayed in (normally hotels) and I had absolutely no complaints. The staff were amazing and on hand to answer any questions about the hostel/ where to go in Cape Town. As a single female (29 year old) traveller I felt very safe. You can get a cheap uber to the V&A Waterfront. It was clean. The bedding was clean. The kitchen was clean. Wifi great. Lounge area was great to chill out in. For the cost I couldn't ask for anymore and would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
9.7

A friend and I stayed at Amber Tree for 4 nights, and we loved it! We chose not to have an ensuite bathroom, but sharing was fine because there are lots of toilet and shower stalls. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Part of what drew us to this hostel in the first place was the picture of the Table Mountain view from the patio, and it did not disappoint! Drinking coffee each morning with that view was beyond perfect! :) Would recommend 100%.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Friendly, clean, nice people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
26th Apr 2016
8.0

Nothing really wrong with this place! Great place to stay, helpful staff, great kitchen, comfy beds, lockers available, best wifi I've used, free breakfast, free tea and coffee etc! Really homely feel to it so it's a comfortable place to stay and it's close to supermarkets, shops and bars etc. Guy on reception called a taxi for us to the airport which was helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Apr 2016
10.0

I loved Amber Tree Lodge. It had a real homely feel. It was very clean, tidy and cosy. The owner and all the staff were really friendly, helpful and professional. The location was also fantastic, just a 15 minute walk to the centre of town. Close enough to be considered central and far enough not to be disturbed by traffic or late night party-goers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • loryado8515
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2016
9.4

Probably the best hostel I have ever lodged in, very cozy atmosphere, a nice vibe and very friendly and helpful staff. The location is right next to Kloof and Long Street with many bars and good restaurants around. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a nice, quiet and central place to stay for some days in Cape Town. Would love to go back in case I return to the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
7.7

A couple of cramped dorms in a small B&B -type of deal, which can be either a good thing or a bad thing considering what appeals to you. Personally I started to feel a little claustrophobic. Breakfast is just cereal and toast so not worth bothering for. Location is pretty nice though, as Long street's and bars and restaurants are close. It's also not as busy so it's quiet and safe. There are a few a bit nicer hostels in the vicinity though...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2016
10.0

Don't be deceived by the score of 10.. its genuine. Everything is as it is and amber tree is one of the best, if not, the best hostels i have stayed in. Everything functions, its great to relax and chill and just 15 minutes walk from town which for me meant it was in one of the quieter parts.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • asubramony8844
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Mar 2016
10.0

Awesome place to stay, great location, facilities and staff. My number 1 choice in Cape Town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
8.9

Such a perfect location in Cape Town, with bars/shops within walking distance. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the view is breathtaking. I would recommend to Amber Tree Lodge to anyone of any age, solo travellers or group travellers! It's a great backpackers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.