Hostelworld.com

America del Sur Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.1

The hostel looks amazing, really nice common area! The staff is super helpful too, upon arrival they helped me arrange my visit to Perito Moreno, I didn't have to worry about a thing during my stay in El Calafate.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Easily the nicest and best hostel I've ever stayed at! Good views, good vibes, good peeps. Kinda pricey but worth the money if you've been slumming it lately. 48 hour cancellation policy is kinda bull but other than that, only praise!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
9.1

I spent there 3 nights and can't complain about anything. Good hostel, very friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
8.0

There's not a huge amount to do in El Calafate but this hostel is a great base for whatever you get up to. Not as lively as the sister hostel in BA but super clean and comfy overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
9.1

nice place to stay and meet people. the bbq was wonderful - i recommend it. the staff were super friendly and helpful. it was a bit out of town, but there were restaurants right on the street, so you did not have to walk back into town to find food - grocery store is about a 10 minute walk down into town however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel is beautiful. Very new, amazing kitchen and lobby. The internet sometimes is very slow, depending on how many people are using it.. room is small and the bathroom is open to the room (shower, washstand and toilet are separate), which doesn't keep your privacy. BUT overall the hostel is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing stay. Period.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

BEST place in El Calafate..stayed twice!!veeery helpful staff also booked busses,tours :) :) amazing common area and views of the lake..perfect to relax there in the evenings..great value food too..no need ho head into town:):)thaaanks again for everything!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at America del Sur. The location is awesome, not because it is super close to town (only a few minutes walk) but because you have an awesome view of the lake from the common area. It also has a friendly vibe with the common area always filled with travellers of all ages - not at all a party hostel but a fun travellers hostel. To me the hostel and entire town had a really nice European feel (like Scandinavia). Patagonia is expensive though (everywhere) so be prepared.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Jan 2017
10.0

Probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in during my 2 months in Argentina. PROs: Modern and clean dorms with comfy beds and hot water. Located in easy walking distance of the main street. Communal area is great with stunning views over the lake and makes it easy to meet others as a solo traveller. The staff are super helpful and lovely, they helped me book my BIG Ice glacier tour and a bus to Puerto Natales in advance of arrival and all ran smoothly. CON: more pans in the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.