Hostelworld.com

America del Sur Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
America del Sur Hostel Located at Calle Puerto Deseado 153, , El Calafate.
America del Sur Hostel
Argentina
El Calafate Santa Cruz 9405 Calle Puerto Deseado 153
89% 1932
-50.3336552 -72.2556370
America del Sur Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
12th Jun 2016
5.7

My experience here was not as expected considering it's been recommended in the lonely planet and is pretty pricey for a hostel. Negatives: staff, atmosphere (lack of), security. Positives: clean, great view, free breakfast. One of the staff members received an email from me explaining my dissatisfaction with the level of service and responsibility taken by them for my items being lost/stolen (private email- was ignored till my last day), said staff member verbally accosted me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI Priya! We appreciate getting feedback from our guests =). As everyone staying at a Hostel (anywhere in the world) for sure knows and understands, leaving your food in the guest's fridge has it risks. We are not responsible for other travelers that do not understand "backpacker codes" and feel like eating someone else's food (even if it was properly labeled) and we are sure that all travelers that choose to put their food inside a public access fridge will understand that. When you came to the reception saying that your food went missing (and directly accussing our cleaning staff =( ) we explained that this things can happen and that we were very sorry. We said we were sorry for what had happened to you, more than one time, my friend. We, by far, never accosted you. Safe travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.4

The staff was extremely friendly. The hostel has an amazing atmosphere. It has an open area with couches and tables for eating with a fire place. They play music as well. Very large kitchen. I really enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
9.1

Beautiful hostel very much like a hotel! The choice of music was superb!. The hostel had a very spacious common room. Only problem was they charged me an extra night for the night I didn't stay (my flight got delayed due bad weather)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
10.0

BEST HOSTEL EVER I wish I could live here it was incredible

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th May 2016
10.0

Amazing! AMAZING! Had the best few days here and honestly best hostel in whole of south America. Helpful staff who helped when my flight was cancelled. Great breakfast and nightly BBQ. Rooms are cosy and warm. Can book all day tours and buses from reception. Would absolutely stay again and recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
10.0

Our favorite hostel in Argentina so far. Great atmosphere, nice small dorms, super friendly staff and amazing breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th May 2016
6.9

Nice place but beds were uncomfortable/very hard. Impeccably clean and good breakfast. Most staff were excellent and helpful apart from one slightly rude guy who needs a few lessons in customer service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th May 2016
9.1

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the American Del Sur, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The dorm room was ok, we didn't have a loud snorer so that's a bonus. The communal areas are some of the best we have come across so far in our travels. The views over the lake were stunning, as we enjoyed an amazing BBQ put on every night by the hostel, and chatted away to fellow travellers. We would recommend to all, and hope to come across some more hostels like this in South America.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Melissa! thanks a lot for taking the time to review our Hostel =) We love feedback!!! We hope that if you return to El Calafate, you come to our house again. And also, if you can think of any suggestions to make it a better place for travellers, you are more than welcome to email us with ideas! Safe travels to you guys!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
8.3

The hostel was OK. Very good facilities and good environment. The view of the town is amazing, although it's a bit far from the center. The worst was that they didn't have the wifi working. But It's a minor detail. Oh, and they have a good breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Jose! Thanks for your review! we have already sorted out the problem with the wifi. We spent a whole day doing some upgrades to our network, and now our wifi is working better than ever! Hope that when you come to El Calafate in the future, you can try it for yourself ;) Cheers!

3rd May 2016
9.7

Absolutely loved this place! A little walk from town but totally worth it for the views and general chilled out atmosphere of the hostel. High ceilings, warm lighting, very clean, and a big kitchen. Staff was very helpful in explaining what to do in the area. Wifi is pretty spotty but that seemed to be the norm in the area so no complaints there. Atmosphere is what you make it but the hostel does everything they can. Warm fire, live music one night, and great communal spaces to hang out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.