X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

America del Sur Hostel Reviews

Calle Puerto Deseado 153, El Calafate, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1793 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nice hostel for a stay while in El Calafate. They offer good tours and information about the national park and getting to other areas in Patagonia. Rooms are clean and comfortable and are cleaned every day. Good selection for breakfast - cereals, breads and eggs (to cook as you please). Could have more fruit available. Only issue is the slow response to emails which nearly left us stranded in El Chalten (3 days for return email)


89%

Great Modern Hostel! Very Friendly staff , not too noisey when you sleep very clean bathrooms. Highly recommended!


89%

Everything was clean and worked well. The staff was very friendy and helpful. The place felt almost like a hotel, which has the downside that it's harder to meet people there. There wasn't really a good common area to socialize in, just the big lobby and restaurant.


89%

Great hostel with the amazing stuff, that is really helpful and talkative. It's located a bit on the side of the city, but 10 min walking from main street so not bas at all, and with amazing view from common area. Great BBQ services every night. You can book all the trips you want directly from the hostel.


83%

Nice clean beds and rooms, good to have an ensuite bathroom in each 4 bed dorm. Able to have showers even when checked out and you can pay for all your tours/buses/dinner etc on card here. Staff were fairly helpful, although a little bit of a smart ass... Beautiful dining area and great views. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in the entire world!! From the moment I stepped in to the moment I left, everything in the hostel was fantastic. The people, the food, the atmosphere made it feel like home. Amazing views and very comfortable. On a scale from 1 to 10 I would say this hostel rates as 10!!! The prices were reasonable, and the crew was very helpful in reserving my field trips to El Chalten and Perito Moreno Glacier.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Chicos!!!!!!!!!! Thanks a lot for your review =D it makes us really happy to hear that we are doing a nice job =) Whenever you want to take a break from the city life, remember that we are down here and more than happy to have you back! abrazo de gol!!!!!!!

57%

The hostel is super expensive for what it is. The dorms were good, with strong hot showers and squishy mattresses. However the bathroom layout was always a bit awkward with the sounds of the toilet! The 'chill out area' is a building site, as is the outside. it's impossible to work with the music and hammers. The staff, particularly the guy with dreads and the tall brunette were very rude and unhelpful. Also speaking to other travellers we realised we were all given different info. Wifi is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for giving us some feedback after your stay. As you can see, we are almost finished with the improvement works in the Hostel (we did a whole new wing with newer rooms and also a bigger common area with the deck and amazing views, and the new kitchen for guests is in process and soon to be finished). We are sorry if this made your stay uncomfortable and we wish to have you back here in the future so that you can test us again! I have sent you an email regarding the problem with the staff, it would be really helpful to get more details on that situation. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers

86%

Very nice atmosphere, but the rooms for 4 and the bathrooms are too small.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for your review! We are all happy to hear that you had a nice stay here. We all send you a big hug and thank you for choosing us!

100%

We really enjoyed our stay here! The bbq they do every night was amazing!! We ended up having it twice. The chef is so nice and just keeps the steak coming. The common area is separate from the rooms so you do not hear the noise in your room. The rooms are spacious with huge lockers for storage & each dorms has a private bath in each one so showers and toilet(& a blow dryer!!) aren't a problem. Breakfast is great and they are always cleaning the place! Only negative thing was the kitchen to cook

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi =) Thanks a looooot for your review! We are sooo glad to hear that you had a nice time at the Hostel. Hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels amigas!

71%

Hostel has really nice area for hanging, but since its a little bit far from downtown price is to high. Room are extremely tiny, I was in a 4 bed room, and i cannot imagine how is it in bigger room. All of their staff was cool and I enjoyed their company, this is their huuuge plus. Great thing is that you can book everything from there, daytrips, bus ticket.... This is really convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for leaving a review che! Our rooms are all the same size and fit only 4 guests, each with its private toilet and shower. I am sure that the size of the room didn't stop you from enjoying your stay with us and meeting some fellow travellers in our lovely living room and common area. And also, us, the staff, is at the reception! And we love to chat with our guests =) Big hug amiguito!

83%

Nice hostel with beautiful views of the lake. Hostel staff are really helpful with booking tours and onward travel. Dorm rooms are clean with comfy new beds. Kitchen is small for the hostel but currently being developed so will be good when finished.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Russel! Thanks a lot for your review here. You are more than welcome to come back and check out the renewals ;) Big hug!

97%

Think Colorado ski resort lounge

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Vincent! So, we don't really know what that means, but it seems to be a good thing! we send you a big hug amiguitooooo =)

97%

This is one of the best hostels i've stayed in. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful even before we arrived & i was really grateful for all the information they sent that helped me to plan our trip. We had a slight issue with lunches for our day trip - we ordered, they weren't made! But other than this minor issue (we survived) it was amazing. The extension also looks like it will make the place even better enabling people to sit & admire the view & a bigger kitchen will be a big plus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola ! Thanks for such a nice review! we really appreciate it =) We are really sorry for the little problem with the lunchboxes, we are changing our suppliers and it got a little complicated in the middle. Sorry again! We hope to see you again when you come to El Calafate. Big hug!

89%

Staff is great! They'll help you with absolutely everything you need, from booking tours to giving you tips of the best places in town, and how to get there. The rooms are great, and it is really close to the main avenue of El Calafate, and also close to the beautiful lakes that surrounds the city. The one thing they should do is providing lockers in the rooms. Loved spending four nights there, and I'm totally going to recomend the hostel to my friends!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Alo Lucas! Thanks for your lovely review! We appreciate it =) We have already installed lockers in all the rooms, we need our guests to bring their own padlocks, thats all! We will meet in the future amigo! abraco!

89%

Great hostel, with a fantastic communal space with huge amounts of light. Staff were really helpful making endless calls on our behalf to bus companies / tour operators - very professionally and friendly. The chef was also lovely accommodating my vegetarianism with kindness and flexibility - very often not the case! Only slight downside, hostel was a bit of a walk into town. (15 mins) So not too far really. Would definitely stay again.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Rachel! Thanks a lot for your comment here, we are happy to hear! after all that much eating here, it's good to walk for a bit, right? ;) Also, the distance provides the views! Hope to see you again in the future =D BIG HUG

100%

WiFi may be weak in the room. You will have to use it in the lobby which can get pretty annoying. BUT they do have an amazing view at the lobby which also makes the morning breakfast that much more special!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Yep, internet in El Calafate is not the best of the world. But it does the job and more! And yes! the views are amazingggggg =D! See you soon dear!

94%

Only stayed here one night as a stop over on the way between El Chalten and Puerto Natales. Wish I'd been able to get in here over Christmas instead of being stuck in the HI hostel, so much better here! Only a couple of dollars more but when you take into account you get breakfast included it evens out m

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Matthew! So, you know where to come next time you are in our town, right?? ;D Safe travels!

77%

This hostel has so many good things but almost creates issues due to over complications. We wanted to extend our stay and this led to various different room arrangements which altered almost constantly. The staff in the day are incredible and are really helpful but the evening staff seem quite clueless so make sure you ask for any tours etc during the day to avoid issues. Communal areas are fab and will be much better when the kitchen is finished. Location is also good with great views.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We understand how that can be bothering, but since you were with us in the busiest of all seasons (new year's eve), extending your stay beyond the booked dates can be a difficult task. Many, many other people were booked for those days, and of course that we had to respect their booking preferences. So, even if having a guest changing rooms it is as complicated for us as for our guests, sometimes it is the only way to have a guest staying an extra night (or more than one). Believe me, it is not convenient for us to have guests changing rooms every day either =(. We hope that this won't stop you from coming in the future! big hug =)

97%

Really helpful and friendly staff, all of whom both speak english and spanish. Super clean. Booking treks to the national park was a breeze through the hostel and la casa, the little private cabin with a view is awesome!

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Davis! Thanks man! We appreciate it =) And yes, the casa has an amazing view, but you have to see our new lobby now! Big hug!!!

91%

The breakfast was a pleasant surprise! The hostel was undergoing a renovation at the time of our visit, but this didn't bother us. I'm sure that the hostel will be even more appealing after the renovations are finished! All in all I was very pleased with our stay!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all El Calafate Hostels

Please give us your feedback