Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2084 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2084 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
8.6

Would agree with most other reviews the place was clean and well maintained. The brakefast provided was good and didn't matter what time you went there allways felt like there was plenty. Location is also good close to subway to get to main attractions or could walk if so disired.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
9.4

The staff was always very friendly and helpful, ready to answer any question I came up with. Room, toilet and showers were clean. I enjoyed the weekend very much, and had a great start into Sunday because of the lovely breakfast area provided by ADH.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sonickeegan5610
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Sep 2017
8.3

The location is safe, and easy walking distance to subway lines and attractions.This is a great budget option, while still having a private room. The included breakfast had options for everyone, including cereal,fruit,toast,pastries,biscuits,bagels,donuts!The hostel is clean, however I did find a few incidents where other guests unfortunately were not so clean, and this is the downside of sharing bathrooms, however I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2017
9.7

Great hostel - good location and they supply AMAZING breakfast!! Really clean and lovely staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2017
8.6

It's a good location to most things. Breakfast spread was AMAZING! Check out time is a little early at 11. Not too fun of a gathering area anywhere but cute accommodations and clean showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel! Great location, within walking distance to subway and major attractions. The best breakfast you will eat. Small room but that is to be expected. One thing I noticed was how clean it was. I really enjoyed my stay here and when I travel back to New York, this is where I will stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2017
6.9

American Dream hostel was perfect for two nights in NYC. Located right on third ave close to bars and restaurants. Easy check in, beds were fine, AC worked, etc. Better price than you will find in most hotels in NYC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2017
9.7

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days in New York. I liked how close it was to the subways and the park. Great if you're visiting the colleges nearby. There are many conveniently located food options and restaurants and the community kitchen was always stocked with breakfast food and snacks. There were multiple showers on every floor making it easy to find a shower when I wanted. Overall a good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2017
5.7

Booked a single room and got a prison cell with uncomfy bunk bed! Skipped breakfast since I didn't like the small kitchenette which was always overcrowded. Overall, too expensive!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2017
9.1

American Dream was in a great location! We walked to Empire State, Times Square and Central Park easily. Everything else was a short uber ride away. Rooms were a little small and the bunk beds were very low so we kept hitting our heads on the top bunk but the sink in the room was handy. The breakfast in the morning was amazing! The best breakfast we had on our whole trip. Great variety and plenty of fresh fruit :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×