Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
8.9

First time in a long time I have actually liked a hostel where I have stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.6

This Hostel provides an amazing breakfast. Really everything you could wish for. It's a very clean place and we felt very comfortable there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
10.0

It was very very nice and good it was a great stay,Perfect I like to Comeback in the American Dream Hostel all the best from Germany

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cgallagher19396
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.7

Excellent place to stay on a (relatively!) modest budget in Manhattan. Good location, nice staff and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome location. Great staff! Great price! Overall great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

The hostel can only be accessed through a door that is either opened by the door code (which they give you once you check in) or by the receptionist who will recognise you through the security cam. This adds to the safety feeling you get at the hostel. The receptionist was very nice when we checked in. Our room was small, but good for a few days and decorated nicely with posters and magazines. The kitchen and breakfast were a lovely surprise. Very clean, great variety and very homey and cozy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
9.4

Daily breakfast was great, room was very clean and everything needed was provided. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

I rented a private room, which had enough space for a bunk bed and a small sink. The shared guest bathrooms and showers were very clean and allowed privacy while using them. It had a nice atmosphere and was well situated in Manhattan. Very close to a major subway hub as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
9.1

I stayed here four years ago and was so happy with it that I came back. They changed though so all rooms are private and the bathrooms and showers are shared. There is no central common room so you don't really meet new people. Breakfast was good, and they have a community fridge! I would definitely stay here again - good option if you need a private room. Close to the subway, I always felt very safe and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.9

Nice hostel with plenty of bathrooms and separate shower rooms. Good location, nice kitchen and common room, private room was a decent size but a bunk bed. Added bonus of having a sink and a tv which was great! Quite noisey being near the Main Street however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.