Hostelworld.com

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
American Dream Hostel Located at 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York.
American Dream Hostel
USA
New York NY 10010 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av
89% 1758
40.7394697 -73.9830279
American Dream Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
9.1

Perfect location, away from the hustle of Times Square but in a safe and beautiful part of town. Bathrooms and rooms are all quite tiny, but they do the job. Couldn't complain. It was a great spot to come home to after a big day out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
8.6

This place is in a great spot. Close to some great little cafes and restaurants as well as the subway. Easy to get uptown as well as Brooklyn. Staff are friendly and great help. Rooms are basic but you're not spending much time in your room when you're in ny anyway

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
9.7

The American Dream hostel was for me the best hostel choice ever. The location is top (max. 5 min walking distance to Union Square, a citibike station, star buck's, a small chinese dim sum food store, supermarket right around the corner etc). Staff was very friendly. It is clean. Top price for the location. Internet was a bit slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
6.9

The big downside to this hostel was the bed. The mattress was worn out and thin, with uneven springs that kept poking me. It was really hard to sleep comfortably. The location was good, though, and the facilities are clean. It was nice to have a private room with a sink. I would probably not stay here again, though, just because the beds were bad!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
7.7

I had a very small room, with two bunk beds, but no window!!! Not for claustrophobics. The toilet and the shower are small like those in the trains. However, the place is clean considering its category.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel: very clean, quiet and not too big. Friendly staff, central location and reasonable price for Manhattan. I definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
9.7

I loved this place!! American Dream is the first hostel I've ever stayed at and I know I will be back soon. I have nothing but good things to say about it. Here's the deets: private room with private sink inside. Hallways were quiet and other guests were nice and quiet. The free breakfast had donuts, bagels, fresh fruit... Super yummy. Awesome location and so easy to navigate. Had everything I needed. Only complaint is that the floors were kind of uneven on the stairwell especially.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
8.0

Great location and awesome breakfast. Staff were pleasant but mostly kept to themselves. Place itself was noisy - noisy pipes, creaking floors and beds, typical old building. But overall pretty good value for NYC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

Clean, neat, friendly, quiet and great breakfasts - thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.6

Vert good. The hostel is perfectly located in Manhattan and near a metro station. The staff is helpful and the rooms are perfectly clean. Breakfast is including in the price of the room. However the overall price is quite expensive when you travel alone ($90-100/night) and the wifi was very weak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.