Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2026 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2026 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
8.3

Accommodation was very basic but clean and well looked after. Location was pretty Central and about 45min walk for either uptown or downtown. Service was always friendly and helpful, my only feedback would be for a solo travellor the atmosphere wasn't very good to meet other travellors, common areas were small and no real reason to stay in them. Would suggest some events or activities which may encourage people to interact. I would be happy to stay here again and would recommend to friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2017
9.4

Awesome breakfast, easy to get around with different subway stations nearby. AC in the room is loud but you can get ear plugs at reception and it's good. Pleasant stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
10.0

It was a delightful stay in American Dream hostile. Rooms are clean, breakfast is yummy, staff are extremely friendly and helpful! Great location! 10/10 experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
10.0

Perfect accommodation for staying in New York! I don't have a bad thing to say about it! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
9.7

I absolutely loved staying here! This place is in a great location and only a few blocks from Madison Square Garden and the metro. It was very clean and charming! The breakfast is off the charts, not to mention all the amazing people you get to meet and chat with from around the world! I was on week 2 of my travels and was able to do my laundry here also! If I return to NY, I would definitely stay here again! It is basically like a modern NY international B&B!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.7

Me and my friend were looking for an affordable, clean, and (most importantly) safe place to stay and American Dream exceeded all of our expectations. The door has a pin-pad lock that only guests have the key to, which they gave us when we checked in. My friend and I returned very late to the hostel (around 11:30pm) and I felt safe walking back in that area at night. Also the room was small (we had a 2-bed private room), but very clean and was perfect for us! I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
9.7

Would definitely recommend. Quiet. Very Clean. Great beds! Provided towels, sheets, pillows with case. Several toilets and showers to choose from with hot water, and well maintained! Separate hallway sinks. Free Wi-Fi. Free Computer/printer available. Breakfast=fresh fruit, bagels, donuts, cereal, muffins, waffles, tarts, milk, orange juice, coffee, tea...was free and fabulous! Nice kitchen with frig and microwave. 2 blocks to metro. 24 hour desk. Stayed 4 nights in room w/TV and AC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.9

Clean, safe and not far from the subway. So much choice at breakfast. Wifi worked great. Staff seemed friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
9.4

Nos quedamos 2 chicas por 3 dias. Nos dieron una habitacion privada bastante comoda. El desayuno es abundante habia de todo para comer. Esta relativamente cerca de todo, incluyendo de las paradas de subway y de bus. Definitivamente volveria al mismo lugar si tuviera que ir de nuevo a NY.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2017
10.0

This is the first hostel I've actually stayed in. I found it very clean and well organized. The staff were warm and friendly, helpful and informative. Perfect location. I will definitely return and recommend to my friends. I felt so comfortable and safe there. Friendly atmosphere. Felt totally at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.