X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

American Dream Hostel Reviews

168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1688 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Very pleasant management, simple but clean room, wonderful serve yourself breakfast. The only negative, and it's a pretty big one, is the temperature control. My room was so hot on a winter day I had to open a window and still had to sleep on top of the sheets in my underwear. Water coming out of the tap in the room was also hot. Asked the manager and he said, "it's an old building, the heat is either on or off."

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very comfortable and clean. Small common areas, loud heating, amazing breakfast!!


83%

It is what it is when it comes to budget travel in NYC. This place offered a lot of amenities such as breakfast and snacks which gave the place a more caring feel. Rooms are tight but so are apartments in NYC. I would recommend this place to my fellow travelers.


94%

I loved how clean well designed everything was. Thank you for leaving out the coffee for the late risers.

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Location in Manhattan, and good price for the location.


80%

Nice staff, great location, quite, weird breakfast, friendly ppl.


100%

Amazing hostel. We had one of the private rooms and it was perfect. Probably one of the cleanest I've ever been to. There aren't that many ppl around, a quiet hostel, which was very pleasant. Highly, highly recommended!


74%

Suited needs location was great room was very hot

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We loved it! Breakfast and the rooms were better than expected.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staffs are very friendly and accommodating. Facilities are clean and in order. I love the location and the breakfast options. Highly recommended. Definitely will stay here again when i visit NYC.


89%

Staff went out of their way to make it a good, enjoyable and easy experience for an older person to fully enjoy an outstanding New York experience!

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Surprisingly clean. Secure. V good breakfast gently wirn carpeting however rooms are freezing, even w th liliputian electric heater on.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Palestine
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved all the details!! They kitchen was perfectly done! Food choices were awesome and way above expextations. Perfect location. Hardly a hostel!

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean and quiet accommodations. Great location for exploring Manhattan by foot! Awesome breakfast.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Structure is near the metro, in a good position but cleaning is not good; for 9 nights, the room has not been cleaned or sheets changed. You have to do all by yourself (even cleaning dishes after breakfast). For the price, it is not so convenient.

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Decent Hostel, but here's a tip, the single rooms are actually bunkbeds. If you want to save money for a party of 2, just book a single room. Breakfast is 7-11. The rooms are pretty bland, plain white walls reminiscent of a prison but it's safe. Towels and shampoo are provided. The only thing wrong with the bathrooms is the sinks are outside in the hallway.


89%

Great if you're looking for something affordable and clean. Didn't spend much time in the room, but everything was clean and nicely decorated. Staff was very polite!


83%

Hostel is very good located to Union Square. There are a couple of nice restaurants close by as is a metro station at 23rd street. The hostel provides clean rooms. An all you can eat continental breakfast with fresh bagels, donuts and fruit starting from 07:00 is included. Free Wifi and to computer stations. The staff was very kind and helpful.


71%

staff were all very friendly; wifi was free and fast; private room was basic, but enough for somewhere to stay whilst visiting.


89%

could have better quilt. it feels like that quilt hasn't washed before I stayed.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback