Hostelworld.com

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
American Dream Hostel Located at 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York.
American Dream Hostel
USA
New York NY 10010 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av
88% 1741
40.7394697 -73.9830279
American Dream Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

Clean, neat, friendly, quiet and great breakfasts - thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.6

Vert good. The hostel is perfectly located in Manhattan and near a metro station. The staff is helpful and the rooms are perfectly clean. Breakfast is including in the price of the room. However the overall price is quite expensive when you travel alone ($90-100/night) and the wifi was very weak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
10.0

Have stayed in many hostels and hotels all over the world (mainly within Europe) but was massively impressed with American Dream, would 100% return. Staff are excellent - so lovely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

I very much liked this hostel. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, and the atmosphere is great. The hostel is in a nice neighborhood, and within walking distance from many of the attractions on New York. Expect some noise from the streets at night. The breakfast is absolutely great! Fresh coffee, bagels, fresh fruit, granola, and much more. The atmosphere is very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.7

Sadly I just stayed for 1 night. But everything was perfect. Excelente location and comfortable to be at. Great breakfast and confortable bed. Really nice and gentle staff. Really happy to be there. Recommended 100%!!!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

I really hate to be this enthusiastic, because perhaps the hostel will become so popular that I'll never get a room there again. I love good hostels, having traveled in Europe many times. This one is special because of its phenomenal location in the Gramercy Park area of Manhattan and its wonderful staff. I especially want to commend "Faby" the Italian-originated receptionist and office manager. She was wonderfully helpful throughout my stay. Bud Gerber

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.1

Excellent location. Very close to main NY attractions. Booked the 2 bed rooms, price comes with breakfast. The room is tiny but hey... we just need the room for sleep. Hotel is very clean. Highly recommended...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.1

clean and conveniently located. friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
8.6

It's a basic hostel, don't expect luxury. My bed was wobbly and the room was quite warm, and I could not turn off the heating. But given the location I think it's good value for money. Also, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was absolutely amazing. Showers en toilets were clean. If I need a place to sleep in NY again for less money, I'd consider this hostel again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
6.0

This place has great location, it is enough for people just need a place to live and rest.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.