Hostelworld.com

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA
Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • robertacarminati4280
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.4

The location is very good, the place is super clean, safe and for me the highlight is the bed - in hostels in general beds are not very good but in American Dream they are better!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
9.1

Location speaks for itself and explains the price. Hostel is neat and clean. Breakfast is excellent - good variety of bagels, cakes, fruit, cereal etc. Staff were very friendly and competent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
8.3

centrally located, very near to NYC main attractions. the staffs were very helpful and kind. would definitely come back in the future

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
8.3

Great place. Clean, simple. Pleasant staff. Delicious breakfast selections. Heads up for older or folks with any physical challenges (I have post Lyme disease issues). The top bunk was hard to get up to because of the placement of the ladder and because of the rounded metal bars. But once I made the climb, the mattress was super comfortable. And the stairs are steep and not real easy. The bathrooms were always available and clean when I went to use them. I will absolutely return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Dec 2016
6.0

Had a room with no window. Hot and stuffy as hell. The hot water pipe run through the room. Don't touch it as it really hot. This water pipe will croak and make strange noise on a hourly basis. Don't be alarmed. It's not poltergeist. It will just wake you up every hour on the hour. Have fun!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
7.7

Cosy place. Small rooms and shared bathrooms but I guess this is to be expected in NYC. Great location close to subway and central area. Nice breakfast provided but not particularly healthy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

I traveled with my mother and we found the hostel very clean and comfortable. Our room was on the third floor with no views, but was very quiet so we could rest very well. The other guest were nice and respectful. The staff was very helpful, especially Hermitas, who made all her best to made our stay great. We would repeat definitely. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

I travelled to New York City with my Mum & we were both absolutely delighted to have stayed in such a welcoming and friendly hostel. The staff went out of their way to help us with directions in and around the City. The location is outstanding and although the rooms are basic, the hostel offers a great base from which you can explore the City. One of the best hostels I've stayed in, I would highly recommend visiting and would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Another great stay at American Dream!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
7.7

Good location. Competent and helpful staff. Substantial breakfast ...too heavy on carbs...but all day coffee. Good social common room. Private room was small but Ok. May be a little overpriced. I enjoyed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.