Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th May 2017
8.0

We got a room with two bunk beds. The room was small (typical by New York standards) but clean and well-furnished. There were multiple electrical outlets for charging devices and a sink in the room. Breakfast was great -- many options (donuts, bagels, waffles, etc) and fresh fruit. However, the dining area was rather cramped. The location is great, right by Madison Square Park / Flatiron. American Dream is a good option if you're looking for a private room in a central Manhattan location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel for people traveling on a budget. Having a sink in the room meant less time using the shared bathrooms, which were always clean and well stocked. Mornings are busy in the small breakfast room, so get there at 7am for the great variety of food, including fruit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kristenaliciabennett4733
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
7.7

Was overall happy for what we paid. The location was great, the place was clean and the breakfast was the best we had on the trip. Good value for what you paid. Just ashame that the people staying there did not have any manners towards others staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
10.0

The included breakfast can't be beat......so much to choose from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Friendly staff, great location close to shops subways etc. would recommend to anyone staying in NYC to stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Perfect location and a lovely hostel - such good value! The free breakfast is amazing, plus there's free wifi. Cheaper than a low end NYC hotel but much better value for money! Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
6.6

Good location. OK value for money. This was my first hostel in USA, so its not a fair comparison. Although, my stay was not that comfortable. There were loud noise from some kinda pipe going through my room and no hot water in the sink in my room. Also once shower didn't have any hot water. Breakfast area is good. The location is quite nice and most of the famous sights are within 15-20 min walk. Lots of restaurants near by. Security is good. Staff is friendly and supportive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

Perfect location (about 10min on foot to Madison Square Park where you have access to the Subway) veeeery nice breakfast (you really get everything you need) super helpful staff, TVs in each room. The rooms are a bit tidy but thats worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
8.9

First time in a long time I have actually liked a hostel where I have stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.6

This Hostel provides an amazing breakfast. Really everything you could wish for. It's a very clean place and we felt very comfortable there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.