X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

American Dream Hostel Reviews

168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1431 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hostel is truly lovely to stay in. It is super clean and the staff are really helpful! The FREE breakfast is amazing! The rooms are very clean and so are the toilets and bathrooms. I would definitely recommend this Hostel and would stay there again if I was in New York.


94%

We stayed a week in the hostel and we really enjoyed it. Great location, great breakfasts, clean.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The breakfast is amazing'


100%

This is the second time i have stayed at The American Dream Hostel. The first time was great and now since the premise has been upgraded my stay was even better. On this journey I have also stayed in conventional hotels where the rooms have not been maintained as clean as do the cleaning staff at the ADH. Thank you Marcell for the great breakfasts and your courtesy.


100%

Stayed for 10 days. Very valuable for bucks as the location is superb; I love the cleanliness. You'll never get similar level of cleanliness in Europe. Staffed 24/7 so can easily check in late especially coming in late from Europe. Will defy stay again.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

To much noice. If you want to sleep at night, find Another Place. Earplugs wont help.


69%

I was a bit disappointed! For 100$ per night for a two person bedroom I expected more. The room was very noisy even though the window was closed. There were stains on the linen and the very small bathroom was not clean! I also didn't like that there was only ONE sink on the FLOOR for all the rooms. Staff was very friendly and breakfast very tasty!


89%

Really cosy place, with very friendly staff. Facilities are basic, but serves the purpose and are clean. Super nice atmosphere, almost like being in someones home. Surprisingly good breakfast for a hostel in NYC. Great location, only a block from the nearest subway station and not far from any part of southern Manhattan. Can definitely recommend it!


100%

Was perfect, very quiet, the employees was very nice and friendly. The breakfast was the best in my hole life. The localization was very good.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice basic place with excellent breakfast. Great cheap alternative.


97%

Wonderful hostel. Cozy, spotlessly clean and very nice and polite staff. Excellent location. Comfy bed and was great to have sink and mirror in the room. It was a pleasure staying here and would have stayed longer if i could have! Highly recommend!!,


94%

Was extremely impressed with the cleanliness and size considering its location in Manhattan. Would absolutely visit here and recommend to any traveling through Manhattan looking for affordable and accessible accommodations. Can leave luggage onsite once checked out, although not locked, the staff held all valuable items at the front desk so things felt very secure.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Easy checking in. Room was clean, bathroom was clean. Breakfast was very good. Hostel has the right size, not too big. And the crowd was not super young either what made the hostel more quiet. That being said I only stayed there a Monday night, so I cannot tell whether it might be noisier over the weekend. The best part of the deal is the location: Close to gramercy Park and St. Marks Place. I really recommend it.


100%

The staffs are really nice and helpful! We stayed at the two ppl suite and really enjoyed it! The room was clean and they've got all the things you need! Highly recommend!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good place to stay. Less than 10 min walk to metro station 23rd street, line 6. Room is small but clean and comfortable, WIFI collection is good. Breakfast is simple but enough.


69%

If you are looking for a cheap and fairly clean hostel this place is perfect. The rooms are really small, basicly just fit a small bed, sink and a chair. But it is pretty clean. The shared bathroom and showerroom was accually more clean then I expected! The only complain would be that they didn't clean my room, not even once, or changed the sheets, and I was living there for 9 days!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay in Manhattan. Clean, well located, comfortable, good wifi, among some other qualities. Would definitely stay there again.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

you guys are doing a great job, keep it up, no complaints.


100%

Fantastic

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The breakfast was excellent!! Location was alzó great, close to subways and many bus lines. The only thing is that they don't clean the rooms during your stay and unfortunately, our room had no sunlight at all.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback