X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

AmicitiA (former Friesland) Reviews

Oosterdok, Dock 3 (Nemo Museum), Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
434 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Tip1 : Bring your flip flop for the shower! Tip2 : When frontdoor is locked (past midnight for ex), slide the door to the right before sliding to the left!!!!! Lovely place to stay at! 10min far from Centrum and the station, so it's convenient. Nice view. The wooden deck has a warm atmosphere and breakfast is a real treat! The staff was nice and helpful but we could've gotten more infos about the frontdoor (see tip2) as we got stuck in the rain past 1.00am! Rooms are small but hey it's a boat!


83%

reception blond girl was great

  • 8th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great staff, lovely view, cozy atmosphere!

  • 2nd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Unfortunately, despite the charm of being on a canal boat and the great views over the water at breakfast time, we didn't stay as long as we had intended because the boat was noisy - the creaking of the floor above our heads woke us around 7am and we could hear the people in the cabins beside us moving around. But if you are a heavy sleeper I would recommend the hostel!


80%

Loved the experience and the location being right on the water.

  • 12th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The only problem was the tiny little window in the cabin, with a view... over the dock. It was very noisy too.

  • 12th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The view from this hostel is breathtaking, and the rooms have portholes that are right on the water, so nice. It was very quiet at night, not much going on party wise, don't know if this was because of the time of year. The captain is cool and the breakfast is huge. Only thing was the toilets smelled terrible (they were clean though) and every so often a funky sewage-y smell would waft into the room, is this a boat thing?


86%

Me and a friend we just spend there 1 night but everything was good! The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very good! If I have the opportunity I'll choose this hostel again for sure.


94%

Well guys, first, it's a boat, so do not expect big rooms, they are small, the bathroom it's shared, but that's not a problem at all, the hostel it's great and the feeling of staying in a boat it's cool, if i go to amsterdam once again, i will stay at amicitia


83%

We had our best hostel experience at Amicitia: staff very friendly and helpful, nice atmosphere.. We highly recommend this place!


94%

Nice place! good experience to stay in a boat in Amsterdadm. Staff are so friendy. Breakfast is very good. Rooms are small but we expected that for a boat. We were there in winter and it was warm.


100%

small room but enough for sleep. Very very good in general.

  • 1st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The guy who was working there (Roy) was helpful and friendly to us on arrival. He gave us a map of where about in the city to go and what transport links there are in the city.

  • 27th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam, little but confy and clean....roy the captain will recive you and give all the info you need to visit the city....I'd love this place!!!

  • 27th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I really liked to stay there,okay location and cheap single room with very good breakfast. Place runner was really nice guy, greetings from Nepal! :-)


100%

Lovely host Bauke, friendly and really professional.


77%

good location, good staff. but uncomfortable bed.

  • 4th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Great breakfast!The size of the female toilets where well below average even for a boat. Otherwise value for money


83%

It has a very good breakfast and a relatively good location. The only problem is that the rooms are REALLY REALLY small. Staff is wonderful and everything else is very nice.


100%

Great place. Owners are very nice, willing to help. The atmosphere is quite good, you can see central station while having breakfast (good breakfast!), views are very nice. The only things you need to keep in mind is that noise isolation in boats is no as in a building and rooms are also smaller but suficient and clean. For me a great experience, enjoying amsterdam while sleeping in a boat-hotel.

  • 19th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(235 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback