X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

AmicitiA (former Friesland) Reviews

Oosterdok, Dock 3 (Nemo Museum), Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
433 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We spent 2 nights in the Amicitia. It was comfortable, clean, and the staff super friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

This bed and breakfast was pretty nice, the location was excellent


89%

The AmicitiA was the perfect hostel for a few days' stay in Amsterdam. The location is ideal - walking distance from the central station, takes about 5-10 mins. Clean rooms and facilities, relaxed atmosphere, good breakfast. We would definitely recommend it, especially to younger couples and friend groups!

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Can't be any happier about this place.. absolutely fantastic! The boat was nice and cozy with an amazing view on the deck into the canal. Really nice, great value for money. Very quiet and the staff was superb. I would totally come back again!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

well, rooms are small and a little bit dark but the price is really reasonable for amsterdam. showers and toilets are clean, breakfast is good. captain was really nice to me. location was not that good though, 10 minutes to main train station but at least 20 mins to center. i think staying in a boat in amsterdam is a fun experience.


97%

It's a perfect place to stay. I stayed 2 nights with a friend. We could relax. There is enough space for everybody. The staff is helpful and lovely!

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It's a boat, what more need I say? It''s a perfect way to stay in Amsterdam! =D It is well located in the city, close access to bus, tram, Centraal Train Station. Staff is friendly and happy. Everything is clean and cosy. Definitely would go back and recommend!


89%

Very friendly and helpful staff and very close to main station and the city center.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Tiny room, but perhaps to be expected aboard a boat. However the smell of sewage, extremely basic facilities and general lack of hostel atmosphere meant that we were disappointed by the overall experience.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Water is the element that brought Amsterdam to life, so how could there be any better option than staying there on a boat! We enjoyed traffic on the water - all the vessels going by, telling their own story. Great views and extraordinary location are well worth to put up with a tiny cabin and shared facilities Staff created an "at-home-atmosphere". A fantastic place to experience Amsterdam as long as you don`t have unrealistic expectations. I especially liked the sun-deck on top of the boat...

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at AmicitiA!! The Captain takes really good care of his guests, makes you feel comfortable on his boat, offers help whenever needed, recommends nice places to you etc. I'd give the location a 120% because the view over Oosterdock, the water and the city is gorgeous, especially at sunset! Besides, the city center and Central Station are quite close to the boat which saves you from having to walk great distances.


94%

Stay on the boat is awesome. The breakfast was rather good and the view was so beautiful. There was a thing that should be informed us earlier if it had a limited time of taking shower. Anyway, everything was great.


91%

Fantastic experience sleeping on a boat. Young, polite and helpful. International breakfast and hearty, unpretentious. Tiny rooms with bunk beds, but the rest of you are on a boat ... a little noisy (you can hear everything going on outside the room, but with a good pair of earplugs is solved!). Lovely location, far from the chaos of the center, with the possibility to enjoy the sunset on the canals! Highly recommended for those who did not pretentious!

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Unfortunately there were some problems with my bed, but it would have been easy for the staff to assume that we had broken it (4 guys on a lads-holiday)but they didn't blame us at all. Slightly uncomfortable, but could've been a lot worse! Common room was nice and hospidable, we met several people there and had a fridge fom which one could buy drinks which is a nice idea. Rooms were clean, cool and had some storage (all of which we appreciated having stayed on a different boat previously).


94%

If you are looking for something a bit different from all the big hostels, this is the place for you! Very welcoming and the staff is really nice! has a good breakfast, comfy beds even thou its a ship! Pretty much like passenger ship avanti, so its a great hostel to stay! Security is top notch and the location is good aswell. Not for partying, but for those who want a good night sleep in a personal hostel this is your place. And did i mention its a SHIP!


100%

Merel is the best! Clean, good location, unique experience on a boat, superb view at night, great breakfast, what more do you need? Merel plays football by the way...


97%

capitain merel was simply great! i will recommend this accomodation to all my friends and i will definately come back there :)

  • 28th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

I booked a 3 night stay over easter at this hostel back in Jan 2013. i received a reminder e-mail 1 week before our stay confirming the dates et. However when we arrived at 7pm on the first night we were informed that there had been an overbooking and we had to go stay on another boat. I was not very happy at all, but the manager was away that weekend and there was not much we could do. The staff member on that night was apologetic, but it would have been nie to be told beforehand.


80%

Very good staff, but dangerous stairs. Good location


83%

Tip1 : Bring your flip flop for the shower! Tip2 : When frontdoor is locked (past midnight for ex), slide the door to the right before sliding to the left!!!!! Lovely place to stay at! 10min far from Centrum and the station, so it's convenient. Nice view. The wooden deck has a warm atmosphere and breakfast is a real treat! The staff was nice and helpful but we could've gotten more infos about the frontdoor (see tip2) as we got stuck in the rain past 1.00am! Rooms are small but hey it's a boat!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(234 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback