X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Reviews

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
890 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

It is a good value for the money, just be prepared to the stairs.... Crazy so many stairs

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good,value for money Hostel but lacks that friendly hostel atmosphere probably due to the small reception area. Amigo Hostel serves it's purpose as a place to stay at a reasonable price doesn't offer much more than that. Approximately 15 minutes from the center by Tram and 30 minutes walk. N.B. Not suitable for individuals even with a slight physical disability as the stairs to the entrance are extremely steep.


54%

The toilet is super small and the atmosphere is full of weed smell!


60%

The hostel is totally soulless but it does the job. Also some weird mix-ups...we wanted a private double but on arrival were given an empty 10 bed dorm. The owner is really nice though and it's an alright location (15 mins on the tram to centre).

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i don't really have a lot to complain about, the staff was really friendly, everything was clean, the hostel is about 2 kilometers from the center. the only things i didn't like were that the prices go up a lot in the weekend and the smell of weed everywhere, but that's mostly because of some of the guests. keep it up guys, you've got an amazing hostel!

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff was very friendly and kind. The hostel was clean, and also the bathrooms. We could have breakfast and lunch in the common living room They let us leave the baggage in the hotel until our train left. I strongly recommend it.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Shower was a bit mouldy. On my bed were still dirty bed sheet. Although staff promised to take care of it I had to do it in the end myself.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


26%

First they hustle mé for 25 euro i had pay allready When i booked. Then our room isnt clean. Next morning they Tell us we have to change room,and we should be back in 3 hours before the room is ready, Then we Got back, and find out they have mest up and now have to walk around 5 km to a other hostel. They Tell us its an upgrade in room for us, it Was not!! We Got a room halv the size, With no Windows at all!, that is just not okay, never gonna recormend amigo hostel ore Their sisterhostel!!

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

As said before, the room area really small. Staff is helpfull and friendly and the hostel is for young people (very noisiy but did not bother my stay at all). Clean, really close to the train stop as said on description. Far from city centre but no big deal because of night buses and the fact that the hostel is close to the bus stop as well. Very good for the price i paid. Would recommend.


89%

Exactly what you want from a low cost hostel. Decent sized, clean rooms. Were lots of like-minded young people staying at the same time which gave it a great atmosphere. Would certainly stay again

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

the only problem about this hostel you can only check in at 2 pm which is troublesome if your arrival flight early in the morning.


49%

Not a very good location, far away from the city center. No kitchen but there is a grocery store across the street for snacks/drinks. Rooms and bathrooms were kind of dirty, wifi didn't work in room, I had to go through 4 doors I think before I got to my room door which I found strange. Really small common room/area, its really just the reception area. Lots of people smoking right outside the door. Just not a great overall atmosphere.


49%

We booked a double room but we were given a dorm room - not ideal for a couple! The room also smelt very badly of smoke as it was in close proximity to the 'smoking' area.


60%

The place was alright, but I really did not like the fact that my friend could not come upstairs in the room to have a drink before we were about to go out. For that reason I have left the place after the first night.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent time in the Amigo Hostel. I will definitely come back here !!!!!

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was quiet nice and was not expensive. Its location is so close to the city so by the tram you jump into the city in 10 min

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great place .friendly staff, comfy beds, i will be staying here every time i visit this amazing city.

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nice staff and cheap. the second dqy th staff give discount.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was great! Friendly and helpful. Awesome atmosphere as well.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel is too far from everything in the city. You will have to take the metro that it is expensive! The people in the hostel are so much strange. Guys that smoke weed 24hrs a day. I don't know... Just don't stay there!


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback