X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Reviews

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1331 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Staff are very aggressive and don't understand how to deal with customers ! Rather than attacking they should try help and suss out the situation ! Location is grand 16 mins from centre ! But advice get the 48hour team ticket for 12€ it's so ideal to get in and out of town and trams go everywhere around the city ! The beds were very comfortable and the common room was great ! The steps will frighten you initially but that makes it al the more secure ;) in the end good experience !


63%

not close to the centre but only one stop on the train away. so many steep stairs and no wifi in the bedrooms. Room was clean and staff friendly and helpful.


89%

Friendly staff and a nice place to chill! Loved staying here and meeting lots of great people!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Nice rooms, nice staff, good wifi, but only one shower for whole floor - had to wait in a line.


71%

Staff was very friendly and very helpful! They know exactly where everything in Amsterdam is...and being young, he knew where all the party areas are and what tram to take back and worth. Highly recommend.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It has some mortal stairs, making it difficult with the huge suitcase.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Showers were quite filthy. No proper bathrooms, and the WiFi only worked (quite poorly) in the foyer.


100%

The Amigo Hostel was a great place to stay at. Very nice and helpful staff and you feel very welcome when you check in. The hostel has a good location. A little bit outside the city center but close enough to walk to. It's fairly priced and I'd recommend it to anyone who is going to Amsterdam.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Positive sides: Cleanliness, card system regarding security Negative sides: there isn't a kitchen, common room, you should pay even hot water, location is not so central. It takes an hour by walking. But public transportation facilities are good. The cleaners take your staff if you leave them on the bed.


94%

Perfect apart from no kitchen

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was great, very clean and secure. Nice modern bathrooms. The wifi didn't work while we were there though but other than that it was really good.


51%

This hostel is ok but really really cramped and uncomfortably hot and sweaty. There is no air conditioning so it is uncomfortable to stay and sleep there. You come out of the shower still damp because of the extreme humidity, and there is only one per floor. Location is ok but a bit outside the city, and the stairs leading into the hostel are just hazardous.


100%

i stayed here, wtih the ebs course one month! this is an amazing hostel! after my stay i booked one extra night in this hostel. i reccomend this place to everybody! you meet a lot of people from arround the world. the guys from the reception are like my brothers now! Appi, Casa And Abdel rulezzz!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Won't come back this hostel next time


80%

Amsterdam is not cheap. This hostel is on the more expensive side, but overall cheap for Amsterdam. That being said, for a cheap hostel it's great. Everything is clean and the staff is incredibly helpful. Be aware that there are a lot of stairs. If you have low mobility, I don't recommend it. The showers were great! The wifi didn't work most of the time we were there, but they said they were working on it. The beds are very small for a couple. There are many cheap options for food in the area.


97%

This hostel is amazing! Great atmosphere and amazing staff Shout out to appi, he helped me a lot!!

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This place comes with a disclaimer: don't go here if you don't like smoking. Lots of people smoking spliffs and cigs on the stairs. I didn't mind and that being said, this place is not too bad at all. It was pretty clean, they do a thorough job every day in the afternoon and this has the largest shower I've seen in a hostel. Snacks available at the front desk and the people working there were overall pretty friendly. Some good markets, coffee shops, and laundry places nearby. Overall recommend.


74%

The Amigo Hostel was ideally situated for me. Close to supermarkets and the No 9 tram. Casa was most helpful and accommodating. I had a single room, so a mirror and a hook to hang up some clothes would have made it a perfect stay .

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

When we eventually found the place the initial steps into the property are dangerous to say the least. As we arrived before check-in we were told we could leave our bags in the 'luggage room' which was an unsecured open broom cupboard piled high with bags. We didn't use this facility for fear of breaking fragile objects in our bags. The rooms were not great and there were only 5 lockers provided for a 6 person room. Toilets were a joke and the showers were unsatisfactory. DO. NOT. GO. THERE.


69%

Overall, I did enjoy my time spent at the hostel. The staff were nice and informitive. I also liked the location. However there were some negative things: The shower is far from the rooms and there is no where to change clothes without them getting wet. There also wasn't a kitchen. The wifi didn't work very well,


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(92 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback