Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 1899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 1899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
8.0

Thank you for hosting me at such a last minute!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
5.7

We were placed in a very small room with 5 men, us being the only two females and felt very uncomfortable. There were other rooms that had more space and other females staying at the hostel so we feel this was unessesary.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
5.4

It cost a lot for how little you get. Steep stairs!! The showers were weak and dirty, our room was dirty and whenever someone in our room would check out the cleaners would be in straight away to clean even if you weren't up yourself. They were rude and told us it was 1pm & we were late one day even though it was 10am and we were never told of a lockout time. The staff at reception were a lot more polite and helpful. It's seriously overpriced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
5.7

Bare minimum, a bed and not much else

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jul 2017
6.3

I chose this hostel only becaus i knew i wouldn't be spending much time ther since i had to be at the airport at 7 am. It has a bus that goes directly to the airport which was nice. I wouldn't stay there if i was staying for a longer time just because even hough they call themselves a hostel they don't really organize any activities for the people whi stay there. The staff was zuper friendly though! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dunganderek8644
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Jul 2017
4.6

The toilets were pretty gross, the showers were plugged up. Great location. But the price was a little higher for the service provided.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mohamedabady9959709
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
6.6

The hostel was clean and stuff were helpful. It's a bit expensive for the service offered

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
6.9

Flys in room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • larndecarabas
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jul 2017
5.7

Amsterdam is quite expensive when it comes to hostels so I went for Amigo Hostel. It is located about a 40 minute walk from town which I didn't mind. You have small lockers for your important items and the bathrooms are very small. There is no kitchen but there is a fridge and microwave and cutlery. There is no common room or any events set up, the Wi-Fi cuts out a bit and there is no laundry. It's not good for meeting people, you're relying on having good room mates, the place is okay overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
5.1

Property was alright. Tiny bathroom and not a great shower. Played a 19 pound deposit the was charged the full amount on arrival my bad for not noticing at the time I guess. But in there defence they had a cat so that's a bonus point. The hostel is a good 40 mins walk from the centre and when your walking home at half 1 in the morning it can feel a bit sketchy but it's close to good local amenities like a super market and dominoes and a coffee shop ten mins down the road.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.