Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 1,661 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 1,661 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Located at Linnaeusstraat 199-201, , Amsterdam.
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1093EN Linnaeusstraat 199-201
67% 1661
52.3568890 4.9274808
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
6.0

The hostel took a preauthorization fee of $99.97 dollars before I arrived to the hostel. Once I did arrive, I was obligated to pay the full price of the booking without the preauthorization subtracted from the booking price because the staff told me the preauthorization would be put back on my card within 1-30 days of me arriving at the hostel. So, because of this, I paid a total 260.00 euros when the booking price on hostelworld.com was 180.00 euros total. This was a huge burden on my budget.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
6.6

Our room was quite nice and clean, but the rest of the hostel had kind of a sketchy feel. There wasn't really a common space and the single shower and bathroom were shared by the whole floor so it was always in use. The staff was nice enough. They also only accepted cash so be aware of that. The location was OK - if you use the tram, it's an easy trip into the center of the city but if not it's a bit of a walk. Overall it was just ok - not terrible but in glad we were only there two nights.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
2.0

This hostel took out a pre authorize amount and its on hold i donot recommend this hostel because if ur on a budget they will hurt u with this transaction

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
6.0

Very basic hostel and it's quite far from the city centre but there are trams which take you right there. There's a nice park around the corner to relax in. The relax room is quite small and in the same place as the reception. The showers were nice but the bathrooms are tiny. The rooms were clean but a little too small for my liking. But for the price I would recommend this hostel and I would personally stay there again! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.6

I personally think that this hostel is convenient only for those that are staying for a very short period.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
7.4

The location wasn't bad close to the metro stop but the rooms were very small and small bathrooms/showers. Stairs were very steep but overall staff was friendly and had a good eating area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
8.0

We are backpacking through Europe and stayed here for two nights. The hostel was just outside the centre with a tram going straight from the central station to the hostel. But the lookers were small so there was nowhere to secure your big bag, only valuables....need to bring your own lock for it. There was only one toilet and one shower for four rooms of 6-8 but we're kept clean. The rooms were clean and the linen was good. The stairs are steep!! Staff were helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

I ran into some troubles on the way and couldn't make it. Emailed Amigos hostel letting them know, and they didn't charge me for the room. Now that's just good customer service. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Friendly, convenient, and cheap. There is a very steep staircase, which makes it difficult with heavy luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
5.4

There was everything you needed but it was very basic. The rooms were small, the stairs were steep and location was a little way out. However, it was close to a tram stop and easy to get around. The showers were good but the toilet was not very nice. All in all perfectly adequate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.