Hostelworld.com

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 1,576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 1,576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.3
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Located at Linnaeusstraat 199-201, , Amsterdam.
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1093EN Linnaeusstraat 199-201
69% 1576
52.3568890 4.9274808
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
6.6

I looked over reviews for this place, taking note of the negatives, but ended up jumping the gun because cash was my main constraint. Honestly, there's not much to this hostel. If you're looking for modern with great amenities, check out the Generator about a half a mile away. If you're just wanting a place to sleep after a night out, and leave in the morning, it's really a great deal. The MAJOR plus was being able to stow my luggage for free after I checked out for a day while I explored.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
4.0

It was like staying in a fraternity house- dirty, loud, and stinks of weed. The bathrooms were absolutely gross. The staff was rude and unhelpful. I was traveling alone and felt very unsafe- like I was actually afraid to fall asleep. The location was ok considering the cost, close to the train station but a far walk to the center. Would only recommend this hostel to frat guys looking for a cheap place to get high and crash after a night out. Anyone else- beware, you were warned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
3.1

Having stayed in hostels all over Europe & UK, I would say this is the worst hostel I have ever been to. It's not even worth 20% of the money they charge. All the owner wants is money, Shabby maintenance, clumsy and small rooms in-fact the completely building itself is disgusting. Better pay . They have cleverly chosen the pics here so that we dont see the disgusting part. Never would I stay here again or will recommend anyone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.0

Hello world, Finally a place to stay in Amsterdam that isn't far from the center and reachable with 1 tram (Tram nbr: 9). As for the hostel, it is very pleasant sleeping there, it feels save, the atmosphere is good, and clean. I did not found anywhere in Amsterdam a better hostel as value for money. I would advice this place for anyone in a tight budget and steal having a great place to sleep in Amsterdam. Enjoy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel was really great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Apr 2016
5.7

Cheap, ok for 1 night. Staff very friendly. Location is poor. However there's a large supermarket next door. Dorm rooms great with lockers and a basic sink. Kitchen consists of a microwave, kettle and fridge next to reception. This is the common room with seating for about 8 people. Thus zero vibe or atmosphere. To wash your dishes you must carry them down the hall into the designated smoking room and wash them in a tiny bathroom sink and hope you don't die of inhalation. Bit ghetto. Many stairs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
5.7

the staff is very kind but the guests were very noisy all night on the top floor where we were staying and it was very difficult for our coach driver to get any rest at all night or day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
9.1

Great atmosphere, nearby bars and coffeeshops, local smoking room. Relaxed atmosphere and access to the nearby shops and restaurants, which are fantastic, taxi's back from the center of Amsterdam are about €15, so not bad, the walk there and back is pleasant, being between 30-45 minutes depending on how fast you're walking. The local park - Oosterpark - is a great place to walk around or sit down and enjoy the atmosphere. Overall, I loved my 4 days being there for the Amsterdam Spring Break!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • raiannecabrera0417
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Apr 2016
7.4

It's well-situated, kinda far from the city center but the tram stop is only a few steps away. The staff is really kind and helpful. The only downside about my stay here is that my card key won't work sometimes and I had to try a million times before I could finally enter. Quite a bugger when you've been strolling all day and all you want to do is to go straight into your bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
10.0

i liked this hostel very much! Its a plesure to stay here with the guys from the reception! Hope to see you next time again! shout out to appi (glasses)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.