X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Reviews

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1368 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Location is good. Its near to Tram station. Staff is really friendly. Small common area with respect to the people in hostel. I guess a heaven for weed smokers. You can also get additional discount in Brussels they have a hotel there. Which I got. Compared to other hostel it's value for money. If you can adjust a bit.


100%

Brilliant hostel!! Location was perfect and the staff were very very helpful! The hostel had everything you needed, You could buy your towels and locks there to save you bringing them with you. Everything was clean! Breakfast was simple toast and cereal but was very nice. So pleased with this hostel. Thank you!!

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very straight forward to find, easy to get to the city centre by tram. When I arrived I found hairs and bits in my bed and the next morning I woke up with loads of bites which was really horrible The showers and toilets were ok but there are not very many and not the cleanest ever

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the stay here. It was just what we needed and expected :)

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Super tiny hostel. Everything is very small, rooms, toilets, common area. But it's ok. Friendly staff. Wifi totally unusable.


63%

The staff was friendly and helpful. There was no kitchen. Only a microwave and waterboiler in the entrance room/ there was no real lounge. We had a mouse in our room. the bathroom and bedroom was clean, that was really good. The beds were more comfortable than any beds in a lot of hostels in New Zealand. The pillows are great. We had to clean our dishes in our bathroom . a few days later they had a sponge to clean the dishes. at first we used toilet paper.


46%

Toilets were a major problem

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Crazy stairases of death but people were always happy to help lift bags! The rooms could do with some more electricity sockets and a window that you old open the whole way. Also as per most hostels - the showers need fans as the whole passageways become hot.


74%

A clean hostel, a bit far from the city but easy public transportation


80%

The room was clean and spacious with a balcony and we were pleasantly surprised to find our room also had a shower.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Stayed in a 5 bed private with shared bathroom. Room was extremely small but beds were comfy and did the job for a one night stay! bathroom was nice but small again but i suppose you're going to get that in amsterdam. location is OK, bit out the city centre but tram stop is right outside and doesn't take too long to get to central.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

During my stay, the wifi didn't work at all. It will be perfect if the wifi works well. Apart from that, the staffs are always friendly and the place is clean as the toilet and the bathrooms are cleaned everyday.


69%

This hostel was overall a good place. The location wasn't to great as it wasn't in the centre however it's only a 10 minute tram ride which stops right outside the hostel and there is a small shopping cluster next to the hostel which is useful. Security is very good and it is kept clean - downside is limited space, very small communal area however music is generally always played which is good. No kitchen but there is a fridge for food storage and staff always provide plates etc.


34%

pretty far from the City center and 10 min to Town with tram. close to supermarked. because our rommates ate magic mushrooms and trashed the Room we had to move to the hostel in Town just to Come back the next day without reduction in prize. the receptionist smoked drugs with some people in the stairway making the place stink. ok reception area with tv with movies and plates. locks in roms, horrible pillows. very high humidity in rooms.


71%

Staff are very aggressive and don't understand how to deal with customers ! Rather than attacking they should try help and suss out the situation ! Location is grand 16 mins from centre ! But advice get the 48hour team ticket for 12€ it's so ideal to get in and out of town and trams go everywhere around the city ! The beds were very comfortable and the common room was great ! The steps will frighten you initially but that makes it al the more secure ;) in the end good experience !


63%

not close to the centre but only one stop on the train away. so many steep stairs and no wifi in the bedrooms. Room was clean and staff friendly and helpful.


89%

Friendly staff and a nice place to chill! Loved staying here and meeting lots of great people!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Nice rooms, nice staff, good wifi, but only one shower for whole floor - had to wait in a line.


71%

Staff was very friendly and very helpful! They know exactly where everything in Amsterdam is...and being young, he knew where all the party areas are and what tram to take back and worth. Highly recommend.


83%

It has some mortal stairs, making it difficult with the huge suitcase.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback