Hostelworld.com

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 1,608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 1,608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam Located at Linnaeusstraat 199-201, , Amsterdam.
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Amsterdam 1093EN Linnaeusstraat 199-201
67% 1608
52.3568890 4.9274808
Amigo Hostel Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
4.0

There was not enough outlets in the room. It's something simple that I think every hostel should provide. Other than that for the price it was OK.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2016
6.3

Price during the working days is OK, but during the weekends is overpriced. Rooms are really small for amount of beds. There is no wardrobe. Two toilets and two showers on floor with 9 rooms (around 45 people). Toilet was always leaking. It's not totally bad place, but really not worth money on weekends.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
2.3

Extremely poor hostel. Far away in the east of Amsterdam, not at all close to centre. Lots of small rooms off a flight of stairs with as many beds as possible crammed into them. Broken lockers, too few showers and sinks which were extremely dirty. Small communal/entrance room with miserable looking travellers. As soon as I checked in the host tried to persuade me to pay €100 for an additional night, far more than any nearby places. I checked out ASAP! Don't get ripped off and don't stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
7th May 2016
7.4

It was a decent place but expect to share one shower and toilet with the entire floor. Also, there were three outlets for a room with 9-10 beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
2.0

I've sent email to cancel my booking and I've received answer with promise to refund payment except some part (according to policy), but full amount of money was charged from my friends, despite promising to cancel this booking.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
10.0

Amigo Hostel is like my home. I feel very safe here and comfortable. after reading some of the bad reviews, i found out that its not the truth. Okay the stairs maybe, but just that! The staff is amazing and very helpfull. Espacialy mister Casa. He is awesome and very charming. Facilities and service here is exelent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2016
4.6

Pretty scummy to be honest...tiny sink for washing anything up is in the same room designated for people to go and smoke various things, one barely-functioning microwave and a fridge as food facilities, but the saddest thing is that the common area (=also reception) is cold, small, and whatever the opposite of cosy is. Still managed to meet some great people which was nice, and there are definitely worse hostels, but don't expect anything above minimum standards here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
4.0

It was like staying in a fraternity house- dirty, loud, and stinks of weed. The bathrooms were absolutely gross. The staff was rude and unhelpful. I was traveling alone and felt very unsafe- like I was actually afraid to fall asleep. The location was ok considering the cost, close to the train station but a far walk to the center. Would only recommend this hostel to frat guys looking for a cheap place to get high and crash after a night out. Anyone else- beware, you were warned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
5.4

I paid quite a high rate (€55 per night) for an 8 bed mixed dorm. The staff were friendly and helpful, and smoking weed is permitted in the 'weed room' but not in the bedrooms. There is no kitchen, just a kettle and a microwave. The bedrooms were generally clean, but the toilets often had no toilet paper and smelt of urine, and the shower drain was clogged up with hair. I also saw a couple of fleas at one point. Fine if you are on a tight budget, but I won't be visiting again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
3.1

Having stayed in hostels all over Europe & UK, I would say this is the worst hostel I have ever been to. It's not even worth 20% of the money they charge. All the owner wants is money, Shabby maintenance, clumsy and small rooms in-fact the completely building itself is disgusting. Better pay . They have cleverly chosen the pics here so that we dont see the disgusting part. Never would I stay here again or will recommend anyone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.