Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.3

The flight of stairs is really steep. The washrooms are very small , barely can stand in them . Decently clean room . Good connectivity with tram. Staff is super helpful. Good supermarket nearby .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
7.1

Great location, decent staff and facilities. Very happy with the value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
6.6

Overall, my stay was good but I signed up for a mixed dorm and it was me and 7 men for 2/3 nights. I asked the second day if any women would becoming in the room and the staff was helpful they did offer to move me but only to another mixed dorm with all males as the mixed dorms with females were full. Another thing was there was 1 shower and 1 bathroom in my area (4 rooms with 6-8 people in each). There is no common room really so its hard to meet people as a solo traveler. The staff is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
5.7

Security was fine when it came to lock's on the door however the lockers they give you in the room are very small and easy to break into. Location was horrible but a tad too far, the tram was easy to get around the city of Amsterdam itself though so that wasn't a big deal. The staff was very nice! Especially one of the front desk guys, I want to be his friend because he was so sweet. However my bed that was "clean" had pubes and dirt all over it. The bathroom and shower could have been cleaner

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
3.1

We had people coming into our room and taking our beds when they shouldn't have been. They were given card keys to our room. We had 9 people in a room for 8 people. The toilet was ridiculous. Couldn't even close the door properly because my knees were in the way. Main problem was with the other people staying (slamming doors, running around on their floor which caused the floors to squeak and keep me up). Avoid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taiking the time to give your comment. I am sorry that people wake you up because they where moving. This happens in a hostel with diffirent persons because people like to move. I dont understand why you mention 9 persons because our rooms are maximium 8. Sometimes people take other beds because they are confused, but we have 24 hours reception to solve issues like these. Well thanks again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.0

Lots of steep steps. Tram right outside, short journey to the city centre. People were nice and friendly. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
8.6

Great people great company and great location. Best bang for your buck and accessible to anywhere in the city by walking biking or train!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Had a wonderful stay here, the staff were friendly, very safe location, very clean. Overall no problems and would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2017
7.4

Great experience with staff and Hostel but some of the accommodations and facilities were lacking. The bathroom was tiny (your knees will touch the door) and it was often in need of cleaning. If you're not already a bathroom squatter, then you'll have a bad experience. The showers were fine but don't forget shower sandals. The staff was kind and helpful while the rooms were in fairly good condition. Beds and linens were comfortable. The hostel is a 20-30 minute tram ride from downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
5.1

There is luggage storage, but no way to lock up your belongings. The showers have no where to store your towel as you shower and the water backed up within a few minutes of starting your shower. The walls are paper-thin and you can hear people being loud in the halls into the late hours of the night, despite signs stating management would tell them to be quiet. The sheets were old and worn, many with stains on them. Absolutely disgusting. The management was quite nice, all things considered.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.