X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amstel House Hostel Reviews

Waldenserstr. 31, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1437 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very comfy beds, a little bit out of the city but easy walk the the U-line. Very relaxing place NOT a party hostel, would stay here again and would recommend it people wanting to relax a bit!


66%

It was average , they put me in a 4 person room and the other 3 were in a group so that was awkward . The showers were disgusting . And no wifi in the rooms. Wouldn't stay here agai

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel atmosphere. Staff are fun and helpful. A great choice if you like to stay in a lively place, although the hostel location is in a bit of a quiet area.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It was nice to stay in Amstel House, perhaps the wifi could be extended to the room area for those who prefer silence. The room was all right, but some minor changes would have raised its esthetic value (condition of the ceiling, washbasin fawcets). Addition of a small lamps to each bed would be great. The staff was excellent, polite and careful!

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Really nice place. Location is comfortable enough, it's not so far away from the center. You can rent a bike there and very easily get anywhere from the hostel. The price for the bicycles is slightly higher compared to the prices in the rental places downtown though. And I don't recommend taking breakfast if you don't plan to get up early (they ran out of dishes - we came downstairs at 10 and were too late for scrambled eggs). Apart from that it is very comfortable place to stay and quite cheap.


91%

WiFi only in the lobby


97%

If this was just a bit closer to the centre it would be a perfect hostel. But as it is it is great, a short walk from the U-Bahn and great value for money!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was my very first stay at a hostel. EVER. So it was a new experience staying with 3 other people, one of whom had a bad snoring problem. Nevertheless, they kept the quiet periods as well as they could and I did likewise.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It was ok pretty clean nice hostel just made me almost miss a flight because the guy at reception was on the phone and the guys at the bar directed me to someone out side and he said wait at reception... All to get my bags out of the bag room


80%

The wifi didn't work in the 5th floor, where we were sleeping, nevertheless it worked in the reception where there were also some computers to be used by the guests (without paying).


89%

Friendly, clean, and great atmosphere hostel. A little 'out of the way' though so be prepared to walk / catch the underground everyday to sightsee or go out partying

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

We came to hostel, our room was already waoting for us (happy coincidence), pictures online are misleading, rooms are small and kind of prison like feeling. Absolutely no cuttlery (spoons) in kitchen!!! How can that be?

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel has everything you need


89%

A bit far away from everything but still easy to get to with public transport and to share a cab isn't too expensive. Room and showers/toilets were all very clean. Good showers. Had a lot of fun downstairs, bar is open late and it's a great place to meet people. There was a BBQ one night I was there and it was very good value for money. Met so many great people here. I think it would also be good for families or people not looking to party as upstairs is very quiet- I was on the 1st floor.


91%

Great hostel in a good neighborhood, lots of turkish foodshops around. Staff was very helpfull, room was good, as well as the bathroom. Positive that there are plenty of bathrooms. Only complaint is about the noise the spanish people made, but this is smth the hostel can't help. Overall great stay and one of the best hostels I've ever slept in


74%

it's like a big hostel, everything is good, but the wifi only works in the common area.


89%

Me and my friends thought the staff at night were very good and welcoming but the staff that were on during the day were dull and not as nearly as welcoming. Overall it is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are nice and security is very good.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Hostel, Good Location, Friendly Staff


97%

I really enjoyed my stay their. the staff were very nice and helpful. it was one of the neatest hostels i have been to. only problem was there is no wifi in the rooms but that worked out well because you get to meet people in the lobby and common areas.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Small room for 4 people

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback