Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2765 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2765 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • beccijwood6584
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Aug 2017
7.7

A cool, quirky hostel. Very secure, clean and comfortable. Familiarise yourself with the public transport because nothing is reachable by foot but Berlin is so big you'd be using the ubahn even if you were close to the sights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
8.6

Great facilities, friendly staff, clean rooms. But the area of Moabit is very quiet, not much to do there, mostly kebab shops. If you're looking for something more lively it's probably not for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • armaganozturan
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Supercool, friendly staff. Had a very good stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jakeknox2
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.3

Only stayed for one night, but it was good. The kitchen was messy only because no one cleaned up after themselves, the staff were very helpful with anything that I needed. The biggest downside was how far the hostel is away from the main attractions but it was a doable trek. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

For being a massive hostel everything worked perfectly. Nice staff and good facilities. My dorm which was for 12 people was quite big. Even if is not located in the city centre you can get there within 30 minutes by subway or bus. I would happily stay here again. The only bad thing was that under my bed was a little bit dirty so make sure they clean it when you get there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
4.9

Location is really not good, it's not far from the city, about 30 minutes but the area is terrible, there's nothing happening. The kitchen was pretty dirty all the time but the bathroom outside our bedroom was disgusting, it wasn't cleaned for for the first 4 days we were there, there was literally the same patches of hair everywhere and razors left there for days, I did complain about this and they cleaned it but they don't maintain it very well. Staff were ok. Atmosphere not great. 5/10

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.7

I would definitely recommend staying in amstel, it was easy to find, has a play room in the basement which has table tennis table. Morning breakfast was €5.5 whuch was good as well, I got a private room with a bunkbed, toilet and shower was not a problem cz there were many of them on the same floor. Has a bus stop Turmstraße which has connectivity to any where in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Had a great stay at Amstel House, stayed for four nights with a friend in the 4-bed female dorm. Really clean rooms, bathrooms, toilets. The lockers in the rooms were huge so fit all our stuff (remember to bring a padlock). Kitchen really useful, even though it was small it didn't get busy and 3 supermarkets nearby. The atmosphere was great, met some really friendly nice travellers, so I think a great place for solo travellers. We rented bikes from the hostel one day which is a must!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Aug 2017
10.0

A great place to stay. The staff is really nice and cool, very welcoming and excellent atmosphere!! The breakfast they offer is delicious, absolutely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jul 2017
8.9

The staff were friendly and helpful. Although a little out of the centre of berlin the hostel had a great atmosphere. The beds were a little uncomfortable with think mattresses and small pillows. But overall a great place to stay and meet people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.