X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amstel House Hostel Reviews

Waldenserstr. 31, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1511 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Really lovely staff, great hostel, just a bit (very) noisy, and super busy all eek end on evenings, we couldn't get through the door for people checking in!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel. Hostel is situated in the center of town but a little bit outside from main sights of Berlin such as Brandenburg gates, Berlin cathedral and etc. You can get the sights very easily by foot or u-bahn (depends what you want). I think location of hostel is very good you can feel what Berlin is inside, without tourist crowd. Hostel is big, there are many different rooms for your taste. Very convinient lobby with a lot of space. There is a bar where you can drink a beer.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is situated in Moabit, 10 min from metro Turmstr. and with easy access to the center (Mitte). Big social area, billard, table tennis, bar, computers. More than 300 beds, but nice atmosphere, helpful staff and very good value for money.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Service is so good and cheap. Just one small problem that the place to charge phone ist not enough and convienient in lobby.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

If the kitchen is open in the breakfast time(07:00-10:00), that could be better.


66%

I wouldn't stay here again. The beds and bathrooms didn't seem that clean, the bunk beds were metal and squeaked, location not that close to main attractions. Guest kitchen was okay, but not open until 10am...meaning you either paid €5 for their minimal breakfast or went out. I like to cook eggs so that was a disappointment. Also, school groups stay here so it's very loud at night and in morning. Pros=friendly staff, laundry service was awesome (€6), and cheap drinks at happy hour!


80%

Unfortunately WIFI works only in the lobby. Our room was not very warm. The reception staff was friendly and willing to help. Overall we were satisfied with this hostel.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A great basic place to stay. The private rooms are simple but comfortable enough, and clean shared bathrooms. It's a hostel, so there's a student buzz and atmosphere, but there's plenty of tables for sitting and working/socializing, affordable beer, and overall it's a very good deal. Hopefully down the road the wifi might stretch to the rooms, but we've stayed at Amstel before and definitely would again.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed in the standard twin room (shared bathroom) and it looked different than the one in the picture gallery (which seems to be an ensuite one). Our room was less spacious and had metal bunk beds. Which is fine I guess but I was a bit surprised.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is good and excited. It don't have internet on the rooms, just on the living room, I didn't like it!


80%

Bad location but overall a decent hostel which was clean with good facilities


86%

A normal, rather good place to stay.


89%

Hello I enjoyed the staff at reception. Always very helpful and very professional.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Was a nice enough place but the vibe just wasn't the best. Because the hostel is so large it is hard to actually meet new people, which is part of the main attraction of a hostel.


77%

Good hostel, not too far from center. Room's equipment could be newer though, but overall good experience!


80%

Very appealing hostel with a modern look, friendly staff, comfortable beds and good location!


97%

I have no coments it was a great weekend with super breakfast.


69%

The hostel needs a refurbishment, but its too big and busy for this in a row, the heatings were ugly and some sanitares really with charme of the 70th, and there should be time for paint the walls with better colours, sometimes a house needs a litttle break. The beds were very good and You can sleep well, the was staff nice, bud sometimes unskilled and unorganised, the wlan was great and free in the hall, not in the rooms.


83%

The place is pretty big, so it's hard to want to mingle among so many. Happy drinks at 1.50€ made it a bit easier. The rooms were fair, and bathrooms were clean. The staff, both day and night, were very friendly and helpful. it's a few blocks tk any oubkic transportation, but easy enough to get around Berlin by Sbahn/Ubahn and bus.


74%

Amstel house was a fine Hostel but nothing really special. Common kitchen was always filthy and didn't have the best equipment and materials. Rooms were comfortable and provided a great lovable closet with hangers and a shelf. Amstel House were host to a lot of high school groups who were running around the halls at night. Expect a 45 min walk to anything going on in the city otherwise you will need to hop on a bus or metro.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback