Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,217 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,217 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Amstel House Hostel Located at Waldenserstr. 31, , Berlin.
Amstel House Hostel
Germany
Berlin 10551 Waldenserstr. 31
83% 2217
52.5284216 13.3366726
Amstel House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Aug 2016
8.9

Stayed just for the night during connecting flights, but room was clean, staff was friendly and the downstairs hangout area was nice to be in and play some cards over a drink. Location is ideal if you want to be close to Tegel Airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
9.1

This place, with the exception a bit out of center of Berlin, met all my basic requirements. Wifi works well all over the facility. Comfortable bed, clean room and clean bathrooms. The is a vanity sink in the room, and the lockers were large enough to fit your oversize luggage or backpacks. Staff was very helpful and you can store your luggage in basement. Best of all the price was right. Definitely returning when I visit Berlin again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.0

Good hostel. Clean, generally friendly staff and had everything you needed. Wasn't the best location for us as a bit far from where we wanted to go for nights out. But a nice area a couple of bus stops away from the central train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.1

One of the best hostel environment . It's lively always. But I think the hostel staff are friendly(they are), if you are looking for couple of night stays in Berlin . It's one of the best option for you..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.4

I can't really say anything negative about my stay, other than I wish I could have check in earlier. I arrived at 1:30 in the afternoon and did have to wait until 3pm to check in, where at other hostels it hasn't been a problem to check in a little early. On Friday night they grilled hamburgers for the guests (4 Euros for one burger and a drink, 7,50 for all you can eat), which was really good! I met wonderful people and took part of the free tour of on Saturday, which was a decent tour.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

Staff was super helpful and friendly. Beds were memory foam, yumm! I slept so good after a very long trip! The rooms and bathrooms were spotless! Always fun to hang out with other travellers, easy to connect there, the set up promotes interaction. Comfy leather couches! Easy to get to from transpo! Outside the main rush of the city which is nice, but not on the outskirts. Good bbq on Friday nights! Overall rating - Awesome sauce! Whoop whoop!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
5.4

I would say this hostel is overrated. First of all, they apply 'hidden costs approach', e.g. you should pay 1 eur for towels, 2 eur for lockers etc. Also you should take bed linens with you once you've checked in and when you gonna check out, the price of accommodation is not low however. Amenities are quite unfair, for example our window faced the inner yard, where were parties all night long as well as smoking and burgers cooking smells reached us. Only location is good, close to U-Bahn.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Neat looking hostel with a lot of accomodation options, nice and helpful staff and very cozy common room. I loved it how every evening there was a chill-out music and overall good atmosphere! The staff was also helpful and positively-oriented, making the trip and organisation in the big city very easy. The only thing by far that may disturb some people could be minor lack cleaniness, but as we are all travelers anyway, speding most of the time outside of the hostel, it is really not a big deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.4

Really great hostel and good value for money. The location might seem a bit removed from the centre when you look at it on a map but it only took a few minutes on the train from the turmstrasse station. I was out everyday so didn't really use any of the communal areas but everyone else seemed happy with them!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katrinasemple
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.3

Everything was good apart from the breakfast which was €5.50 and "everything you could eat" but after one serving you didn't want to eat any more as it wasn't very nice nor was there much choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.