X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Amstel Riverview Bed & Coffee Reviews

Amsteldijk 22, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
185 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Josh was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We especially liked the coffee! It would be helpful to explain to North Americans where and what to buy for coffee cream-- we are used to cream with 10 to 18% milk fat. The closest we could find was non refrigerated milk in a box (evaporated milk I think) that has 8%. For Amsterdam it was good value to stay at the Amstel Riverview. We also needed a lot of help to use the public transport-- it was very confusing!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 41+


66%

The hostel seemed to be clean, the stuff was really nice and helpful.Unfortunately our two-days stay in this hostel became a nightmare!After the second night we woke up with a lot of bites on our bodies.It was so bad that we had to go with this to the doctor who confirm it's a BEDBUGS bites!In our opinion when you pay 100 euro per night for a room in a hostel you can expect the basics like it will be clean and that you can sleep well without being worried something is gonna eat you at night!!!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This comes as a shock to us. We never had such a complaint before. The guests might have gotten the bugs in a different location and brought them to the room since they only had the problem on the second night. If the bugs were there before their stay, they should have been bitten already on the first night. We wil surely look into this matter very seriously, hire a professional company and solve it accordingly.

80%

Overall, we had a really nice stay. Still, there is something I have to complain about. The organization was very poor - our reservation was missing, so we had to stay in another (awful) hotel for one night - in my opinion things like this just shouldn't happen - or at least you should get alternatively a room in a decent hotel. Other than that, very nice staff, clean and well equipped room. I liked that it was in a typical Amsterdam house - so you get a glimpse at the way people live there..


91%

Excellent place, would stay again.


80%

Very clean and convenient.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

Very small toilet. Not very clean. Very small room

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is great! The staff was very helpfull with us and always kind. The location is great because we can go anywhere to the city from there by walk or bike. :) The room was very quiet, good to relax, and the kitchen was very cleaned and well organised for guests. Definitely, a good place to stay!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback