X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Amstel Riverview Bed & Coffee Reviews

Amsteldijk 22, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
185 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Josh was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We especially liked the coffee! It would be helpful to explain to North Americans where and what to buy for coffee cream-- we are used to cream with 10 to 18% milk fat. The closest we could find was non refrigerated milk in a box (evaporated milk I think) that has 8%. For Amsterdam it was good value to stay at the Amstel Riverview. We also needed a lot of help to use the public transport-- it was very confusing!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 41+


66%

The hostel seemed to be clean, the stuff was really nice and helpful.Unfortunately our two-days stay in this hostel became a nightmare!After the second night we woke up with a lot of bites on our bodies.It was so bad that we had to go with this to the doctor who confirm it's a BEDBUGS bites!In our opinion when you pay 100 euro per night for a room in a hostel you can expect the basics like it will be clean and that you can sleep well without being worried something is gonna eat you at night!!!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This comes as a shock to us. We never had such a complaint before. The guests might have gotten the bugs in a different location and brought them to the room since they only had the problem on the second night. If the bugs were there before their stay, they should have been bitten already on the first night. We wil surely look into this matter very seriously, hire a professional company and solve it accordingly.

80%

Overall, we had a really nice stay. Still, there is something I have to complain about. The organization was very poor - our reservation was missing, so we had to stay in another (awful) hotel for one night - in my opinion things like this just shouldn't happen - or at least you should get alternatively a room in a decent hotel. Other than that, very nice staff, clean and well equipped room. I liked that it was in a typical Amsterdam house - so you get a glimpse at the way people live there..


91%

Excellent place, would stay again.


80%

Very clean and convenient.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

Very small toilet. Not very clean. Very small room

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is great! The staff was very helpfull with us and always kind. The location is great because we can go anywhere to the city from there by walk or bike. :) The room was very quiet, good to relax, and the kitchen was very cleaned and well organised for guests. Definitely, a good place to stay!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Really helpful owner! A great spot for a bit of privacy in amsterdam, a little from the bustle of the city but easily accessible with trams or about 20 minute walk


86%

A very friendly and welcoming hotel. The rooms were spacious and bright. Finally, a fantastic location looking over Amstel River.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We spent a few days there last week and I've got no complaints! We had the floor to ourselves so didn't have to share bathroom&kitchen. Wouldn't have worked well for people travelling by themselves, I guess. So no hostel atmosphere, but quiet, beautiful rooms (ours had a balcony from which we could watch the sunrise above the gracht). We walked almost everwhere in 10 to 20 minutes, no need for taking the tram in Amsterdam's pretty streets.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location, not too far from the city centre. Our room could do with better heating in winter months, the rest of the floor was nicely warm. Excellent restaurant on the opposite side of canal.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

We booked a twin room but were given a double instead and told we couldn't have a twin. We stayed for 5 nights, other than the night we checked in the reception was never open. There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The heating was not on - not great in December. The room was far more run down than the pictures suggest. On the plus side, the location is good and it was clean.


89%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The guest house is a little distance from the centre but it's a nice walk in. There's also a great market close by with lovely places to eat. The view from the top is floor fab! The manager was very kind and accommodating. The bedroom was clean and spacious and he even put in a third bed for us at the last minute. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Amstel Riverview is on a quiet street that would ensure that you have a good rest after a whole day of exploring Amsterdam. Location is good. Not too far from Van Goh and Rijksmuseum. Nearby there are some nice places for food and drinks as well. The staff is friendly and helpful. The facilities are good as well. Importantly, the place is clean. :) Although the stairs up is steep so be careful.


49%

Wij zaten op zolderkamer. Raam was stuk en kon niet dicht. Er is geen vluchtweg aanwezig, dus als er brand uitbreekt, ben je een vogel voor de kat. De wifi werkt niet op zolder.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Location near to museums and heineken experience, not very near to main station and red light district area. Place has a kitchen which has everything you need and excellent view from the room. The guy at reception was really helpful and nice. One of the places we will stay when we come again!


91%

Stayed in a twin share room. Facilities were shared between two other rooms on the floor but no issues with that. No air con in the rooms meaning a bit hot in European summer but still has a pedestal fan. Staff really helpful. Expensive as are most Amsterdam hostels but would definitely stay here again.


77%

if you coming by train you can reach hostel easy by tram and than short walk (you can buy ticket on the tram dont spend hour on train station looking for tram ticket machine as we did). we stayed at standard twin bedroom in the attic, but window was broken so it was very hot even with a ventilator (WiFi didn't work up there either). luckily host was kind and on our request did offer us another room few floors down with river view, bigger,functioning windows, WiFi and all...thank you


94%

Good friendly staff. Room and facilities were good. Only bad points were the road outside was being "dug up" therefore diffeicult to access for parking. The roadworks not really fault of the hotel. However, the stairs leading to the 'first' floor were exceptionally steep; If you have any disability or have problems with any kindof stairs I would reconsider booking. Overall pleasant.


86%

The room was nice and big! Very clean with friendly staff! So happy it is smoke free! Stairs are like climbing Ayers rock in Australia so wasnt a problem for us! Wifi didnt work in our room so spent time in the hallway as there is no sitting room! Roads works out front spoil the atmosphere and experience of being along the canal. Nicer being out of central amsterdam.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(88 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback