X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amstel Riverview Bed & Coffee Reviews

Amsteldijk 22, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
169 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hostel is great! The staff was very helpfull with us and always kind. The location is great because we can go anywhere to the city from there by walk or bike. :) The room was very quiet, good to relax, and the kitchen was very cleaned and well organised for guests. Definitely, a good place to stay!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really helpful owner! A great spot for a bit of privacy in amsterdam, a little from the bustle of the city but easily accessible with trams or about 20 minute walk


86%

A very friendly and welcoming hotel. The rooms were spacious and bright. Finally, a fantastic location looking over Amstel River.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We spent a few days there last week and I've got no complaints! We had the floor to ourselves so didn't have to share bathroom&kitchen. Wouldn't have worked well for people travelling by themselves, I guess. So no hostel atmosphere, but quiet, beautiful rooms (ours had a balcony from which we could watch the sunrise above the gracht). We walked almost everwhere in 10 to 20 minutes, no need for taking the tram in Amsterdam's pretty streets.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location, not too far from the city centre. Our room could do with better heating in winter months, the rest of the floor was nicely warm. Excellent restaurant on the opposite side of canal.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

We booked a twin room but were given a double instead and told we couldn't have a twin. We stayed for 5 nights, other than the night we checked in the reception was never open. There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The heating was not on - not great in December. The room was far more run down than the pictures suggest. On the plus side, the location is good and it was clean.


89%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The guest house is a little distance from the centre but it's a nice walk in. There's also a great market close by with lovely places to eat. The view from the top is floor fab! The manager was very kind and accommodating. The bedroom was clean and spacious and he even put in a third bed for us at the last minute. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Amstel Riverview is on a quiet street that would ensure that you have a good rest after a whole day of exploring Amsterdam. Location is good. Not too far from Van Goh and Rijksmuseum. Nearby there are some nice places for food and drinks as well. The staff is friendly and helpful. The facilities are good as well. Importantly, the place is clean. :) Although the stairs up is steep so be careful.


49%

Wij zaten op zolderkamer. Raam was stuk en kon niet dicht. Er is geen vluchtweg aanwezig, dus als er brand uitbreekt, ben je een vogel voor de kat. De wifi werkt niet op zolder.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Location near to museums and heineken experience, not very near to main station and red light district area. Place has a kitchen which has everything you need and excellent view from the room. The guy at reception was really helpful and nice. One of the places we will stay when we come again!


91%

Stayed in a twin share room. Facilities were shared between two other rooms on the floor but no issues with that. No air con in the rooms meaning a bit hot in European summer but still has a pedestal fan. Staff really helpful. Expensive as are most Amsterdam hostels but would definitely stay here again.


77%

if you coming by train you can reach hostel easy by tram and than short walk (you can buy ticket on the tram dont spend hour on train station looking for tram ticket machine as we did). we stayed at standard twin bedroom in the attic, but window was broken so it was very hot even with a ventilator (WiFi didn't work up there either). luckily host was kind and on our request did offer us another room few floors down with river view, bigger,functioning windows, WiFi and all...thank you


94%

Good friendly staff. Room and facilities were good. Only bad points were the road outside was being "dug up" therefore diffeicult to access for parking. The roadworks not really fault of the hotel. However, the stairs leading to the 'first' floor were exceptionally steep; If you have any disability or have problems with any kindof stairs I would reconsider booking. Overall pleasant.


86%

The room was nice and big! Very clean with friendly staff! So happy it is smoke free! Stairs are like climbing Ayers rock in Australia so wasnt a problem for us! Wifi didnt work in our room so spent time in the hallway as there is no sitting room! Roads works out front spoil the atmosphere and experience of being along the canal. Nicer being out of central amsterdam.


71%

Amstel Riverview was close to many attractions such as the Van Gogh museum & Heineken brewery as well as a market. It was only a few stops on the tram to reach the red light district. Overall, the beds were not very comfortable and the room was very small in comparison to other rooms we saw. The walls are very thin and we could hear pretty much anyone that was moving around in the hallway.

  • 28th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great friendly staff who helped us take our bags up the very steep stairs. River view from our room - beautiful!


94%

Great value for the money. Pretty spacious room and it was awesome having a balcony overlooking the river. It was perfect for my boyfriend and I, but I wouldn't recommend it for single travelers looking to meet people or those looking to party at the hostel. A bit out of the way when it comes to the Red Light District, but it's not a bad distance if you can figure out the metro. Walking distance from the Heineken Brewery and Rike Museum.


60%

The walls were paper-thin. I could hear everything once the other guests woke up or even walked through the corridor. It was not specified that there is a shared bathroom and the other guests took a very long time showering. The bed was also rather lumpy and not very comfortable to sleep in. It was however a decent location, although there was a charge for using my credit card to pay that also was not specified in the advertisement.


94%

The only negative was the amount of stairs we had to ascend to our room! My friend and I only had small backpacks though so it was not too bad. The room was nice, clean, decent-wi fi, the price was right, and I really liked the comparative calmness of the area as a whole. Recommended!

  • 23rd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff was very helpful. The view was beatiful but the hostel was a bit far away from the city centre. The room and the bathroom were very clean. During our stay, they don't tidy the room or change the towels. It would be better if every room have a private bathroom. Doesn't have a very good relation between the quality and the price.

  • 31st Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback