X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amstel Riverview Bed & Coffee Reviews

Amsteldijk 22, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
209 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I enjoyed my stay here! The room we had was very cute and overlooked the river. The hostel was easily accessed by taking the tram, and we were able to walk to attractions like the Heineken tour. There are lots of steep stairs to get to the room, but luckily we only had backpacks which made this manageable.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It took us a while to find the hostel but once we arrived we were welcomed by the host. The room had plenty of space and included two windows which opened wide. Air conditioning would be a great improvement to the room though. The shower was good and the toilet. The signposting to the hostel could be a little better but overall we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam. Just buy a tram ticket and don't try and walk to the centre, you'll probably end up lost.


46%

There are very very steep stairs to get to the actual hotel-would not recommend if you have large bag. The place to check in is a small room with a computer and printer. When trying to pay, the manager was using an ipad app that was slow to use. The hotel is basically a rented out apartment. The bathrooms are communal one has a shower but no toilet, the other is just a toilet and a tiny sink where water gets evergwhere. Not worth more than €80 a night, but that's not the rate.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A great hostel! A little bit out of central Amsterdam in De Pijp, but the neighbourhood was great to get a feel of the local culture and the markets nearby were good places to eat! The hostel was clean, with a pretty spacious room. The shower and toilet are separated and there isn't much space to place anything, so keep that in mind when choosing shower times! Having individual keys to your room is great though, and the staff were always nice when prompted with questions.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Stayed here for one night. Easy to catch the tram from nearby. Pleasant stay.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

I throughly enjoyed my stay at Amstel Riverview. It's situated in a great location just outside of central amsterdam but is only about a half an hour walk or quick team ride away. The staff were excellent, proving us with a map on Ativan and pointing out he main tourist attractions and how to get there. I would definitely stay here again, great value for money, warm atmosphere. The only dislike would be carrying my suitcase up those dreaded amsterdam style stairs!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The room was unfortunately not with a river view, but it was, nonetheless, nice and warm. My only complaint would be the beds. They were comfortable, but not very sturdy. By just sitting on it, it would sweep several centimeters across the floor (and I weigh just 50 kg). Any other activities in the bed were a challenge, to say the least :)


60%

Very small room , far from the center , didn't have riverview room and stairs up was nightmare 😫

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Josh was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We especially liked the coffee! It would be helpful to explain to North Americans where and what to buy for coffee cream-- we are used to cream with 10 to 18% milk fat. The closest we could find was non refrigerated milk in a box (evaporated milk I think) that has 8%. For Amsterdam it was good value to stay at the Amstel Riverview. We also needed a lot of help to use the public transport-- it was very confusing!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 41+


66%

The hostel seemed to be clean, the stuff was really nice and helpful.Unfortunately our two-days stay in this hostel became a nightmare!After the second night we woke up with a lot of bites on our bodies.It was so bad that we had to go with this to the doctor who confirm it's a BEDBUGS bites!In our opinion when you pay 100 euro per night for a room in a hostel you can expect the basics like it will be clean and that you can sleep well without being worried something is gonna eat you at night!!!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This comes as a shock to us. We never had such a complaint before. The guests might have gotten the bugs in a different location and brought them to the room since they only had the problem on the second night. If the bugs were there before their stay, they should have been bitten already on the first night. We wil surely look into this matter very seriously, hire a professional company and solve it accordingly.

91%

There is a common kitchen in the hostel. This is nice but unfortunatelly it is situated between the rooms, with no windows or any proper ventilation. When people cook it stinks like crazy in all the rooms. This wasn't even a very hot time of the year so I wonder how unbearable it must be in summer. Please note that the stairs to the rooms are VERY steep (as everywhere in Amsterdam) so if you have a heavy bag or leg / knee issues you might have a problem going up.


80%

Overall, we had a really nice stay. Still, there is something I have to complain about. The organization was very poor - our reservation was missing, so we had to stay in another (awful) hotel for one night - in my opinion things like this just shouldn't happen - or at least you should get alternatively a room in a decent hotel. Other than that, very nice staff, clean and well equipped room. I liked that it was in a typical Amsterdam house - so you get a glimpse at the way people live there..


91%

Excellent place, would stay again.


80%

Very clean and convenient.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

Very small toilet. Not very clean. Very small room

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is great! The staff was very helpfull with us and always kind. The location is great because we can go anywhere to the city from there by walk or bike. :) The room was very quiet, good to relax, and the kitchen was very cleaned and well organised for guests. Definitely, a good place to stay!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really helpful owner! A great spot for a bit of privacy in amsterdam, a little from the bustle of the city but easily accessible with trams or about 20 minute walk


86%

A very friendly and welcoming hotel. The rooms were spacious and bright. Finally, a fantastic location looking over Amstel River.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We spent a few days there last week and I've got no complaints! We had the floor to ourselves so didn't have to share bathroom&kitchen. Wouldn't have worked well for people travelling by themselves, I guess. So no hostel atmosphere, but quiet, beautiful rooms (ours had a balcony from which we could watch the sunrise above the gracht). We walked almost everwhere in 10 to 20 minutes, no need for taking the tram in Amsterdam's pretty streets.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location, not too far from the city centre. Our room could do with better heating in winter months, the rest of the floor was nicely warm. Excellent restaurant on the opposite side of canal.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(97 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback