Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 2,278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 2,278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.4
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Located at Leidsekruistraat 14, , Amsterdam.
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
Netherlands
Amsterdam Leidsekruistraat 14
64% 2278
52.3637949 4.8852682
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
4.6

Would not recommend... The staff upon check in were extremely disorganized and rude after eventually making our way and unpacking in our room we explored the town. On return to the room we found all of our stuff gone. The staff had moved it all to another room without updating us or permission. our bags were also unlocked and beleived to have been looked through. Lastly the room was boiling hot with no fan or window that opened so was shocking to sleep in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
4.3

The guy on reception was the only great thing about this hostel! Very funny and friendly. No lift but very steep stairs and disgusting bathroom, showers and toilets. Only up point was great location, an OK kitchen and breakfast included, even if it was just bread and chocolate spread.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.9

Great location for the museums, parks and coffee shops! Staff were very friendly and helpful! Unfortunately very overpriced!!! However everything in Amsterdam is. Facilities were clean but the kitchen lacked a cooker which was not a good surprise. No washing machine but a dry cleaners round the corner. Facilities to rent bikes were great! Computers in the sitting area were a handy surprise. Weirdly not the most social of hostels but maybe it was just a quiet weekend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
5.7

Room was really small! Bed and pillow was really uncomfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, staff very helpful and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samskinner
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2016
7.4

The best part about the place is the location. For any young people traveling to Amsterdam, this place is a good fit. It was a little pricey for the quality of housing. But overall it was a good place to stay. There is one staff member named John Sol Sun who is a good guy to talk to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
3.1

This was by far the worst hostel I have ever been to. At the same time it was also the most expensive and biggest waste of money that I have ever spent on a hostel. I would never recommend this place to anyone. The facility is tiny and I didn't feel extremely secure. There are no lockers in the rooms and it is easy for people to leave doors unlocked. The room reminded me of a prison cell, I really felt like that's where I was staying. The bathrooms are tiny and there are only a few of them.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
5.1

Do not stay here. The staff is terrible. I came back into my room the first night with someone in my bed, so I had to switch rooms at 2 in the morning. The man at the desk tried to act like it was my fault. It's also gross.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
7.1

Bring your ear plugs! We had a 4-person suite that was right above a venue that had live music playing every night until about 3 or 4 in the morning. A lot of street noise too, but we had to keep the windows open since we were there in the summer time. Great location though! Ton of restaurants around and very close to the Rijksmuseum & Heineken Brewery.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
7.4

Bit of a walk from some good coffeeshops but didn't mind as Amsterdam is a lovely city to walk through. Bathroom didn't have soap but was corrected when said to staff and staff were relatively sound in general. Internet wasn't too strong on third floor but didn't mind as rooms were nice and cosy. This hostel was certainly good value for the price we paid(18 quid a night).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.