X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Reviews

Leidsekruistraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
2126 Total Reviews
  • 53%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Very very well located, easy to get to lots of interesting places without public transit but the hostel itself isn't much more than a place to sleep. Breakfast is sliced bread with no toaster.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good hostel with a good atmosphere.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

the worst place i have seen in my life


46%

Skip this one and the uptown hostel, way too crapy.


91%

The hostel was pleasant . the staff was very professional and always available to answer our questions (especially the guy on reception who kindly welcome us at 15 : 00) . We stay 17 august to 20 august 2015. The room n°20 was big and the bathroom clean. The breakfeast was enough to start the day with energy !

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The room was very congested , no place to stand ...only sleeping was possible


34%

While Hostel Orfeo is probably one of the cheapest places in town to stay, and you do get this feeling, they're facility's aren't disgraceful. The one thing that made the whole experience really sub par was to two blokes working on the reception desk. I normally don't care if someone is disinterested in their job, but these just seemed pissed off every time they had to help or talk to anyone. and when they did they weren't much help... I'd not recommend this place ever and would not stay again.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

WIFI is a bit slow but functional, not working on the second night, had to go to their sister hostel on the next block. Charged 60 euros per night for two nights. The bed is like the third world factory dormitory, you can see the spring from the up bed. One sink + mirror + bed, nothing else. Whole floor shared one bath and toilet, no ventilation, no window. Morning staffs are unfamiliar with city but friendly and try to help. Breakfast is toast, jam, nutella + coffee + tea.


46%

The hostel had no room to move between the bunks. No wardrobes or any form of safe storage. The 'complementary breakfast' is a loaf of bread, and the kitchen is a microwave and sink. The toilets and shshower are extremely unhygenic. Moreove for these terrible facilities you are expected to pay far more tgan an average hostel, AND the hostel world deposit on the booking is ignored aand must babe paid again. Finally an unnecessary hold on my card has been placed AFTER I checked out.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have a safe at the reception which we probably told you about when you checked in. The breakfast is for free and not many hostels around offer you a breakfast . The Hostelworld deposit is not ignored but apparently you ignored “The Terms & conditions which says that a 5 % city tax shall be added to the total amount (which is the amount with deposit already taken off ). the staff

74%

This hostel was about average. The beds were alright, bathrooms were rudimentary, but clean, no lockers so I was a little worried about my bags, and the breakfast was not good at all (bread, peanut butter, jam). The only thing this hostel had going for it was it's proximity to the center of the city (15 minute walk). The people there were really nice and we all made the most out of the basic social area. In summary, this hostel doesn't have anything that really justifies the extremely high price

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff were very friendly, especially Bila (I think that was his name). Such a gentleman. Rooms felt safe and for my first time hostelling this was a good experience. Lots of comments complaining about breakfast and location. The hostel is central to everything, 10-15mins walk to everywhere and I love pb&j sandwiches. At least they're feeding you. Highly recommended!


57%

Very expensive for what was offered. Room was super hot and WiFi was terrible in our room Staff were very helpful though


37%

no lockers, so security was non existant. it was SO hot, significantly hottter than outside. The window wouldn't open, so there was no air flow in our room either. The bathroom and shower were gross. We had one toilet and one shower between 15 people on my floor.


49%

Summer in Amsterdam is so hot, and there is no air conditioner in hostel. The three-bed room we lived cannot take a shower. The tolite is not available in every floor and we have to go downstair for toliet.


60%

There was no Aircon or fans in the room so it was uncomfortably hot during the stay, there was no wifi on the top floor, there are no lockers in the room so you have to give all of your things to the front desk staff which is annoying. The breakfast is just literally toast and peanut butter, not even a toaster. For over $50 a night, I expected more.”


46%

Terrible experience. It is crazy hot during the summer. I wish they would sell the 2 communal computers and buy at least ONE fan for the entire building. At night, they close the front doors and it becomes an oven. On each floor, there is one disgusting bathroom and one disgusting shower for 5 or 6 rooms, about 30 people or so. There are stains on the bedroom walls. There is graffiti in the bathroom. Everyone was miserable there. It's way too cramped, 6 people couldn't all stand in our 6 bed.


63%

Beds are fine, shower was awful, hardly got any sleep due to the busy noisy street outside

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

We enyoed our stay at orfeo, staff was very friendly, but the rooms very tiny and hot. Waking up was not a pleasant experience but tjen again you can think of it as a free sauna. Also there were a lot of people on one shower and toilet. But since the location was good an the staff were very nice so I still had a good expirience.


86%

Near everything, easy to get around by tram or bike!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

awesome location, only one toilet and shower per floor though. very tight staircase to carry suitcase up. beds need a better mattress


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback