Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 2388 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 2388 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
4.6

The common areas seemed nice enough, but the rooms weren't up to par. The bathroom was so tiny a person couldn't sit on the toilet and the shower sprayed water all over the floor with no drainage - so it stayed damp & water got tracked around the suite. When housekeeping changed the fitted sheet after a guest left, they left the same bedspread on the bed for the next person to sleep under - kinda defeats the purpose of changing the sheets, don't you think? Plus, super gross stains on the wall.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Palestine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
4.0

More expensive than it deserve No closets in the rooms The showers were not working The location was so annoying at night The breakfast was awful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
5.4

The staff was really friendly, and the location was wonderful, but the whole vibe of the hostel was off... and it was way overpriced for the one night I stayed. There aren't any lockers in the rooms and the bunk beds didn't have ladders to climb up on so that made it uncomfortable to step over someone else while they were asleep. I honestly would not recommend this hostel to someone looking for a place with good energy and a friendly atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.7

The location is the best part, it's right near tons of bars and restaurants. I walked to everywhere. It was mostly clean, there was some gum on the wall next to my bed though. Price was somewhat high, but mostly understandable for the location on a weekend. Staff was friendly as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
6.0

Unfortunately you can only pay cash and the breakfast is really unhealthy. There are only tho options: cheap peanutbutter and chocolate Creme - minus. The location is 15min away from the center - plus! All in all: if you are looking for a cheap stay in the center it's ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
10.0

The place is located right in the central Amsterdam. 15 minutes walk away from Dam square, Ann'a Frank Huis and museum of Amsterdam. Maybe around 30 minutes away from centraal station and the science museum. The staff are very helpful. Yusuf at the reception who checked us in was really helpful giving us information about the hostel as well as the city and where to visit.. The hostel was very clean especially the toilets at all times and the shared breakfast area was rather quite and offere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
5.1

Bathroom was nasty, only one staff member was helpful/nice, overall creepy environment. Great location was the only positive to our stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
4.0

Location was great, close to bars and places to eat. Only one friendly member of staff who we saw in the evenings. The male who we dealt with during the day was very rude and had no time for us. There wasn't a great atmosphere in this hostel. The decor was shabby, our room on the top floor was freezing cold with a draft coming through the window. Blood stains on the shower (which didn't work), bedding was old, mattresses so thin we all left with backache. Wouldn't recommend this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.7

This hostel is great for the traveler on a budget. Not a good hostel for communal meeting whilst drinking but very cheap. You get what you pay for :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
8.0

I enjoyed my stay here. The directions were't really how to get there so do a little research. The area is a little touristy but can get away from it in a minute. The street is pretty loud so bring ear plugs because the pub underneath can get loud. Walking distance to all the areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.