Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 2368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 2368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 5.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
5.1

Bathroom was nasty, only one staff member was helpful/nice, overall creepy environment. Great location was the only positive to our stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
4.0

Location was great, close to bars and places to eat. Only one friendly member of staff who we saw in the evenings. The male who we dealt with during the day was very rude and had no time for us. There wasn't a great atmosphere in this hostel. The decor was shabby, our room on the top floor was freezing cold with a draft coming through the window. Blood stains on the shower (which didn't work), bedding was old, mattresses so thin we all left with backache. Wouldn't recommend this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.7

This hostel is great for the traveler on a budget. Not a good hostel for communal meeting whilst drinking but very cheap. You get what you pay for :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
8.0

I enjoyed my stay here. The directions were't really how to get there so do a little research. The area is a little touristy but can get away from it in a minute. The street is pretty loud so bring ear plugs because the pub underneath can get loud. Walking distance to all the areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.9

This hostel was fine, in a good location and cheap so it was okay. The staff aren't great, there was no laundry so we asked where the closest laundry mat was and they didn't know and it was literally right around the corner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
5.7

- Stayed here for 6 days over New Years (longer than most average days stay in Amsterdam) - Security was very good - have a room where they store your goods and valuables - Location was great (central to restaurants, coffee shops, cheap food, various bars, nightclubs, and museums) - Majority of the staff were friendly to casually talk too and are willing help out in any way possible - FREE BREAKFAST INCLUDES BREAD WITH SPREAD AND TEA AND COFFEE - Can only pay with cash, NO CREDIT CARDS

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
3.7

People of the place just care for money but isnt efficient, too expensive on holidays. And the staff was always mad, dont come back

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
8.0

Nice location and helpful staff. However what came as a disappointment was the fact that this 4 floored hostel has no lifts and super tiny spiral stairs. So if you book the cheapest beds (like me) you'll have to climb up and down all the time! As for kitchen, they just have a microwave and basic utensils. Also the breakfast is very simple consisting of bread (Brown and white) and spreads (chocolate, peanut butter, jam). There r better hostels available at same price with better facilities!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aussiejake
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.9

Not to bad for a budget hostel in Amsterdam. Staff were lovely and accommodating, the security isn't too tight, with no in room locker and easy access through reception. Room wasn't too bad, and breakfast in the morning of bread was in a nice atmosphere. Overall was an good way to be thrown into my first hostel experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
4.6

Very bad athomesphere and bad managing of the structure. It smells horrible, the spaces are too small and some of the perons Who word there are very impolite! I definetely won't recomend it! For the same price we found much better places!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.