Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 2432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 2432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
4.6

I have given a low rating due to the unfriendly staff who complained about the city (not what you want to hear when you're excited to visit) and other guests behind their back. They do not value their customers at all - they rudely insisted I pay to store a suitcase in the secure room after check out because I wasn't a guest despite having stayed there three nights. There is also tax to be added to the already high cost of the hostel - misleading! Also they don't clean the sheets for new people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2017
5.7

The person behind the reception was extremely rude when we arrived, making negative comments not only about the previous guests, the country they came from but also about Amsterdam and how he couldn't wait to leave Europe. I overheard another receptionist being rude about other guests too, this judgemental atmosphere totally ruined the hostel for me. I felt that I didn't want to sit in the dining area for fear of being judged and later talked about to other guests. Not worth the money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
7.1

Tons of restaurants/"coffeeshops" nearby and 30 min walk from central station so you can get to pretty much anywhere in the core of the city in a brief walk. I rented a bike for an afternoon to see further sights(Voldepark, Van Gogh). Room had 3 bunk beds, smelled a bit like BO. The shower for our room was broken but there was a communal shower. Breakfast is coffee and PB&J sandwiches, wifi works well, closet to check luggage. Not luxurious but good value for money and location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Jul 2017
5.4

Far from value for money. Rooms and bathroom were okay but definitely not worth the price. Taxes are also added on so you have to waste more money. Breakfast was bread and tea or coffee, very average. For the price we could've got a private double room elsewhere. Location was convinient for attractions but we had to get the tram to central station with our bags. Although Amsterdam was expensive, this was the biggest rip off

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
5.4

Really good location but not great cooking facilities, really hot stuffy rooms, bathroom light broke and no one fixed it. Most residents stoner guys travelling on their own.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2017
8.0

I enjoyed my first time staying at hostel orfeo. The staff were great and very helpful .and hope to come back later this year.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jun 2017
6.6

The concept of "kitchen" Is limited to a microwave

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • khoff026
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.3

Saturday night was really expensive to pay, and not worth all that money. But staff were very friendly, it was clean and in a nice location. There was tea and coffee for everyone staying there all day:). Only one plug point in each dorm room which was a problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2017
6.0

The pros: comfy beds, free WiFi, free tea and coffee, kind of a self-service kitchen (you could make sandwiches or noodles but probably not a good hot meal), very close to coffeeshops, restaurants, groceries, transport, everything you need. The cons: VERY overpriced if you book online just in advance, would recommend calling up or walking in for a cheaper price. We actually saw walkins paying half of what we did! Not super clean, bathroom facilities need servicing, no personal lockers. Just ok.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jun 2017
3.4

Worst hostel ever! Where to start... the staff was really rude, the rooms small, cramped and they didn't even provide sheets for the bed. Only a thick coverlet that made you sweat at night in that hot room. Only one bathroom and shower per floor and no lockers. I made a reservation and they charged me €10 more than people that just went straight to ask for a room that same day. The breakfast was awful. It was the most expensive hostel I've been to, and the worst by far. They make you pay in cash

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.