Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 2403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 2403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
3.1

There are practically no redeeming qualities to discuss about hostel Orfeo. We arrive only to find out they only accept cash, are nickel and diming us over running water and towels. Unacceptable for the price they charge!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
3.7

A really bad hostel. The private room was basically nothing and the entire floor had one toilet and shower. and there was no water in the shower and the toilet was not working. One toilet bt doesn't work. The breakfast was just bread and jam/peanut butter. For the price they charge it is really a bad bad place

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • albertchavez072149
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th May 2017
10.0

The front desk guy really made this stay the best throughout my trip super funny and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
4.3

You get what you pay for. Great location but the staff are all kids who don't care, accept cash only, and the patrons talk till 3 AM. I know it's a hostel but yeesh.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
4.6

The common areas seemed nice enough, but the rooms weren't up to par. The bathroom was so tiny a person couldn't sit on the toilet and the shower sprayed water all over the floor with no drainage - so it stayed damp & water got tracked around the suite. When housekeeping changed the fitted sheet after a guest left, they left the same bedspread on the bed for the next person to sleep under - kinda defeats the purpose of changing the sheets, don't you think? Plus, super gross stains on the wall.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
4.9

The entire floor stank of sewage, despite the toilet being replaced randomly one morning. The beds, building everything was pretty decrepit. There was one very poor and grubby shower for the entire hostel as far as I could tell, and it blocked. All of this I wouldn't have minded at all, if I hadn't been charged over €100 per night for a shared dorm. In fairness, the staff were great and they put a lot of effort into keeping the place clean and helping people out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Palestine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
4.0

More expensive than it deserve No closets in the rooms The showers were not working The location was so annoying at night The breakfast was awful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
5.4

The staff was really friendly, and the location was wonderful, but the whole vibe of the hostel was off... and it was way overpriced for the one night I stayed. There aren't any lockers in the rooms and the bunk beds didn't have ladders to climb up on so that made it uncomfortable to step over someone else while they were asleep. I honestly would not recommend this hostel to someone looking for a place with good energy and a friendly atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.7

The location is the best part, it's right near tons of bars and restaurants. I walked to everywhere. It was mostly clean, there was some gum on the wall next to my bed though. Price was somewhat high, but mostly understandable for the location on a weekend. Staff was friendly as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
6.0

Unfortunately you can only pay cash and the breakfast is really unhealthy. There are only tho options: cheap peanutbutter and chocolate Creme - minus. The location is 15min away from the center - plus! All in all: if you are looking for a cheap stay in the center it's ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.