X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Reviews

Leidsekruistraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
2030 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

beds must be in better condition


63%

Location is great, but the smell in the room was awful. Everything else was ok, no more or less.


43%

Staff people are not nice at all. They asked me more money than what HostelWorld says. Location it's kind of far from downtown. Boring atmosphere.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Geust, We never ask more money, we just ad the city tax according to terms/conditions, we are located in the middle of the centre, just check google maps. Maybe next time. Greetings

80%

Hostel was clean and in a good location. The staff was super friendly and a good crack. The beds were the worst I've seen. Extremely uncomfortable


77%

Allstaff really friendly, handy location, bars, cafes restaurants inclose proximity. Rooms littletight for 6beds, place is fairly clearn, needsadeep clean-marks onwalls etc


94%

The Staff the reception was really nice, they help us about how to arrive to everycorner in the city, Orfeo was a really great hostel during our days in Amsterdam, because of the people that manage the place.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A great hostel as far as hostels go. I think the bad reviews are from people expecting a hotel


77%

Séjour très mal commencer arriver à 6h du matin nous n'avons que la chambre à 12h alors qu'on nous a dis 10h et tu avais l'impression de les déranger. mais au final ça a fini par ce détendre et nous avons passer une séjour plus que super les sourire ce son afficher sur certain personnel et des discutions tres sympa ce son ouverte je n'est pas de nom mais le monsieur qui faisait le ménage et Bali me semble t-il un blond marocain à l'accueil. GARDER LE SOURIRE VOUS ÊTRE GÉNIAL :D on reviendra ;)

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • gwendolinelejeune19946014
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

they totally over priced because of the ADE fastival. the guy at the reciption asked for 130 euros (!!!) for a night when usually it 10. i understand that amsterdam was full during that time but come on, i booked a night for 35 in an amazing hostel called stay okay and it was amazing there.


57%

Some staff were helpful however there were two much older men who were not staying in the hostel there on a few occasions and they were annoying a woman one evening. Staff did nothing about this which was a disgrace. The lady was upset and nothing was done even though she was staying at the hostel and did complain.


71%

The room is too small for 4 persons and stair is too narrow.


60%

No lockers and the location is far enough from the train station to take a cab or some sort of motor transport. The staff was not super friendly but still will help you get where you need to go.


83%

Amazing location, central to everything! On a busy street that has loud music until early hours of the morning, but that didn't bother us! Small bathroom but has everything you need!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I totally loved staying in this place . The staff are amazing , so helpful , welcoming and fun , they were never false or patronizing ...... I have stayed in a lot of hostels and this was the best , the facilities are comensurate with the price and not unreasonable for Amsterdam . One word of advice though , it it not a quiet area , with restaurants , bars and bands playing all around and a coffee shop just around the corner sitting at the side of a canal ! Singles , couples or groups go here!


69%

Didn't clean the bathroom the whole time we were there. The staff was friendly but not a very good common room space for guests. Great location!


63%

First of all the location is amazing ....WiFi doesn't work in rooms!... I was with my girlfriend and they gave us bunk beds!!.. cleaning staff was rude doesn't know how to behave with guests!.... According to money not worth it!...there are so many other hostels you can look for!..... For one is this place is fine.


80%

Stayed there for 5 nights, then extended another 2 nights!Nice hostel with a good location close to lots of restaurants and bars... And coffee shops! :-D

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is in a good area near Vodel Prk and the Rijkmusem. Its only about a five minute walk to the red light district but a little bit out of the chaos of it. The staff is helpful.


80%

The staff was super nice and helpful, location is just perfect - I loved going out and finding myself right at the canal, the street was full of people so I felt very safe even alone in the night. Breakfast included in the price was a nice touch. The bathroom was big and shared by 10 people, which is not the worst I have seen. There were no lockers in the room, but there was a possibility to keep your valuables safe at the reception. Overall, it is simple, but really ok for few nights.


77%

Not the most modern or stylish of hostel, but it's a reasonable price, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom and rooms are clean and the location is pretty good for central Amsterdam. Can't really complain overall!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback