X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Reviews

Leidsekruistraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
2103 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Very expensive for what was offered. Room was super hot and WiFi was terrible in our room Staff were very helpful though


37%

no lockers, so security was non existant. it was SO hot, significantly hottter than outside. The window wouldn't open, so there was no air flow in our room either. The bathroom and shower were gross. We had one toilet and one shower between 15 people on my floor.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Summer in Amsterdam is so hot, and there is no air conditioner in hostel. The three-bed room we lived cannot take a shower. The tolite is not available in every floor and we have to go downstair for toliet.


60%

There was no Aircon or fans in the room so it was uncomfortably hot during the stay, there was no wifi on the top floor, there are no lockers in the room so you have to give all of your things to the front desk staff which is annoying. The breakfast is just literally toast and peanut butter, not even a toaster. For over $50 a night, I expected more.”


46%

Terrible experience. It is crazy hot during the summer. I wish they would sell the 2 communal computers and buy at least ONE fan for the entire building. At night, they close the front doors and it becomes an oven. On each floor, there is one disgusting bathroom and one disgusting shower for 5 or 6 rooms, about 30 people or so. There are stains on the bedroom walls. There is graffiti in the bathroom. Everyone was miserable there. It's way too cramped, 6 people couldn't all stand in our 6 bed.


63%

Beds are fine, shower was awful, hardly got any sleep due to the busy noisy street outside

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

We enyoed our stay at orfeo, staff was very friendly, but the rooms very tiny and hot. Waking up was not a pleasant experience but tjen again you can think of it as a free sauna. Also there were a lot of people on one shower and toilet. But since the location was good an the staff were very nice so I still had a good expirience.


86%

Near everything, easy to get around by tram or bike!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

awesome location, only one toilet and shower per floor though. very tight staircase to carry suitcase up. beds need a better mattress


66%

Useful if you're only going to use the hostel for what it was intended for. Sleep. Small rooms and rickety beds, but it was very well priced, especially as it was Amsterdam


89%

The staff is amazing. This was my first hostel stay and the management at night is awesome! The guy is hilarious and very accommodating! The beds were decent and clean. The bathroom and shower was also pretty clean so overall very nice hostel and maintained very well. Wasn't very loud either! Great location as well :) *I would book in person though because you might get better rates!

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

my stay in amsterdam was so good the hostel is in very nice place within lot of people the staf is very nice.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

the hostel is located in an amazing place the staff is always kind the rooms are nice decorated and clean.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very helpful staff, great location


83%

Only stayed for a night but wish I stayed longer! The atmosphere was great, the main lobby is big and welcoming which makes it easy to meet people. It's a short walk from Dam Square and most of the city's attractions. The staff was friendly or playfully sarcastic and I always felt secure. Each bed did not have its own outlet which was a bit inconvenient. The other guests in my room may have been a little rude but there's not much the hostel can do about that.


97%

My stay at orfeo was perfect the location is amazing middle of the night life and alot of restuarant, the staf is always kind and helpfull.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The location is amazing did like the atmosphere and the so many satff with different culture they are nice and the best staff, thanks salius. See you next time,

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Too overpriced for what it is (friday 40 euros and saturday 100 euros for a mix 12 bed room during spring) The only good point that this place had was the location. What to know: - They overcharge you a 5% for paying with card (debit or credit) - The bed pillow and matrass smelled horrible and the bed structure was deformed so one of the supports for the matress was hurting my back all the time. - There weren't lockers to keep safe your stuff - No power point near the bed

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Hey guys, Stayed with you twice and will be back


69%

Well situated! That's about all. The breakfast isn't anything to rave about, but hey, it's free. Chaps at the desk are awesome!


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback