Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 1,402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 1,402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.7
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Located at Sarphatipark 58, , Amsterdam.
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1073 CZ Amsterd Sarphatipark 58
62% 1402
52.3534029 4.8950958
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Sep 2016
7.1

Hostel like an apartment with many rooms. In one room three 3-level beds. Not comfortable. Shower not comfortable. Internet doesn't work normally in the rooms coz they use home router. Also it very slow. Metro too far. But near the tram stop, cafes and night shop. They have taken from me 5% tax for payment via Card + 5% city tax. City tax ok, but 5% for payment by card - bullshit. Staff are nice, friendly and breakfast is good. Free tea and coffee. But price too high. Max 10 euro for this!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
4.9

The room was so packed and hot. felt like i was being cooked while i slept, luckliy someone opened the door after a few hours. there was no lock system to store valubles and toilet wasnt that clean

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
2.9

The rooms were not clean and smelt like feet. The breakfast did not have any food, just bread without a toaster. Staff informed of us different check-out times and stressed us out unnecessarily. Confusion over payment amount. Payments in cash only were very inconvenient. Beds were uncomfortable and we woke up itching (i don't dare wonder why!). Bathroom so tiny can barely use.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
6.3

Nice hostel right next to a lovely park. It's a bit far from the city center and there are no lockers in the rooms. Staffs isn't to helpful. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
3.7

The Staff was not unfriendly, but also not that friendly. For me this is not a Problem, as long as they did thier work. The room was dark and dense. The Bath was very very small and narrow, imagine that you have only 1 bathroom included Toilet in your room with other 11 People to share. In the morning, it´s can be uncomfortable, as we have to wait to use the bathroom and toilet, to be rush to make it intime with the checkout.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
4.0

Facilities are sparse and unclean (one bathroom in a 12 bed dorm) . No lockers to store things . It is located next to Sarphati park which is nice although a little further out of town .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.3

Beds were comfortable but linen could be better washed. The room was slightly too crammed full of beds for comfort though. Furthermore, the toilet looked dirty and having no form of ventilation didn't help its case. Not enough power sockets also detracted from the experience. No lockers available either. However, WiFi connection in the room was fine and it includes some sort of breakfast, which is always nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
6.6

Its an okay place but i recommend going there in person as the deals at the hostel are cheaper than the online ones...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
2.0

Sapharti was one of the nicer prison cells that I've stayed in, but through some loophole of Dutch law the owners have managed to implement a nightly fee that is charged to all prisoners throughout their sentence. This dampened morale massively, especially for those prisoners serving life sentences and must be looked into immediately. I gave Sapharti a rating of 2 simply because I cannot rate a prison that charges me money when I can go to a prison of a higher standard elsewhere, and for free.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
2.3

This hostel is probably the worst place I have stayed in. we felt uncomfortable as soon as we arrived and contemplated leaving but as it was so last minuite we stayed. The 4 bed mixed dorm was tiny and stuffy and not clean, the shared bathroom was not good . I couldn't shower there because the floor was too gross. Staff were intimidating at times and we didn't feel a safe vibe and couldn't wait to leave - DO NOT RECCOMEND unless last resort.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.