Hostelworld.com

Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 1,320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 1,320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.4
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Located at Sarphatipark 58, , Amsterdam.
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1073 CZ Amsterd Sarphatipark 58
69% 1320
52.3534029 4.8950958
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2016
2.9

Not a good hostel for the price, especially on the weekend. It is outdated, old and dirty. It doesn't seem like the staff puts any effort into keeping it even slightly clean. No plugs for the beds. No lockers. Breakfast is basically bread and butter. Would not recommend this to anyone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
5.1

Very cramped and crowded. Pictures do not accurately depict the rooms. Staff was not bad and overall experience was okay, but it was very expensive for the quality. I have stayed in much cheaper hostels that were infinitely better than this one. Overall not the worst place ever but definitely not ideal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, clean, friendly staff would recommend for a stay in Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2016
6.0

The staff is amazing! They were very helpful and very nice. The place is a little bit dirty and is far from the center, but you have a tram stop just in front of the hostel. The brekfast is ok (peanut butter, jam, bread and coffee). They have no stove in the kitchen so you cant cook. Its ok

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.6

friendly nice hostel staff brilliant

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
6.6

Main problem: No lockers, this is an essential thing in the hostels, and it's missing. I was placed on the basement floor, the room was tiny (but it's not really a big deal, because of the price). Although there was smell, like in the basement. During my stay I was there mostly alone, so atmosphere was bad. Basic breakfast, they have bread, but no toaster. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
5.1

There were no lockers or closets at all.. The room was 2m² and the window couldn't be opened with 4 people inside and that's complicated when the weather is as hot as it was.. Room and bathroom was always dirty until the day I checked out.. Had a great time though, but overall not a good hostel..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.6

Hostel staff were all very helpful and friendly. Location was perfect for my needs, close enough to the city center without being too hectic. Park across the road was beautiful. Very expensive over the weekend, not worth that price but for week nights it's worth it. I understand that all hostels in Amsterdam jack up prices over the weekend though, a real shame.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Fine, pretty average. The cat is meant to be there, don't worry. Looks a bit like a strange lamp shop from the outside, but nice enough inside, though kind of would have expected soap to be provided in the bathrooms.....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
7.1

The stay was fine. The hostel is fairly compact like most other Amsterdam houses. The staff was nice but one employee at the desk argued with me for why he was going to keep my key-deposit and when I asked to see the specific rule for why he is allowed to do so he gave my 10 euro back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.