X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Reviews

Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1240 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The free breakfast was pretty dismal, but was still a nice place to stay in general for someone just interested in a bed, but there aren't any lockers so you have to trust the others in your room won't steal your stuff, luckily I had a nice bunch of people.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

its not the first time that i stay at this hostel they have very good prices during the weekdays, good location not far from the center in de pijp area,the market is 2 minutes away ,you can also rent a bike, free wifi and also one computer and tv which you can use, they offer breakfast.,cooking equiipment the rooms are clean the staff is polite and they give very good turistic information which i like to visit amsterdam basicly i had a good experience definetly i will come back

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Average hostel. Not that close from the center but very easy to use the public transportation even after midnight. Extremely expensive in fridays and saturdays.


80%

Good enough for what you pay. Good area, friendly staff

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is far enough outside the city center that one avoids the crowds and the noise, but everything you need is only a short tram ride or a bit-less-short-but-totally-doable walk away. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the building itself is clean and neat.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The staff (mostly just one staff member) was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. There was absolutely no welcoming or introduction. Our room was way too small to fit 12 people, only had one toilet which had no ventilation, so after showering all the surfaces were soaked. When we arrived, there was someone pratically living in the hostel who had been smoking inside and so the room smelt terrible. Breakfast was very basic and nothing seemed clean. Not a great experience


100%

Its a fantastic experience to stay in Sarphati hostel. I have been here for 2 weeks, the staff was much careful and supportive. Breakfast, free wifi, everyday cleaning, hot water in washrooms, brilliant location, easy to reach anywhere since trum and metro centers are nearby. I would like to stay here next time and will recommend to others. Thanks to the staff members...

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

It's a good hostel, good value for money. The room I stayed has a bathroom, and it seemed to be cleaned everyday. The breakfast is simple, but it's not bad. They have clean linge, including a blanket. The staff was nice. The common room is used basically for the breakfast - it's not really a place to meet people. The hostel is quiet, good to sleep. The location is good: next to a street market and the tram, walking distance to the city center and many touristic places.


66%

We stayed here for four nights in Dec 2015. For the cheap price you get what you pay for really in regards to the facilities. Bathrooms are small and could be cleaner, three story bunk beds in our rooms. however the staff are friendly and helpful, wifi is good, and there is an adorable cat named Nicko who doesn’t mind a few cuddles. Breakfast was toast and tea and coffee, cooking equipment available. Atmosphere was a bit lacking so best suited for if you want to chill out a bit. Not in the centr


86%

First of all,staff are so friendly and helpful. they were nice. the room was better than I had expected. location is also nice. breakfast is just bread and coffee, it should be improved.


100%

Good rooms bed, just 20 minuts walking to the city center, nice area near the big Sarphati park, nice value for money, friendly and helpfull staff.

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel! Pretty clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating!


89%

Austin the receptionist was very kind and super helpful. I met a lot of cool people here. Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I'll definitely come back.


66%

Healthier breakfast options please!

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff, good location, close to the city centre. Clean and quiet, definitely a good value for money

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice place, clean and well connected I strictly recommend .

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Great for a last Booking, staff were wonderful and beds were comfy. More would be good.

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The location is good, not in the centre but in a walking distance and there are restaurants and coffee shops nearby too. The staff is not very nice, and the breakfast is just coffee bread jam and jelly, but I guess it's the same in all the hostels in Amsterdam so it's ok. The room was ok but not too much space, the bathroom clean but small. I guess it's a nice hostel for what you pay, if you are in a budget I would totally recommend it.


43%

Very cramped rooms, and very dirty... I saw a bed bug on the floor. No place for safe storage of bags in room.


60%

We stayed in a 14 bed mixed room which only had one toilet/ shower, that was in the room. I dont think it was cleaned the whole time we were there. It was pretty gross having to shower on top of a toilet that 13 others had been using. The beds themselves seemed pretty clean. The common room was a tiny area where you couldn't really meet anyone. The only cooking facilities were a microwave and a jug. Free breakfast was bread with peanutbutter and jam.


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback