X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Reviews

Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1040 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm, which was Tiny. There was cry limited space for storing your luggage without it being in the way for the other guests. The door the ensuite did not work, so using the bathroom was difficult and uncomfortable, especially being a girl. The breakfast in the morning is tea and coffee with bread and the choice of jam or peanut butter. A toaster would improve this a lot. The stairs are very steep, but being in Amsterdam, that is what you old expect.


66%

Is alright if you're just using the hostel to sleep, no confie common areas or anything, good location... But they charged smt on my card without my authorisation... I sent an email and I'm still waiting for an answer!

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

It sucked in every way possible.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

if you dont care about hostel stuff and extend of the room, sarphati is perfect for you. Breakfast can be improved maybe. Location is perfect.


83%

Sharphati hotel gayet guzel bir yer iki gun kalmama ragmen memnun kaldim odalari kucuk ve kullanisli personel alakali daha ne olsun

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly even the house keepers! They work long hours after speaking to one guy so respect for keeping a great attitude. Good hostel for a few days stay and bike hire was reasonable otherwise the tram stops around the corned

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

bad location, bad quality, very expensive (but during NYE), and pretty horrible place all round generally.


83%

The rooms were very congested. It was not good. The staff was very cooperative.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Not bad. If you want to stay more cheaper, this hostel is good.


34%

Too many people per room. Cramped. We had 12 people for one toilet and shower. The roof leaked, the beds were lopsided, the window wouldn't shut all the way.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice and calm place with helpful staff always ready to give good advise. Perfect position ! !


100%

Excellent accommodation, great value for money!


80%

Excellent situated, clean and quiet, with cool people working there! Definitely a good place to spend couple of days visiting Amsterdam!

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is very clean and calm and the people working here are very helpful!!!!


46%

Not so much organized. Poor breakfast and not healthy (everyone taking the bread with hands, and only few jars of marmelade or butter for many people). Not possible to pay with card, we had serious problems because we couldn't take money from an atm and hadn't cash anymore.


91%

In my oppinion, it'll be better to add an additional tram that get quite close to the hostel, number 16. Then, to mention the closest supermarket to the hostel, like Albert Hejin.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

It's more than half an hour walk from the Amstel and an hour walk from other attractions. Very small property and conjusted atmosphere.


51%

The hostel was very expensive. It's in Amsterdam and it was during a busy weekend so part of that is understandable but I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this one was distinctly below average. When I arrived, the member of staff attended to me reluctantly but didn't appear to be doing anything else. I was helped by another member of staff the next day - he was very polite and helpful. Overall though, the place had a bad atmosphere and needs a refurbishment.


69%

A regular hostel, the staff is helpful, but there was a gay from Dominican Republic that was really good guy, very helpful and good talker.


69%

Got charged a steep rate over the weekend but the place is convenient and comfortable.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback