X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati Reviews

Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1067 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff were great

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The location was very nice and the staff helpful. It's not too far from the center (by walk) and the area is pretty nice. The bedroom was very small, but it was really ok for the price.


60%

this hostel got really bad reviews so it was a lot better than expected. they had free WiFi which is always nice and free breakfast even though it was just bread jam and peanut butter but it's free! The staff wasn't very friendly though and the door to our bathroom was really hard to open and close but it wasn't a bad stay.


31%

It was a really cold atmosphere, not really clean and staff tries to ripp you off on any occasion.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Don't you ever book here! If you have time to read this, I'll give you many reasons to book somewhere else, perhaps you'd be lucky else where! These are basic reasons why you shouldn't: specially room 22 2- bathroom: small, dirty , shared with 14 people. 3- one single ceiling light 4. Deceiving breakfast 5- dirty dining, cluttered room. 6- disgusting 7-not enough power outlet - enough! STAY AWAY!!!


29%

unfriendly, incompetent and arrogant staff. They can't resolve issues relatated with booking/hostelworld, damaging the client. no respect for the client at all poor poor breakfast.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Due to a technical bug you have managed to book the six person room two times, this happened because you were booking the same room on two channels the same time, to resolve this was beyond our capabilities, because we have only one six person room, but we did compensate you and this doesn't make us a bad hostel or incompetent. We have a small breakfast to get you started in the morning, it's free. Greetings

86%

Staff were very friendly, offered great advice on locations to visit, and hospitable. Overall this isn't the prettiest or best hostel, however its location was perfect for my needs, the staff - night and morning - made my experience that much more of a pleasant experience.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

No lockers, no cleaning done over the four days we were there. Far from centre

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for feedback. We clean the hostel everyday, maybe you didn't see it. Greetings

100%

The staff were really accommodating and helpful with everything like getting back to the airport, places to see and also train times. Fran was lovely to talk to and went above and beyond to help me with getting home. The hostel was nice and clean all the time and I had a great time. I highly recommend this hostel!


74%

We were at the sarphati hostel with 4 Girls . It was a great time in Amsterdam. The hostel ist just a 2 Minute walk away from the tram. Our room was clean and the stuff at the reeption was very friendly

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Before booking it i read the bad comments and i did not believe. But the thing is, those bad comments were rigth. Everything there, with exeption of the location, is bad!! The room smells, THE SEALING WAS LEAKING WATER!!! They dont have lockers. The bathroom is almost unusable, all dirty, it seems like that they dont even clean it once a day.. The included breakfast is a piece of bread with butter, they dont even have a toaster to make it a little better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for feedback. We had some trouble in the shower above the room, the is is in the nature of the business, but we fixed it wright away. We have a small free breakfast in the morning. Greetings

74%

I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm, which was Tiny. There was cry limited space for storing your luggage without it being in the way for the other guests. The door the ensuite did not work, so using the bathroom was difficult and uncomfortable, especially being a girl. The breakfast in the morning is tea and coffee with bread and the choice of jam or peanut butter. A toaster would improve this a lot. The stairs are very steep, but being in Amsterdam, that is what you old expect.


66%

Is alright if you're just using the hostel to sleep, no confie common areas or anything, good location... But they charged smt on my card without my authorisation... I sent an email and I'm still waiting for an answer!

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

It sucked in every way possible.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Location is fine of course I looked at the map! When booking last minute you end up with this sort of place. Dorms are very cramped and although the shower located inside the dorm seems like a plus, it was not for this place. Overall dingy atmosphere due to a run down building but you can pin that one on anyone. Very pleased with the service provided by Franco. He is very accommodating and willing to assist you anyway he can!


57%

if you dont care about hostel stuff and extend of the room, sarphati is perfect for you. Breakfast can be improved maybe. Location is perfect.


83%

Sharphati hotel gayet guzel bir yer iki gun kalmama ragmen memnun kaldim odalari kucuk ve kullanisli personel alakali daha ne olsun

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly even the house keepers! They work long hours after speaking to one guy so respect for keeping a great attitude. Good hostel for a few days stay and bike hire was reasonable otherwise the tram stops around the corned

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

bad location, bad quality, very expensive (but during NYE), and pretty horrible place all round generally.


83%

The rooms were very congested. It was not good. The staff was very cooperative.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback