Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 5.6
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown Located at Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, , Amsterdam.
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1017 PZ Amsterd Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147
67% 425
52.3629301 4.8853325
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Perfect location near everything. Enjoyed the stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
4.0

We originally booked a 4 people room but after arriving and seeing how incredibly small the room was we decided to upgrade to a 2 person room. The biggest complaint was that the rooms were tiny, there was hardly any space to move around, and the bathrooms had 0 circulation so showers were very hot and the bathroom floor was still wet from the shower the next day.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
5.1

The stairs to get to your room is so narrow that you might faint . Location is perfect for sure.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
8.3

Great place to stay just for sleep. Not really a common area to hang out with anyone and the rooms didn't have lockers. Beds were also very small and the rooms looked packed. The bathrooms were basically just one huge shower with a toilet and sink on the side. Also no AC so super hot in the summer. But the security was great and the staff was very helpful. Close walk to downtown and 15 min walk to the infamous red light district. this is the place to go for a spot to crash at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
6.3

I really enjoyed my time in Amsterdam and wondering around the city. It was my first time staying in a hostel, the staff was amazing and the location was excellent. The only issues I had was the shower light continued to go in and out while showering and it could have been a little cleaner. If it wasn't over the weekend and the outrageous price, which i thought was unreasonable, 20-30 Euro would have been more acceptable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
8.3

This hostel is pretty decent, and the staff are particularly friendly. Additionally, the hostel is located right where all of the nightlife is. That said, if you are looking for a quiet weekend away, this hostel is probably not the place. Furthermore, it is much more expensive than any other hostel I had found in Europe. Much of that cost, I imagine, is because of its central location in Amsterdam.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
2.3

It was the worst hostel experience of my life. The price was outrageous for the closet we were given. Staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The beds were supposedly assigned, but there were no numbers on the actual beds. When I asked the staff about it they responded to "just pick one." This led to conflict between people in the cramped quarters, something that has never happened to me. Room was filthy. Was supposed to stay two days, only lasted 8 hours and was not able to receive a refund.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
2.9

Credit card surplus charge of 5% on a 200€ payment. The stairs are really dangerous They charge money to keep your luggage after your check out. It was the first time that happened

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
4.0

Very poor place.Tine stairs an corridors,rooms without ventilation or windows you could open,wifi not working in the rooms,shower next to the toilet seat and they even charging you 3 eu for keeping your luggage safe! Probably the worst place i ever stayed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.4

I spent very little time at the hostel during my one-night stay but it was great. Staff was friendly, beds were clean and comfortable, bathroom worked, and the location was pretty central. My only criticism is that the free breakfast was skimpy, but overall great value for what you're paying for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.