Hostelworld.com

Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Dec 2016
7.4

Good location from the 1-2-5tram lines from central station . 15 minute walk from Madam Toussands. 5 euros whole pizza pie around the corner. Coffeeshop, Rookies, is great. Stayed in a 6 bed mixed door for two nights avg 18 euros. Not an accessible friendly hostel. Wifi doesn't work in the room. Showers were warm. No division between shower and toilet floors. You will pay a 10euro deposit for the key. Staff are nice. Felt safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Hostel in an ideal location, staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were clean. Hostel was basic but ideal for what we required.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
6.6

Not very clean place I had a feeling that bathroom wasn't clean for a few days. Top bunks don't have much space between a materace and ceiling. Very expensive during a weekend

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
2.0

Worst accommodation ever stayed in false image of what u get the rooms are worth no more than £20 plain rooms with nothing in them what do even not happy n they charged extortion rate on line

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
4.3

General it is not value for money. Conditions were were poore. My belongings were stolen and the staff couldn't answer what happened as the cleaner was the person who was last checking the room. Very desapointed because it was not a cheap stay even tho the location was ok.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Oct 2016
4.6

Overpriced for the rooms you receive. Wifi worked very poorly in rooms. Poor almosphere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
7.1

Arrived here and were told that no rooms were available and we were transferred to Orfeo nearby which was a nice stay. Quite highly priced compared to other options but great staff

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
4.0

The toilets were not clean, very small and narrow beds, I had to put my mattress on the floor to sleep as I could not climb up to top bunk, there were no stairs, and bed way to small and narrow!!! Bathrooms were absolutely disgusting and stunk of wee!!! The corridors were small and dirty, there are No LOCKERS to keep your stuff save! And it was very expensive for a hostel!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
7.7

Good location &good value for money, the hostel is central but we didn't hear noise from the nightlife. It was bulk beds but we slept good. the sheets are already on. Wi-fi was working fine and the staff was superfriendly and helpful, esp.the guys in the morning. There is free breakfast too. The only things i really didn't like, there was no hot water in the a.m.&no shower curtain&you have to pay extra for towels, why not just include that in the room fee?! You can rent bikes so that's cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
9.7

This place has an amazing location!! Best parts of Amsterdam right at your foot steps. I have stayed a few times here and was a great time every time. The staff was also really helpful and full of insight. Not to mention this hostel has excellent neighbors on both sides ;) Nice and cozy, home in Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.