X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Uptown Reviews

Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
317 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The room was tiny and the bath room was dirty. But the hostel is very good located.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Congratulations the recepcionist in the afternoon, he is from Spain, he helped me a lot, he suggest you the activities and he is always in a good mood , sorry for not to be the same in the morning,

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Hardly any facilities, creepy men that work on reception, really BAD value for money. It's not much more to get a cheap hotel. Avoid staying. It's not nice.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

No lockers in rooms, no bar, breakfast was awful (just some bread and spread, not even a toaster), no toilet roll in bathroom upon arrival. Good location and clean however

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we do not claim that we have a bar , at the leidsplein are 200 bars and discos arond the breakfast is free free not with payment the staff

51%

Overpriced in a completely tourist area. Bed are uncomfortable and difficult to use. Shower soaks the entire bathroom. Staff knocks and then walks in without waiting for a response at 9:30 ish each morning, which was just irritating for my group but would be a bit creepy for a group of girls. Breakfast included but not actually in the hostel. No elevator, brutal staircase


54%

Just way to small for me. There are no kitchen or common room areas, although there is an outside terrace that closes at seven. The rooms and beds were fine but the bathroom in the 6 bed dorm was filthy and had puddles of water. I stayed for two nights and did all I could to spend as much time away from there as I could. The guys on reception are cool but in terms of value for money I say spend a little more somewhere else unless you really need a place to crash!


74%

Although I did arrive on a day after a power outage in Amsterdam, there was no wifi for the duration of my stay which was frustrating. Breakfast is only bread, peanut butter and jam (no toaster). Staff were super friendly and helpful though - they were probably the best part. Directions to the hostel are very helpful and accurate and it really is in a great location - walking distance to all the main attractions.


83%

In a brilliant location in Leidplein near tonnes of bars and shops of all kinds, plenty of coffee shops (including the one downstairs!) and restaurants. basic rooms but they have what you need. The windows let in a draught all night because they were old so a bit chilly as it was March. 24 hour reception which sells toiletries, food and drinks which is brilliant. Cheap and cheerful, definitely recommend if you are on a budget and need to save your money to enjoy the sights!


97%

Fantastic, helpful staff.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

the bathroom n toilet so small and the ceiling is diagonal so it will hit ur head if u r a tall person. the toilet drainage not good, the water does not flow fast enough so if u take a bath longer then guarantee will have a flood. location is strategic near the attraction.


54%

Breakfast was a joke, the cost was too high for what was given. The website had false advertising because there was no luggage storage.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Madison breakfast is (free) we do have the luggage storage the staff

60%

The hostel has a good location nearby to many bars and restaurants. The hostel itself is okay. Staff is nice, although our check in took almost 45 minutes, because we had to wait while they were filling drinks in the fridge, the room lacks some furniture (no hangers or anything to put your belongings in, only beds). Also the bathroom is not the cleanest, but if you're looking for something to just spend the night without paying too much, it's the right place.


80%

The area is realy great and all the hot spots are within walking distance. The staff is also very nice and helpful. Probably a shower curtain would be useful in the bathroom. But all in all we had a pleasant stay at the hostel.


66%

Right in the heart of restaurants, clubs and bars, this hostel is okay value for money. The communal space is in another building one block around to the corner from Uptown hostel, although only open until 10pm in case residents want to relax until then. My bedroom was quite cold during the evening time, so it may be recommended not to stay too long inside during winter periods. The bunk beds also do not have a ladder and there are no lockers in the room unless you pay a fee at reception.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Wanderingdaze
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Couldn't have asked for better - although slightly out of the centre in Leideseplein, this area is really nice and if the hostel had been closer to the centre we probably wouldn't have seen any of that area. Still only a 20 minute walk to the very centre with plenty on the way. Very friendly and helpful staff 24 hours a day, will definitely be back!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

i had a nice stay. perfectly value for money staff was friendly and also helped me to find out buses/ trains they also gave me info about nearest tourist spots. i appreciate ur help. keep it up

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

If you just need a bed to sleep in the heart of amsterdam this works. Not the best, not the worst.


80%

I didn spend much time in the room but the staff was really friendly and extremely helpful. The manager isn't great though. The toilets were clean and the sheets were clean enough ;) overall a good place to crash if you've locked up your stuff and are only spending the night. Locations pretty decent and easy to find to. Close to the heineken experience and around 20-30 mins from the red light, central station, the more happening platz ;)

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean dorms more regularly

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

다 영어만 있으니까 한국분들 보시라고 한국말로 남겨요, 첨엔 중앙역에서 멀고찾기힘들다고 느껴졌어요, 근데 익숙해지면 반고흐박물관, 안네프랑크하우스도 가깝고 예쁜광장에선 이것저것행사도 많이열려요 애들도 꽤나친절한데 개인락커가 없는게 조금 아쉽네요, 아 방하고 복도가 되게좁아요 계단도 절벽같음


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback