Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2,172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2,172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
Amsterdam Hostel Located at 749 Taylor Street, , San Francisco.
Amsterdam Hostel
USA
San Francisco Ca 94108 749 Taylor Street
76% 2172
37.7893090 -122.4120280
Amsterdam Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
4.3

The hostel allowed a homeless woman to stay in the dorm room. She arrived at 11:30 pm - the staff then asked a bunkmate (who was already in bed asleep) to move from the bottom bunk to a top bunk as she was sickly unable to climb up herself. She coughed loudly for about an hour, then showered loudly for about another hour. In the morning, I had to use a communal shower instead of ensuite as our bathroom was disgusting from her shower. In the morning I found my credit card had been stolen. Awful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
3.4

Breakfast was no good. Other lodgers were poorly behaved and staff did nothing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Aug 2016
6.9

The Amsterdam Hostel is a decent hostel. It looks like a hotel and each room has separated bathroom facilities, though they lack simple things like hand soap. The common rooms are a bit below par. The kitchen seems somewhat small for the size of the hostel, which becomes especially apparent when everyone comes down to make their pancakes - the only breakfast the hostel offers. The building does not really encourage people meeting each other, but it is a fine base of operations.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
7.7

The room was clean, even though the building is quite old. Bed was comfortable and sheets were clean, as well as the towels. We had a mini fridge and a brand new TV with free cable. No A/C or fan in the room. Everyone was respectful, staff was friendly, and the location was perfect. I would likely stay there again. Free coffee and make-your-own pancakes in the morning. The hostel had an "old" smell to it, but aside from that, it was a true hostel experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
10.0

I loooved this place! great service

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel has so much potential to be awesome but misses the mark. PROS Big rooms, good tv room, good location, Like ensuites in the rooms. Do the pub crawls advertised, people from all different hostels come, really fun. CONS Kitchen was gross, staff pretty average, no atmosphere or hostel-druven activities, no chargers near the beds, 'free breakfast' is pancake slop

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
4.6

When I checked into my room the previous tenants sheet and beer soaked blanket were still on the bed. I personally had to clean up the room myself only to find out that the carpets were soaked with beer and had tons of rice grains all over the floor. Personally I wouldn't not recommend staying here due to the filthy conditions of the rooms!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
6.0

Hostelworld you should fire this histel. WORST staff ever. Very rude and unprofessional. While you are check in you in they talk with other people so it gets very confusing. They took 15 minutes to find my reservation. They allow drug people yelling and fighting in the hallway every night. They do not have an idea hiw to treat guests. I had to cancel my reservation could take it. Breakfast coffee and you make your pancakes. The worst everyman. ..even guest I talked to had complains.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.6

The staff were nice and the place is cool and located in really good area (compare to other friends who were in a cheap motel in a scary neighborhood) average breakfast. the only problem I had is no locker in my room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
9.4

This hostel was actually really great. Someone did steal my food from the fridge, so I wouldn't put anything in the kitchen that you're really sad to lose, but everything else was really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.