Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
Amsterdam Hostel Located at 749 Taylor Street, , San Francisco.
Amsterdam Hostel
USA
San Francisco Ca 94108 749 Taylor Street
75% 2316
37.7893090 -122.4120280
Amsterdam Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Great staff, great atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
2.0

Don't stay here. They canceled my stay the day of my arrival whilst I was on the plane because they had some issue with my credit card. It was pouring rain and we were forced to find a new place to stay for triple the price. Don't stay here!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
5.1

Our room was the 4bed ensuite. The room had a glass pane door to the patio. Normally fine but the "window shade" was missing half of the leavers so anyone can see into the room. With 4 girls this was a real pain. Also it rained all weekend and the water rolled in under that door and into the carpet, and our clothes. Room needs a chair and a table by the sink. Nowhere to put down anything!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
2.6

This is the worst hostel ever...They took an hour and a half to check me in (imagine that) though i have already made the reservation earlier. Had my first night on the top floor, the wifi wasn't working so u gotta go down the first floor to get the connection. The worst part was that the staffs are very rude, fought with few guests on the same day... feel sorry for the fellow travelers. Only thing that makes it good is the location, but there are few hostels in the area tht worth your money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
2.0

Gross carpets, thinnest blankets and cold facility. The kitchen closes at 10pm, meaning you cannot use the fridge, wash your dishes or even get water from the tap. The kitchen itself is awful and hard to use. The staff is rude and unfriendly. The hostel itself also gets a bad mix of people. I wouldn't recommend it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.0

The hostel is in a great location, close to the most beautiful areas and sights or at least close to bus lines that will take you there. Unfortunately, internet hardly works at all. In the upper levels it just doesn't, on the lower level you have to sign in and out regularly. Also, the breakfast isn't really a breakfast. It's pancakes from 7-10am. I still recommend staying simply because it's San Francisco.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
8.3

Stayed for 5 days. Right in the middle of everything. Great value. Helpful and friendly staff. I booked early, so I had a nice room and got lucky with some quiet roommates. Ask about the van that can inexpensively take you to the airport. Very useful. I will book Amsterdam hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • khairul_j5802
  • Brunei, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Dec 2016
2.0

I dont stay here & cancel my booking 2 days+ (50+ hours before) but this hostel still deduct my credit card. So unsatisfied

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
7.1

We were a family with 1 kid(7yr old) had 3 medium size bags. Got a private room with shower - very small room. Didnt know whr to place all lugg. Bathroom shower tap was broken. Carpets were Dirty!! But i guess for $75 what more to expect. Kitchen area is nice and lively everyone makes their own pancakes and coffee too available and they have laundry facility too. Location is good just 4mins walks to union sq. 7/11 1min walk away. Receiption people are vry helpful&informative.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
8.6

The facilities are old, so they might not look clean, but they actually are clean. Because it's old, it actually has bath tubs! And it's quieter in the rooms being an old building. It's a good value if you want a place that is clean, cheap, safe, and a good location. It's about a 12 minute walk to the train station, and a 40 minute walk to fisherman's warf. The biggest negatives are the old lumpy mattresses and the old squeaky beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.