X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Reviews

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1574 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

I personally did not feel very comfortable . The staff was very friendly though somehow incompetent. Their organizing things is just horrible. The bed I got was occupied 20min after I got it. I just went out of the hostel for sth. groceries. Several things like that happend to others as I've noticed. I was also missing a nice lounge to hang out. They had a room with nothing much in there which had no flair at all. I've definitely had much better hostels....


71%

Everything was ok apart from the smell, it was really unpleasant even if the place was clear.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place to stay in san francisco! The hostel is located near to union square and you can get transportation to anywhere in the city. I feel safe in it. I like the room I stayed - there was a ensuite. The staff was pretty helpfull. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the breakfast - only pancakes.


97%

I have stayed at the "European hostel" before staying here and it is safe to say the Amsterdam hostel is at least 4, no, 5, times better. The staff are super nice in Amsterdam where as in European they are rude unhelpful and try to cheat you of money. And the Amsterdam is cheaper.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

decent place for a few nights. if you get a room facing on to the main road outside it is very noisy. don't count on sleeping after 6am. breakfast is nothing special and kitchen is a fairly chaotic place in morning. good rate on bike hire and fairly central for all tourist activities. would probably stay in a different hostel next time though


46%

I did not like this Hostel. It's dirty, unconfortable, the small is bad inside de rooms. The only good thing is about location, because is pretty close to Union Square.


60%

My friend and I stayed at the Amsterdam hostel in early November. We arrived after a long long day of travelling. All we needed was a shower and sleep. Unfortunately only 50% of these services were provided. There was NO hot water for over 24hrs. We politely raised the issue several times throughout our stay, but to no avail. It was only after we threatened to leave that there was some progress on the issues. I only recommend staying here if you want an unpredictable experience.


86%

Cheap hostel with very good location, and nice area. Just a few difficulties to access with suitcase.


63%

So much better than San Francisco International Hostel but still it is a mediocre one. Good part is that the rooms have a bathroom.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Staff did care about anyone's needs or won't simple info about the city was " I don't know " one min. I need to text my friend . NOT KIDDING " wtf " do not stay there . Plase smell of pot the hole time I was there . Ok I get it Amsterdam hostel . But come on put the weed down and see why there NO HOT WARTER IN THE PLACE ! Cold showers all the Time I was there if I could have got my money back I would have but pay up fringbno refunds . This place sucked


97%

Great hostel! The staff was super flexible and super nice. You could check out at any time.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It was depend on what kind of hostel you prefer. They dont have much great facility for cooking, not much room for social activities. but it made you spend more time knowing and hanging out with your roommate or some new friends you just met.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Location was fab and it was cheap. However place very very outdated and dirty, pretty sure I got bed bugs here. Showering facilities poor. For the money I suppose this hostel lies at the bottom end of what you would expect. Still a great location from which to explore SF

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

this is very place to meeting travelers ,i had good time ,expect bed,,bed is suck .i could don't sleep.


77%

Teally liked the all-day coffee and the pancakes!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a very nice stay. There were people talking late at night and early in the morning while trying to sleep, but otherwise everything was fine.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

Worst hostel experience ever! Do yourself a favour and Hostelling International is 100 times better and at the same price Facilities: the hostel is old, unmaintained, decrepit and dirty The hall carpets were nasty and smells. The actual room is small and bed are old, rusty and the matress is uncofortable Security: The hostel is in the Tenderloin. But even their storage area, where you can leave your bag for the day has no ticket system! Staff: Unfriendly and incooperative Breakfast is a joke


89%

The Amsterdam Hostel is in a very good condition. the 6-bed-dorms have an own bathroom (-> clean) and the kitchen is equipped quite good. Public transportation is nearby as is the Union Square. I had a good stay there.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Although breakfast is "included" it is a joke and one of the poorest I have had, there was just coffee, no cups, just plastic glasses, and a pot to prepare yourself pancakes. no more. Further more the shower was cold, no hot water, actually was just a thin stream of cold water.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I've stayed here a few times and I've haven't found anything wrong with this place. Clean sheet and beds, all the Staff and guests are so friendly. I reccomend this place to any student/traveler wanting to stay in San fran for a while. Cheap and cheerful. And I can't not mention the bomb pancake breakfasts.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback