Hostelworld.com

Amsterdam Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2,094 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2,094 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
Amsterdam Hostel Located at 749 Taylor Street, , San Francisco.
Amsterdam Hostel
USA
San Francisco Ca 94108 749 Taylor Street
76% 2094
37.7893090 -122.4120280
Amsterdam Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2016
6.9

I arrived late. The night-time employee wasn't helpful or friendly. Breakfast is a HUGE joke - they set out a pot of weak coffee and a bowl of pancake batter, then you get to make your own pancake. I am gluten-intolerant, so I had coffee and water for breakfast. The morning employee, a female, was helpful friendly perfect in every way and I am grateful for her attitude in an otherwise dreary place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
7.1

Be aware of the number of homeless few blocks down the Taylor Street, but just don't pay attention to them and you would be fine. Staffs are helpful, but the social atmosphere is a little bit dull.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
7.1

Stayed for 4 nights Cons: No lockers in our rooms. Shower didn't work, only bath tap. Didn't try the breakfast. Not much to do/no atmosphere for getting to know people and no planned pub crawls, etc. Pros: great location, quiet at night. Cheap and did the job! Would probably stay again, would maybe pay a bit extra for a cheap hotel with a working shower and more security (since there were no lockers).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
4.9

Good for short stay because of reasonable price, however messy and dirty especially kitchen, showers, our towels, bed very noisy when turning around and so on. Finally staff altough polite and nice but unhelpful because not familiar with the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
2.0

Where too start. Let's first start with the deposit for the key card that you have to get read magnetized on a daily basis. Now the very incapable and laziness of the staff. I was there for 1 week and it was the most horrible experience I've had. I work in San fransico I had to leave for work but I was going to extend my stay out another week but the guy who works graveyard was too lazy or incapable of doing his job and would t take my next reservation (skip if all possible)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
8.0

Located in the city center, close to many restaurants and cable car stations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
7.7

The hostel and the location is overall very good. Staff is helpful. People staying at the hostel were friendly too. I gave this rating only because of cleanliness. The towels they give are very dirty. There were stains of God knows what on it, but by the color and everything it was definitely gross. And it was just not on mine but my other two friends too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.9

Nice staff, a decent hostel. Don't expect too much though...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Faucet in room is leaking and constantly dripping

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.0

The facility is in a great location. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The claim that they provide free breakfast is a bit misleading. It's true that they provide a vat of coffee and another vat of pancake batter but that is the bare minimum. The kitchen is a joke. The only water comes from a pot hose and sanitation is nonexistent. The equipment is substandard, there isn't even a can opener. It's a cheap place to crash but it's not a great value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.