Hostelworld.com

Amsterdam Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,123 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.8
Amsterdam Hostel Located at 749 Taylor Street, , San Francisco.
Amsterdam Hostel
USA
San Francisco Ca 94108 749 Taylor Street
75% 2123
37.7893090 -122.4120280
Amsterdam Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.7

Great stay thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
4.3

Pros: The location is pretty good- there is easy access to everything + Its not too expensive compared to other hostels. Cons: The overall atmosphere was very quiet. We booked an all female dorm and was surprised to find a guy staying in our room for two nights. The shower in our room was either freezing cold of burning hot. The ladders on the bunk beds were very dangerous and breakfast was rubbish (make your own pancakes) :( BOOK WITH LOW EXPECTATIONS

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
6.0

I reported to front desk that the hair dyer is broken & when I plug for the 1st time, smelled burnt which suggested a FIRE hazard. Until I checked-out Nothing was done to it. The breakfast 'make your own pan cake' was a JOKE, seriously.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.6

The inside of the building could definitely use a renovation. However, the staff, the security, the price, and the location makes up for the old building. If I'm in San Francisco again, I'm staying at the Amstedam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2016
9.4

Good location, good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
8.9

Good hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
3.1

Staff are so unhelpful it borders on rudeness. Rooms aren't cleaned well, there was trash under my bed from previous guests. Kitchen is so poorly stocked and too small for the number of guests that are using it; expect queues for the hob and the sink.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ebrucansu9512
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2016
7.7

Overall it was good, Good value for the money. But yeah there were stains on the towels and beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • miss_brogan1253
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th May 2016
4.6

the hostel desperately needs an upgrade! everything looks dank and dirty as its so old! also I don't expect to have to make my own bed and strip it too!!! what am I paying over the odds for anyway? the staff couldn't have been less interested when i asked how to work the shower he just pointed at the notice board instead of just telling me, and when my light wouldn't work i had to go down twice to ask them to fix it, still took them an hour to sort out, thank god it was only one night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
6.9

I arrived late. The night-time employee wasn't helpful or friendly. Breakfast is a HUGE joke - they set out a pot of weak coffee and a bowl of pancake batter, then you get to make your own pancake. I am gluten-intolerant, so I had coffee and water for breakfast. The morning employee, a female, was helpful friendly perfect in every way and I am grateful for her attitude in an otherwise dreary place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.