X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amsterdam Hostel Reviews

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1469 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The location is on the slope, so just be prepared. Nevertheless the location is pretty convenient. The environment is generally acceptable, but the bathroom smells.


91%

Loved it here, would go back anytime!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location in heart of san francisco. Rooms, particularly carpet needed cleaning and changing. Bunk beds had no ladders! And no curtains in the rooms!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not so much to say really. Rooms are like a regular dorm but with own bathrooms which are nice but the staff wasn't so helpful and the free breakfast is pancakes that you make yourself.


43%

Improvements on the kitchen and all the common areas plus the events.


37%

Never been in such a run-down Hostel.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Manager Randy is openly racist and arrogant... Staff largely clueless and unhelpful... Breakfast is disgusting, checkout too early and the customer is always wrong. Stay elsewhere if you can afford it... Americans not welcome unless white.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This was my first American hostel to stay at, and I absolutely loved the experience. Staff were very friendly and helped me get checked in/out with minimal paperwork, there was pancake batter already mixed up in the kitchen in the morning, the bathroom were clean, and the halls smelled clean too. The staff were also helpful with the SF maps. Would definitely stay here again!


80%

Good value, short walk from Powell station, can get a train from airport to Powell station for about 8 usd. If you get in at night, walk up Powell st, left onto sutter, then right onto Taylor. Don't walk all the way up Taylor.


63%

Very dim light in the bathroom, not enough plugs for 6 people, common areas crowd quickly but good location and helpful staff.


80%

Very nice hostel with vintage furniture and friendly staff =)


54%

For the price is a Ok Hostel, they clean the bathrooms everyday but in general the facilities need to improve much more to become a comfortable hostel, upper beds are hard to climb, WIFI is horrible


60%

OK place, though not great. Compared to USA Hostels down the street, quite a dump. But it has everything you basically need so you can manage, plus its about half the price. It's a bit too crowded - I had the 4 people dorm and it was too tight, plus the bunk beds are very high and no ladders, so it was less than convenient...


86%

Great place to stay, honestly, no complaints. :) cheers.


80%

Friendly staff, good location. Improve breakfast and luggage room.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The hostel is bad. Hot water was not available. I asked help from the reception: they went to my room, but they did not manage to get it working. The Internet connection is horrible. I got disconnected up to 10 times per day, having to type the password again. The furniture of the hostel is poor and sad. There is no common space, other than a small reception. The breakfast area has only 2 tables. No social activities. This hostel should not be listed: it damages the image of HostelWorld


63%

Enjoyable experience.only slept in the hostel


51%

The cleaning people was really rude. On our day of checkout (we stayed four nights, already payed for, otherwise we would have moved), we were on our way of carrying our stuff out from the room at 11 (Checkout time). They got really irritated and one of them got so mad that he threw coffee on my computer on purpose. The computer broke and when I asked him to say sorry and asked if he was planning on paying for the damage, he just laugh ironically at me! Not going back!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good hostel for the price. Stayed in a 4-bed mixed dorm that was larger than many 6-bed dorms I have stayed in while traveling. Room and bathroom were cleaned daily. The kitchen was well equipped. Breakfast was well provided for with daily pancakes, coffee and tea. Drawbacks: limited space to drink / mingle after outdoor and kitchen area closes at 10pm (there is a TV room but it was always populated).

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay for the price. But you may want to ask for a room off the street - traffic can be very noisy early in the morning!

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(63 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback