X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Reviews

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1596 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great hostel! The staff was super flexible and super nice. You could check out at any time.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It was depend on what kind of hostel you prefer. They dont have much great facility for cooking, not much room for social activities. but it made you spend more time knowing and hanging out with your roommate or some new friends you just met.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Location was fab and it was cheap. However place very very outdated and dirty, pretty sure I got bed bugs here. Showering facilities poor. For the money I suppose this hostel lies at the bottom end of what you would expect. Still a great location from which to explore SF

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

this is very place to meeting travelers ,i had good time ,expect bed,,bed is suck .i could don't sleep.


77%

Teally liked the all-day coffee and the pancakes!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a very nice stay. There were people talking late at night and early in the morning while trying to sleep, but otherwise everything was fine.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

Worst hostel experience ever! Do yourself a favour and Hostelling International is 100 times better and at the same price Facilities: the hostel is old, unmaintained, decrepit and dirty The hall carpets were nasty and smells. The actual room is small and bed are old, rusty and the matress is uncofortable Security: The hostel is in the Tenderloin. But even their storage area, where you can leave your bag for the day has no ticket system! Staff: Unfriendly and incooperative Breakfast is a joke


89%

The Amsterdam Hostel is in a very good condition. the 6-bed-dorms have an own bathroom (-> clean) and the kitchen is equipped quite good. Public transportation is nearby as is the Union Square. I had a good stay there.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Although breakfast is "included" it is a joke and one of the poorest I have had, there was just coffee, no cups, just plastic glasses, and a pot to prepare yourself pancakes. no more. Further more the shower was cold, no hot water, actually was just a thin stream of cold water.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I've stayed here a few times and I've haven't found anything wrong with this place. Clean sheet and beds, all the Staff and guests are so friendly. I reccomend this place to any student/traveler wanting to stay in San fran for a while. Cheap and cheerful. And I can't not mention the bomb pancake breakfasts.


89%

This hostel is very affordable (I paid $26 to stay on a weeknight) and in a great location Towels are free, and everyone has their own locker in the room (Bring your own lock). Downsides: If you're on a top bunk, be aware that the ladder is WEAK. Also, there is no bar on the bed to keep you from rolling off in your sleep. And a tip: If your transaction comes to less than $30, you'll be paying in cash. Be ready to put down a $10 deposit, which you'll get back when you return your key card.


49%

Very old equipment, terrible beds, expensive. It's okay if you just want to sleep, but nothing more


86%

This is a really cool looking hostel that's very comfortable. Staff at front desk are extremely nice and helpful. Rooms are big. Definitely would stay here again. There's also a deal for renting bikes 24hrs at a great price.


60%

The staff all speak poor English and the after hours staff don't really seem to have a clue and are of no help. We had water leaking through the bathroom light all night, not just a drip, but a steady flow and we were handed two towels! Walls are paper thin, I got a fungal foot infection, the kitchen is tiny for a 200 bed place and smokers are smoking in the outdoor eating area as no one police's it. Would I stay again? No

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I enjoyed my stay here, great location!


77%

Everything was good. everybody was very nice. the only thing I did not like is that there is no elevator and i had a lot of stuff, the rest was awesome!


100%

I adored this hostel. The atmosphere facilitated connection among guests. It was warm welcoming. I had a stellar experience.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Just stayed one night! No complaints apart of the receptionist unable to open the door and letting people wait outside with their luggage! It's a button dude! I walked over 3 tines to let people in during I got checked in! Apart of that liked the place!


74%

Reasonably priced hostel in an expensive city.


66%

Staff was sub-par. Didn't appear to be too friendly.


(63 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback