X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hotelboat Reviews

Postbus 16645, Oosterdok, pier n 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
727 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

OMG what a great place to stay. The boat is spotless and everything is in like new condition. The captain is very personable and is very familiar with the US. It's only a short walk to the good parts of the city and to the tram stop and train station. Beds were comfortable. There are beverages available on the honor system, and the deck looks like it would be a good place to chill if it's not raining. It was just wonderful.


91%

The hostel is close to the central station and has a very nice atmosphere. The owners are very kind and helpful. The rooms are very small and there is no wifi only upstairs in the shared area, but this is a boat so this should be no surprise :) The toilets and showers are clean, the breakfast is nice, you can have tea or coffee anytime free and there is a book exchange shelf as well with a lot of english books. If you are looking for a place sg less ordinary, I can recommend this hostel :)


74%

The overall feeling is good, and the host is a nice guy, but the space in the room is a little narrow, since the average price in Amsterdam is high, so I can't really say if it is valuable to spend around €30 per person per night at this place.


97%

Staff was really friendly and helpful. Great value with breakfast. 13min walk to Amsterdam Centrale. The rooms and beds are small but then again, you are staying on a boat.


100%

To be honest I wasn't expecting too much, but when I got there I was amazed by the bostel!! Everything is perfect there. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I will try to stay there again!


100%

The only thing that one could possible notice is that the rooms are not so perfectly soundproof - but its a boat ... one could expect that and the other visitors were quiet at night - I slept perfectly. The atmosphere was very nice. The rooms are simple, but nice and clean - I felt very comfortable. The breakfast is also simple, but good enough for a good morning. The price is unbeatable and the staff is very nice.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This place was lovely, clean, quiet an only a 10 minute walk into this beutiful old city! The breakfast had a selection of col meats, cheeses, cereals, juice, coffee as tea were provided all day! The owners greeted us with happy smiles and were there to help with any questions. The only small complaint was that the wifi didn't reach down into the cabins. BUT I would DEFINETLY stay there again! Thank you for a nice stay :)


89%

Really enjoyable stay. Bedrooms are clean but basic. Easy access to the station and central Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Such good value for money! We were so impressed by Hotelboat - had everything we needed, even breakfast! And it was really fun to stay on a boat. The location was really good, only a ten minute walk from the red light district.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice, great breakfast.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very cozy hotel with excellent location. Staff was really helpful and the sun deck was amazing! Breakfast included really makes this even more worth the money. Walking in the halls causes noise, if the hotel guest don't take into consideration the fact that boat hallways do echo (or if they are just too into playing elephants)


100%

Highly recommended. The owners are genuinely kind people ! The boat is tastefully decorated & clean. The rooms are quaint and comfortable, sink in the room. The shared toilets/showers were always clean. Breakfast was delicious. Beers and sodas for purchase and free tea and coffee all day - nice touch. They provided a city map and recommended nice places to go. We loved the Indonesian restaurant they told us to try, thank you for a lovely stay! Also kind enough to store our luggage after checkout


100%

It was such a lovely place to stay ! the hosts were friendly and the other people staying were all very pleasant and made the trip !

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We liked the hostel a lot. The location is great despite it's 15 minutes walking from the Central Station. It's quiet and beautiful especially at night. There's a free public library and science center very close. The hostesses are amazing people, kind and helpful. The cabins are small but there's privacy so it's worth it. Anyway, Amsterdam is definitely not a city to spend time in hostels or hotels, it's for great adventure! so go and discover this lovely city!


97%

Can be a bit noisy, but that is up to every guest to start using the door knob etc.


77%

Great location and quite fun to stay on a boat, but with the walls being thin, it was really noisy (hearing other guests), and you can feel it when someone in the next room turns over in bed! Ear plugs were required. Otherwise all fine for a simple place to stay in the centre of town. Satisfactory breakfast and facilities. Would be nice if you could provide secure luggage storage like a hotel though...

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a 3 day break in March. The owner was fantastic - friendly, helpful and informative. We would highly recommend staying here to anyone just because he was so lovely. Really, it's hard to think of any criticisms at all about the Hotelboat. Our only regret is that we failed to get up in time to try the breakfast both mornings of our stay!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good highly recommended will be staying again

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great experience if you ever wanted to stay on a boat-hostel. The managers are super sweet and take the time to help you with anything you might need. Breakfast is buffet-styled with different types of bread, cheeses, jams, and even meat! Very walkable to anywhere, I highly recommend this place. The only downside is that the rooms are a bit small with just one outlet and wifi only works in the commons. Other than that, staying here was a delight.


97%

We stayed at the Hotelboat for two nights and had a pleasant vacation in Amsterdam. The staff was incredibly nice and helped with everything. The welcome was warm and friendly and due to the familiar atmosphere very different to other hostels in which we stayed earlier.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(403 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback