X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amsterdam Hotelboat Reviews

Postbus 16645, Oosterdok, pier n 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
646 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Wir haben uns auf dem Boot sehr wohl gefühlt- die Zimmer sind zwar sehr klein, aber komfortabel. Die Gastgeber sind unheimlich sympathisch, die Lage ist super und das Frühstück ist auch gut :) wenn man nicht mit riesigem, sperrigen Gepäck reist, ist das Hotelboat auf jeden Fall empfehlenswert

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a really nice stay. To my mind the location is brilliant. Everything is nearby but it's also quiet. The only thing I would bring next time is my own hair dryer :) The staff is really lovely and try to make your stay really nice.


94%

If you are looking for a clean, nice-located, comfortable house boat, this is definitely the best choice. My girlfriend and I lived there for a weekend, and the service is nice, room is clean. Though it is a bit smaller, but it is how the houseboat is supported to be. The price is very reasonable, a twin room is about 50 per night. If you want to experience the life in house boat, it is defenitely the best choice.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Only was here for a night but it was a good experience. Good value for money. Owner is a real cool guy, will help you out with what ever you need. We did not hear much noise when we were in our room which was nice. Has free internet in the common room area. Breakfast is nice. Nothing fancy but gets the job done. I would happily stay at this place again and recommend it to a friend.


69%

Das Frühstück war leider sehr schlecht!!! Wenn man sich hier ein bisschen mehr Mühe gegeben hätte, würde ich das Hotelboat jeden weiter empfehlen.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

E' un hotel adatto a chi cerca una soluzione a basso costo ad Amsterdam e non intende trascorrere tanto tempo in hotel: le camere sono davvero piccole, bagni e docce sono condivisi, ma puliti e abbastanza numerosi per coprire le esigenze di tutti gli ospiti dell'hotel. Si sentono molto i rumori e le voci degli altri ospiti; il personale è molto gentile e disponibile a indicazioni sulla città. La colazione è inclusa nel prezzo e sono sempre disponibili gratis thè e caffè.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

First off, Hecter and his wife are lovely. You are severed breakfast daily and it was nice they changed the serving time for NY for those who were hungover. The place is very clean and if you have been on a sailing Croatia boat, it is bigger (obviously two person room so not a huge dorm) and doesn't smell. The boat being docked in the corner of a boat, makes it not rocky and the location is 5-10 minutes walk to things which made it extremely convenient to go out and come back at any time.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Cannot be faulted, location, friendliness, fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam. Only negative was the noise, every footstep, unlocking door, everything could be heard right through the night. Hardwood floors were beautiful but acted like an amplifier and we did not sleep well. Suggest more strict with guests on noisemaking, consider sound proofing the ship or at least asking guests to wear soft soled slippers whilst on board.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It's perfect! I'd really recommend it to all my friends!


100%

As soon as you enter the boat, you feel warmth and happiness. It certainly is a home away from home. The hosts are amazing people, so friendly and make the perfect atmosphere for you to enjoy your stay and never want to leave. You both should be very proud, we love your boat and will recommend you to everyone. Thank you so much for the experience x

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Although the location, free breakfast and shared facilities are good, there is no kitchen or atmosphere and the rooms have a lot to be desired. They are incredibly small which is understandable given that it's a boat, however the noise really is unbearable even with ear plugs. It's literally like sleeping in a sound tunnel. It was unfortunately the only place available over the busy new year period however in comparison to a standard dorm is not worth the extra cost. Would not stay again.


100%

Very very nice owner, it's always super cool to arrive in an hostel and to find someone nice, with the smile, helpful,... a good guy :) Bedrooms are small, and we can here what s going on around : take your ear plugs ! ;) Showers and toilets are quiet big, and very clean. good breakfast and nice presentation. Very very good time in the awesome city. Also the localisation is perfect.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Most wonderful place to stay, the owners wee so lovely and helpful. Great location and the place had a really good atmosphere. Will definitely stay again next time I am in Amsterdam.


89%

Una idea muy buena el dormir en una barcaza, centrico y a la vez lejos del bullicio, puedes ir andando a todos lados, la estación de trenes esta al lado. las vistas son geniales. Precio calidad esta muy bien.limpio y el desayuno esta mas que correcto, pan,embutido ,queso,yogurt,cereales,leche,zumos. los camarotes son pequeños, pero suficiente, tienes un lavamanos dentro, el WC y ducha son compartidas, pero están limpias.Todo el barco en si esta muy bien acondicionado.no pasas nada de frio.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Für ein Kurztrip einfach perfekt!

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Our two nights were excellent, rooms are small but it's well organized, breakfast is huge, staff is really nice and they helped us a lot when we asked them advices to go to Leiden by bike ! Good location : near to the train station and the city center. Living on a boat is original and cool.


94%

really enjoyed the stay, staff is perfect, the rooms could not be cleaner and there's a lot to choose of for breakfast. it's a good 10 mins walk into the city center and train station, approx. 30 mins to the rijksmuseum. would definitely return to this place in case of another stay in amsterdam.


100%

Es war ein wunderschöner Aufenthalt. Gemütlich, stimmungsvoll, freundlich.


89%

Die Lage ist einfach ein Traum. Das Preis/Leistungsverhältnis ist unschlagbar. Die Crew ist nett und das Boot echt gemütlich. Sicherlich darf man auf einem Hostelboat keinen 5 Sterne Luxus erwarten. Auch die Wände der Kabinen sind ziemlich dünn und wenn morgens die Türen beim wach werden fliegen, hat man das gefühl auf einem Kanonenboot zu schlafen ;) . Alles in allem aber SUPER.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A lovely stay on the Hotelboat. Would highly recommend this to others and will stay here again if I am in Amsterdam. Hosts were very pleasant and the breakfasts were great. The boat is close to town which saved us money on transport costs.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


(49 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback