X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hotelboat Reviews

Postbus 16645, Oosterdok, pier n 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
743 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

We liked the hostel a lot. The location is great despite it's 15 minutes walking from the Central Station. It's quiet and beautiful especially at night. There's a free public library and science center very close. The hostesses are amazing people, kind and helpful. The cabins are small but there's privacy so it's worth it. Anyway, Amsterdam is definitely not a city to spend time in hostels or hotels, it's for great adventure! so go and discover this lovely city!


97%

Can be a bit noisy, but that is up to every guest to start using the door knob etc.


77%

Great location and quite fun to stay on a boat, but with the walls being thin, it was really noisy (hearing other guests), and you can feel it when someone in the next room turns over in bed! Ear plugs were required. Otherwise all fine for a simple place to stay in the centre of town. Satisfactory breakfast and facilities. Would be nice if you could provide secure luggage storage like a hotel though...

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a 3 day break in March. The owner was fantastic - friendly, helpful and informative. We would highly recommend staying here to anyone just because he was so lovely. Really, it's hard to think of any criticisms at all about the Hotelboat. Our only regret is that we failed to get up in time to try the breakfast both mornings of our stay!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good highly recommended will be staying again

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Great experience if you ever wanted to stay on a boat-hostel. The managers are super sweet and take the time to help you with anything you might need. Breakfast is buffet-styled with different types of bread, cheeses, jams, and even meat! Very walkable to anywhere, I highly recommend this place. The only downside is that the rooms are a bit small with just one outlet and wifi only works in the commons. Other than that, staying here was a delight.


97%

We stayed at the Hotelboat for two nights and had a pleasant vacation in Amsterdam. The staff was incredibly nice and helped with everything. The welcome was warm and friendly and due to the familiar atmosphere very different to other hostels in which we stayed earlier.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

very nice. rooms quite small! but cosy.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a really nice stay. To my mind the location is brilliant. Everything is nearby but it's also quiet. The only thing I would bring next time is my own hair dryer :) The staff is really lovely and try to make your stay really nice.


94%

If you are looking for a clean, nice-located, comfortable house boat, this is definitely the best choice. My girlfriend and I lived there for a weekend, and the service is nice, room is clean. Though it is a bit smaller, but it is how the houseboat is supported to be. The price is very reasonable, a twin room is about 50 per night. If you want to experience the life in house boat, it is defenitely the best choice.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Only was here for a night but it was a good experience. Good value for money. Owner is a real cool guy, will help you out with what ever you need. We did not hear much noise when we were in our room which was nice. Has free internet in the common room area. Breakfast is nice. Nothing fancy but gets the job done. I would happily stay at this place again and recommend it to a friend.


100%

First off, Hecter and his wife are lovely. You are severed breakfast daily and it was nice they changed the serving time for NY for those who were hungover. The place is very clean and if you have been on a sailing Croatia boat, it is bigger (obviously two person room so not a huge dorm) and doesn't smell. The boat being docked in the corner of a boat, makes it not rocky and the location is 5-10 minutes walk to things which made it extremely convenient to go out and come back at any time.


86%

Cannot be faulted, location, friendliness, fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam. Only negative was the noise, every footstep, unlocking door, everything could be heard right through the night. Hardwood floors were beautiful but acted like an amplifier and we did not sleep well. Suggest more strict with guests on noisemaking, consider sound proofing the ship or at least asking guests to wear soft soled slippers whilst on board.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It's perfect! I'd really recommend it to all my friends!


100%

As soon as you enter the boat, you feel warmth and happiness. It certainly is a home away from home. The hosts are amazing people, so friendly and make the perfect atmosphere for you to enjoy your stay and never want to leave. You both should be very proud, we love your boat and will recommend you to everyone. Thank you so much for the experience x

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Although the location, free breakfast and shared facilities are good, there is no kitchen or atmosphere and the rooms have a lot to be desired. They are incredibly small which is understandable given that it's a boat, however the noise really is unbearable even with ear plugs. It's literally like sleeping in a sound tunnel. It was unfortunately the only place available over the busy new year period however in comparison to a standard dorm is not worth the extra cost. Would not stay again.


100%

Very very nice owner, it's always super cool to arrive in an hostel and to find someone nice, with the smile, helpful,... a good guy :) Bedrooms are small, and we can here what s going on around : take your ear plugs ! ;) Showers and toilets are quiet big, and very clean. good breakfast and nice presentation. Very very good time in the awesome city. Also the localisation is perfect.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Most wonderful place to stay, the owners wee so lovely and helpful. Great location and the place had a really good atmosphere. Will definitely stay again next time I am in Amsterdam.


94%

Our two nights were excellent, rooms are small but it's well organized, breakfast is huge, staff is really nice and they helped us a lot when we asked them advices to go to Leiden by bike ! Good location : near to the train station and the city center. Living on a boat is original and cool.


94%

really enjoyed the stay, staff is perfect, the rooms could not be cleaner and there's a lot to choose of for breakfast. it's a good 10 mins walk into the city center and train station, approx. 30 mins to the rijksmuseum. would definitely return to this place in case of another stay in amsterdam.


(410 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback