X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hotelboat Reviews

Postbus 16645, Oosterdok, pier n 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
727 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

il s'agit de cabine dans une péniche. du coup l'espace est très restreint...et il n'y a que des lits superposés. sinon c'est vraiment sympa comme cadre. par contre, qui dit bateau à plusieurs, dit que c'est bruyant...n'oubliez pas vos boules quiès!


97%

Staff was really friendly and helpful. Great value with breakfast. 13min walk to Amsterdam Centrale. The rooms and beds are small but then again, you are staying on a boat.


100%

To be honest I wasn't expecting too much, but when I got there I was amazed by the bostel!! Everything is perfect there. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I will try to stay there again!


77%

Es hat uns gut gefallen, wir würden wieder kommen. Das Frühstück war sehr lecker, die Begrüssung war nett! Dank den Bewertungen/Bemerkungen haben wir gewusst, dass das Boot nicht so gut schallisoliert ist. Auf den Fotos sehen die Kabinen grösser aus als in WIrklichkeit, das täuscht etwas. Die Anfahrtsbeschreibung war schlecht, wir haben uns mehrfach verfahren - das ist ärgerlich und unnötig.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The only thing that one could possible notice is that the rooms are not so perfectly soundproof - but its a boat ... one could expect that and the other visitors were quiet at night - I slept perfectly. The atmosphere was very nice. The rooms are simple, but nice and clean - I felt very comfortable. The breakfast is also simple, but good enough for a good morning. The price is unbeatable and the staff is very nice.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This place was lovely, clean, quiet an only a 10 minute walk into this beutiful old city! The breakfast had a selection of col meats, cheeses, cereals, juice, coffee as tea were provided all day! The owners greeted us with happy smiles and were there to help with any questions. The only small complaint was that the wifi didn't reach down into the cabins. BUT I would DEFINETLY stay there again! Thank you for a nice stay :)


89%

Really enjoyable stay. Bedrooms are clean but basic. Easy access to the station and central Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Such good value for money! We were so impressed by Hotelboat - had everything we needed, even breakfast! And it was really fun to stay on a boat. The location was really good, only a ten minute walk from the red light district.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Das Amsterdam Hotelboat ist eine preisgünstige Alternative zu einem normalen Hotel. Ca. 10 Minuten vom Bahnhof entfernt mit einem tollen Ausblick vom Deck und vom Aufenthaltsraum. Das Frühstücksbuffet ist gut und reichlich. Zimmer und Sanitäranlagen sind absolut sauber. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Man kann auch gekühlte Getränke zu einem vernünftigen Preis kaufen. Nach dem Checkout kann man das Gepäck auch noch bis zu einem späteren Abreisezeitpunkt auf dem Boot lassen.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

esta bueno , bien ubicado , excelente desayuno , y muy buena onda de los dueños. pero ojo. La habitacion es lo mas pequeño q vi en mi vida. hasta cuesta cambiarte ... asi y todo , volvería..


86%

Very nice, great breakfast.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very cozy hotel with excellent location. Staff was really helpful and the sun deck was amazing! Breakfast included really makes this even more worth the money. Walking in the halls causes noise, if the hotel guest don't take into consideration the fact that boat hallways do echo (or if they are just too into playing elephants)


100%

Highly recommended. The owners are genuinely kind people ! The boat is tastefully decorated & clean. The rooms are quaint and comfortable, sink in the room. The shared toilets/showers were always clean. Breakfast was delicious. Beers and sodas for purchase and free tea and coffee all day - nice touch. They provided a city map and recommended nice places to go. We loved the Indonesian restaurant they told us to try, thank you for a lovely stay! Also kind enough to store our luggage after checkout


89%

Preis-Leistungsverhältnis stimmt auf jeden Fall!! Wir sind nicht mit hohen Erwartungen gekommen, da es uns hauptsächlich um die Tage in der Stadt ging und nicht darum wo wir schlafen. Aber wir wurden positiv überrascht!! Die Bootsatmosphäre ist wirklich schön, wenn man zwischendurch auf dem Deck in der Sonne ausspannt oder in der Kajüte aufwacht mit Blick aufs Oosterdok. Die Lage ist perfekt, nachts ruhig, tagsüber fast alles zu Fuß erreichbar. Die Leute auf dem Boot sind sehr nett!! Super!!

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was such a lovely place to stay ! the hosts were friendly and the other people staying were all very pleasant and made the trip !

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We liked the hostel a lot. The location is great despite it's 15 minutes walking from the Central Station. It's quiet and beautiful especially at night. There's a free public library and science center very close. The hostesses are amazing people, kind and helpful. The cabins are small but there's privacy so it's worth it. Anyway, Amsterdam is definitely not a city to spend time in hostels or hotels, it's for great adventure! so go and discover this lovely city!


97%

Can be a bit noisy, but that is up to every guest to start using the door knob etc.


80%

Ein wirklich schönes Hostelboot in guter Lage mit gutem Frühstück! Die Kabinen und Duschen, etc. waren sauber und gut. Insgesammt ist es sehr hellhörig, aber das ist bei einem Boot auch zu erwarten. Mit Ohrenstöpseln wars super.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location and quite fun to stay on a boat, but with the walls being thin, it was really noisy (hearing other guests), and you can feel it when someone in the next room turns over in bed! Ear plugs were required. Otherwise all fine for a simple place to stay in the centre of town. Satisfactory breakfast and facilities. Would be nice if you could provide secure luggage storage like a hotel though...

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a 3 day break in March. The owner was fantastic - friendly, helpful and informative. We would highly recommend staying here to anyone just because he was so lovely. Really, it's hard to think of any criticisms at all about the Hotelboat. Our only regret is that we failed to get up in time to try the breakfast both mornings of our stay!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(72 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback