X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hotelboat Reviews

Postbus 16645, Oosterdok, pier n 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
736 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

OMG what a great place to stay. The boat is spotless and everything is in like new condition. The captain is very personable and is very familiar with the US. It's only a short walk to the good parts of the city and to the tram stop and train station. Beds were comfortable. There are beverages available on the honor system, and the deck looks like it would be a good place to chill if it's not raining. It was just wonderful.


91%

The hostel is close to the central station and has a very nice atmosphere. The owners are very kind and helpful. The rooms are very small and there is no wifi only upstairs in the shared area, but this is a boat so this should be no surprise :) The toilets and showers are clean, the breakfast is nice, you can have tea or coffee anytime free and there is a book exchange shelf as well with a lot of english books. If you are looking for a place sg less ordinary, I can recommend this hostel :)


94%

Vale realmente muito a pena, um lugar diferente, confortável e agradável. Perto da estação central, vista ótima. Quarto pequeno porem suficiente, tem pia dentro do quarto com água quente, oferecem toalhas. Banheiro separado do chuveiro o que facilita muito, café da manhã simples mais gostoso. recepção pronta a ajudar. Quanto ao barulho, considerando que é um barco, é um pouco normal e de se esperar. Recomendo.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Très bien placé, gérants très sympas. Cabines sur la peniche un peu petites mais tout est dans un écrin très cosy et très propre. On s y sent bien et à l aise. Emplacement loin du tumulte de la ville et très proche de l hyper centre en même temps.


94%

Für einen kurzen Trip mit Leuten ohne besondere Komfortbedürfnisse - perfekt! Atmosphäre auf so einem Boot zu schlafen - einzigartig! Personal ist superfreundlich! Sehr zu empfehlen!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The overall feeling is good, and the host is a nice guy, but the space in the room is a little narrow, since the average price in Amsterdam is high, so I can't really say if it is valuable to spend around €30 per person per night at this place.


91%

TOP!! Auf der Suche nach einem günstigen und zentralen Hotel sind wir auf das Hotelboat Amsterdam gestoßen und wurden nicht enttäuscht. Super Service und freundliches Personal. Auf all unsre Fragen und Wünsche wurde eingegangen. In wenigen Minuten konnte man zu Fuß die Innenstadt/Bahnhof erreichen; auch ein Bus hält direkt an der Liegestelle des Hotelboots. Auch kein Geschaukel war wahrzunehmen, wo wir anfangs erst einmal skeptisch waren. ;) Die Zimmer sind sehr klein und überschaubar, aber ok

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

il s'agit de cabine dans une péniche. du coup l'espace est très restreint...et il n'y a que des lits superposés. sinon c'est vraiment sympa comme cadre. par contre, qui dit bateau à plusieurs, dit que c'est bruyant...n'oubliez pas vos boules quiès!


97%

Staff was really friendly and helpful. Great value with breakfast. 13min walk to Amsterdam Centrale. The rooms and beds are small but then again, you are staying on a boat.


100%

To be honest I wasn't expecting too much, but when I got there I was amazed by the bostel!! Everything is perfect there. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I will try to stay there again!


77%

Es hat uns gut gefallen, wir würden wieder kommen. Das Frühstück war sehr lecker, die Begrüssung war nett! Dank den Bewertungen/Bemerkungen haben wir gewusst, dass das Boot nicht so gut schallisoliert ist. Auf den Fotos sehen die Kabinen grösser aus als in WIrklichkeit, das täuscht etwas. Die Anfahrtsbeschreibung war schlecht, wir haben uns mehrfach verfahren - das ist ärgerlich und unnötig.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The only thing that one could possible notice is that the rooms are not so perfectly soundproof - but its a boat ... one could expect that and the other visitors were quiet at night - I slept perfectly. The atmosphere was very nice. The rooms are simple, but nice and clean - I felt very comfortable. The breakfast is also simple, but good enough for a good morning. The price is unbeatable and the staff is very nice.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This place was lovely, clean, quiet an only a 10 minute walk into this beutiful old city! The breakfast had a selection of col meats, cheeses, cereals, juice, coffee as tea were provided all day! The owners greeted us with happy smiles and were there to help with any questions. The only small complaint was that the wifi didn't reach down into the cabins. BUT I would DEFINETLY stay there again! Thank you for a nice stay :)


89%

Really enjoyable stay. Bedrooms are clean but basic. Easy access to the station and central Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Such good value for money! We were so impressed by Hotelboat - had everything we needed, even breakfast! And it was really fun to stay on a boat. The location was really good, only a ten minute walk from the red light district.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Das Amsterdam Hotelboat ist eine preisgünstige Alternative zu einem normalen Hotel. Ca. 10 Minuten vom Bahnhof entfernt mit einem tollen Ausblick vom Deck und vom Aufenthaltsraum. Das Frühstücksbuffet ist gut und reichlich. Zimmer und Sanitäranlagen sind absolut sauber. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Man kann auch gekühlte Getränke zu einem vernünftigen Preis kaufen. Nach dem Checkout kann man das Gepäck auch noch bis zu einem späteren Abreisezeitpunkt auf dem Boot lassen.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

esta bueno , bien ubicado , excelente desayuno , y muy buena onda de los dueños. pero ojo. La habitacion es lo mas pequeño q vi en mi vida. hasta cuesta cambiarte ... asi y todo , volvería..


86%

Very nice, great breakfast.


97%

Very cozy hotel with excellent location. Staff was really helpful and the sun deck was amazing! Breakfast included really makes this even more worth the money. Walking in the halls causes noise, if the hotel guest don't take into consideration the fact that boat hallways do echo (or if they are just too into playing elephants)


100%

Highly recommended. The owners are genuinely kind people ! The boat is tastefully decorated & clean. The rooms are quaint and comfortable, sink in the room. The shared toilets/showers were always clean. Breakfast was delicious. Beers and sodas for purchase and free tea and coffee all day - nice touch. They provided a city map and recommended nice places to go. We loved the Indonesian restaurant they told us to try, thank you for a lovely stay! Also kind enough to store our luggage after checkout


(74 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback