X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam-Inn Reviews

Haarlemmerstraat 79B, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

54%

Rating
263 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 40%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 20%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

IT WAS TOO DIRTY AND YOU WERE THINKING OF SLEEPING IN THESE SHEETS. THE MONEY WE SPENT TO STAY FOR 5 NIGHTS DIDN'T WIRTH IT! A PROBLEM WAS ALSO CREATED WHEN THEY ASKED US FOR MORE MONEY FOR TAX THAT WE DIDN'T KNOW. NOT A NORMAL DUPLICATE RECEIPT WAS GIVEN. ONLY A PAPER. NO FACILITIES BUT THE PERSON HOLDING THE HOSTEL WAS KIND ENOUGH AND VERY HELPFUL. THE LOCATION WAS THE ONLY POSITIVE THING OF THIS HOSTEL. IT WAS 5 MIN WALKING FROM AMSTERDAM CENTRAAL STATION.


86%

This hostel can seem a bit surrealistic, because the only clue it's an hostel is a little"b and b" sticker next to the ring bell, because the stairways have no handrail, or because one of the room (maybe all) looks like the cabin of a boat....! But all those little crazy things about this hostel, plus the fact that you feel like at home (no posters, no adds, nothing) and that the receptionnist is really easy-going, make of this hostel a really good place to stay. We already want to come back !

  • 22nd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Room had very limited space. bedding and sheets were not cleaned to an acceptable standard. The bathroom facilities were uncomfortably small and sink and mirror were not cleaned. Shower holder was broken. For the money we paid per night, the standards were not high enough at all. However, Hostel staff was polite.


71%

Good location. No signs of the hostel on the street, only on the doorbell was written B&B. The staff was friendly. We were in the room for 3 pax. It was very small. There was only one chair, which we used as a hanger to leave our clothes. Despite the small room, the beds were comfy and overall it was good value for money


49%

Definately book a proper b&b! Bed Bugs!! Super unclean toilet conspicuous stain on a cloth that was provided as a hand towel, gross shower, the bloke was pretty unfriendly on the last morning - banging on our door at 9am shouting get up & get out we knew when the checkout was. Great Location

  • 23rd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Noooo..........

  • 2nd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

Staff were very un helpful and rude, the place was filthy, with blood on walls and floor from people injecting drugs. Didnt feel safe there the ASmsterdam Inn completely ruined my time in what is a very nice city. AVOID!!!!

  • 19th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

I have stayed in many hostels so was not expecting 5 star rooms of course, we had the room with a private bathroom which was filthy and the toilet hadn't even been cleaned! There was also dirty underwear on the floor from the previous guests!! Thank goodness the location was fab so at least that made up for it i guess.....


94%

Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam for few days: 5 min walking from the center, cheap price, really kind and welcomin' staff. Tv and fridge in the room!!!! I do not understand all the negative reviews...this is the perfect solution for a cheap stay in Amsterdam. If you need a 4 star hotel you can go and pay more...I highly recommend Amsterdam-Inn to everybody!:) Thanks to the guy that manages all the B&B by his own!!:)


77%

much better than we thought, the bathroom a little small but overall a pleasant room, the location is fantastic, in 10 minutes walk you are in dam square!

  • 1st Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Stunning location, but! Room in the middle of October was FREEZING as there was no heating and the worst part.. Linen was full of bed bugs!! Its a shame I only realized that on a last day. But when I say full, I mean full.

  • 29th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great room, great owner, couldn't have asked for more


74%

The hostel is absolute suitable for or a city trip with only 1 or 2 nights in Amsterdam and if you are looking for a clean place to take a shower and get some rest!

  • 29th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The inn was quite unique but lovely. The staff are friendly. The location is great!


63%

We choose that hostel just because of the location that met our expectation in 100%. Hostel is located in quiet part of the city, in walking distance to the centre( 5 minutes walk from central station) surrendered with few charming streets and nice breakfasts spots. The biggest disappointment was cleanness of the room - far away from the standard :(. Despite of that hostel is still good for those who r just looking for quite place to stay in noise city and having their own linen.

  • 18th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is really good near central station and centre of the city, and close to canals. But the bathroom.was so small.


37%

Dirty and small. When we arrived there was not even changed on the bed, and the bathroom was so small we had problems standing up. And the mirror was covered in something black so you almost couldn't see youself, and it was placed 130 centimeters from the ground, I don't know who can be that small? Good luck if you're staying here! NOTE - it's called bed and breakfast, but WITHOUT breakfast...


91%

Nice and always give you useful suggestion for your trip if you have question in travelling. Very good. Nice view outside the boat =]

  • 24th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Our room was so small that with all our beds down you couldn't open the door (Fire hazard) the bathroom was tiny with no sink and you had to walk through the shower to get to the toilet. The location was great, being right in the center on a street full of shops. Tinned sardines have more room.


77%

We stayed in a room for 2 which was spacious enough for our needs. The bathroom facilities were also more than OK. In general it's just an average hostel, but what would you expect for this lower price range. The location makes it likely that I might visit this hostel again in the future.


(157 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback