X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Truelove Guesthouse and Antiques Reviews

Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 DC, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
593 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Staff were very helpful, we were given lots of tips and pointers to the city on arrival and while walking to the guestrooms, a 5-10 minute walk from the address listed which is an antiques shop. Rooms we had was big with all basic facilities but the fridge on a small rickety table and the boiler were quite loud at night (a door on the shower room would block this out), the bed wasn't very comfy, and the narrow and steep stairs are quite difficult with luggage (though staff helped us at check-in)


89%

Nice and cosy place with lovely furniture and very friendly staff. The room was clean and the area was the perfect place to stay. I can highly recommend this guest house.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

need to take care of the mosquito infestion from the small court yard/light well. It was impossible to leave windows open among the summer heatwave.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Really bad that we didnt get any info about that we were going to stay at a completely different adress in another area.


97%

Albert is a lovely man. We will be there again. Perfect for couples.


97%

It's one of the nicer hostels i've ever been. The staff is very kind and helpful. The room is beautiful and the location is great. The only thing is that the reception is not always open so you can't leave your baggage if he's not there..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice comments and good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. thanks again for the reservation best regards paul

89%

Great place for a limited budget. Close to railway station and city center. Very good service!

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Breakfast not included but we had a microwave oven and an electric kettle. The room was big and wifi worked well. Big problem: you have to call to check in, and they inform you that a bar across the street lets you use the phone, but it's a LIE. Though we had sent him an e-mail confirming the arrival time that day, we had to wait 3 hours (and borrow someone's cellphone) for him to show up. When he did come, he did everything hastily and confessed having read the e-mail and not caring about it.


97%

Had a wonderful stay here in 2013 - beautiful apartment in an excellent location :) staff extremely helpful and nice!


100%

Truelove guesthouse was amazing. Daniel was very welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and beautiful. I hope I travel to Amsterdam again soon, and if I do, I will want to stay here again.


97%

I've been there for three days in June with my girlfriend and it was great. Daniel was very helpful with the map of the city and the things we should check out in Amsterdam. Our apartment was in Noordermarkt street and it was big and clean with a lot of space. The location was perfect, 10min walk to the center. I would definitely recomend the Truelove Guesthouse and Antiques in Amsterdam!

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice place. Be prepared for up to a 5 min walk to where you are staying from check-in but you are shown the way. Room was very clean, especially compared to the state we saw it in when dropping our bags there at lunch time as it was being cleaned! The room we were in was in a great location, only a few minutes from Centraal station and Dam Square. Would definitely stay again.


100%

Loved my stay. The two that owned the place could not be any nicer.

  • 28th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

True love is not a hostel. They give you different apartments around the city so it depends on where you get placed but I was very happy with our apartment. It was clean and modern.


71%

The Location was very nice but we didn't like the room to be in the first floor. The bed was near the big "Shopping"-window, which didn't make us feel very comfortable.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

it was a very small room, it smelled really sweat, was very noisy, and it was very bad that the bed was very bad (I have now after 4 days still suffer from back pain that I have suffered through this bad bed) in accordance with the payment we had a deluxe room with bath (this was a small room with no bath and very bad bed so) and according to the booking site was a B & B (ie incl breakfast, which also was not so in reality so). So we are not satisfi, greeting JF Nieuwland

  • 20th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely lovely thanks very much

  • 16th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Brilliant place to stay for what we wanted. Stayed in a great ground floor flat in a very nice quiet location. Did keep curtains closed though due to being right on the street. My only slight criticism is that it needed a new mattress on the bed and a new duvet and pillows. They weren't dirty just needed a bit of a facelift.


83%

Spent 5 days with my girlfriend at TrueLove Guest house and we were reasonably impressed with the room and everything. It's a perfect location for a couple. The room was nice an clean, and had everything we needed. The location is very convenient, it's close to Central Station and all the central attractions. We meet Daniel in the morning, who kept out baggages safe until the room was ready. We freaked out a little when we heard him arguing on the phone with the person in charge of cleaning our


86%

Hello, we just spent 3nights at Truelove Guesthouse. We found the location very convenient (near by foot to the city center but also in na calm and nice area near from the water). The house is very typical but you need to climb stears so don't be too old or disabled people. The owner is helpfull; we could let our luggage a bit longer in the Guesthouse the last day before going to the airport. We enjoyed the romantic bedroom in the bedroom number 2.

  • 28th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(437 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback