X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Ananas Samui Hostel Reviews

103/13 M.2, T.Maret, Koh Samui, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
104 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Ananas is a lovely hostel run by a lovely family who are very attentive and helpful. The place has a nice community feel about it and every day you met someone new. Food and drink is very cheap there which you can enjoy by the nice pool they have. Just 2 considerations - 1.) the location, costs between 500 - 800bht to get to Chewang and takes 30 - 45mins depending on when you go. 2.) The bar shuts at 8.30pm - which is a factor because of the secluded location. Other than that, brilliant.


69%

Relax atmosphere and peaceful area. You can rent a scooter to visit the island. Don't go there if you plan to go to the airport. It will cost you a lot of money. Also, the receptionist is a typical Thai from the south of Thailand: as long as you have money he will smile at you.


71%

If you like cleanliness, this is your place to stay! It's a little bit far from the airport end form the pier though... And when you check out, he doesn't want you to be around anymore....


71%

Walking distance from the Hostel, there was nothing around. You would have to take a cab into downtown for food, stores and entertainment. The facilities were nice and clean. The rooms had AC which was great. If you're looking for a place just to stay in, then this is a good Hostel to do so. But if you want to walk around and explore, or just go grab something to eat, this hostel has a poor location.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Tony & his mum work very hard!Lovely, helpful,kind people,ended up staying longer,Thank u!There are a couple things u should consider seriously though: 1.Location=far away from everything, good only if u want a couple rest days.Had nice quiet times @beach &pool, but there's nothing around,so u're forced to eat there,but portions r small,30%pricier,& restaurant closes@8. 2.you have to walk barefoot everywhere,but shower floors r often wet,have a foot fungus now. 3.wild dogs around..take stick!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Food consumption depends on the individual. What we know is more than 90% guest came back to eat with us after a ride round the island. Your footwear (that you normally wear on the street) cannot be worn once you reach the building (culture), your personal bath sandals, slippers can be worn, you can wear anything by the pool area. There were guests who stay for weeks, none of them got foot diseases. Dogs bark to protect themselves, they do no harm.

100%

Well Tony what are my thoughts about my stay Hmmmm don't worry I/WE/EVERYONE had a great time best ever and after weeks of travelling through Krabi, Penang KL and Bangkok your still number 1 :) Keep up the good work and keep the Chang on ice (coming from a true Scotsman) lol Say hi to your mother she is a wizard in the kitchen and missing her cooking and laughter already Great outdoor common area by the swimming pool where everyone relaxed and chatted away. 5* hostel, thanks for the lift, Gary C


100%

Very cozy and relaxing hostel. A bit far from the hotspots, but there are plenty of bikes to rent. Nice way to see the island and then when you get back you can chill at the pool! You also get a good nights sleep and the staff are the best. Highly recommended!


97%

A brilliant hostel! Tony was very helpful in organising day trips. Good wifi signal, laundry services, great food and shakes at the bar. Private swimming pool with great hostel atmosphere. A little far from the airport and main beach but that's more because Samui is a bit bigger so everything is a bit more spread out. Room was big enough to store your stuff, and had AC and comfortable beds with towels and linen provided. I would definitely recommend a stay here!


97%

Enjoyed a warm welcoming stay at the Ananas Hostel on Koh Samui. Tony & his mum were amazing hosts, it almost felt like home. The cuisine a la Mama was outstanding, fresh and authentic. Would always stay again should I happen to return to Koh Samui. Well done, enjoy and keep up the good spirit :-))

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Don't come here alone during low season. Though ananas itself is really nice but you can't go anywhere without spending hundreds of baths to call a taxi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Travelling in Low season is not a bad idea. All our facilities will turn into your private property. You will have your own room, bathroom, your personal TV room, your private swimming pool with garden, your personal chef and many more.... Imagine how much you have to spend the money for all the above mentioned facilities just for yourself :) At Ananas, it will cost you just hostel price.

57%

Pros: Very clean hostel. Cons: Far away from everything, rude staff, very boring hostel, and no AC between certain hours. Do not walk around in the neighbourhood. There are guard dogs in the area that will chase you down and attack you. It happened once when I was walking and a second time when I was on a scooter. Also after staying a few nights I tried to cancel my reservation because I had to leave. The staff was very rude because they were losing money. Terrible customer service!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Surprise to receive this review after all we've done to please him.He look so happy when he join different guest(that we introduce)who rent scooter to travel on the island everyday(free).The money was given right away when he cancel.We politely explain when he got upset that he didn't read website's policy regarding non-refundable deposit money that he agreed on before booking.There is no reason to be upset to you,we have other guest to fill your space(to be honest).Not everyone is a pet person

89%

Very nice guesthouse.very clean. Nice stuff..good food..quiet Atmosphere to relax..too quiet to party (in the guesthouse)..bar/ Restaurant close too early in my opinion.at about 8-8.30pm..but it was a really good stay @ ananas samui hostel..

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Pros: The aircon common area is very comfy and the tv has lots of movie channels. The pool is a major plus, and the restaurant is both tasty and reasonably priced. All the facilities were spotless. Cons: The aircon in the dorm room had to be off 12pm-6pm (ie the hottest part of the day), which was inconvenient. Also, there isn't good beach access, and the nearby beach isn't very nice. And it's in a deserted area. Overall: If you want to unwind and not go anywhere, this is the perfect spot.


91%

Really clean and immaculate hostel, the pool is great and so is the food served by it. Great place to relax, you would just need a scooter to get around as it's a few kilometres from the nearest shops and restaurants.


91%

Ananas is the perfect backpackers hostel! - clean, friendly and good value for money. Tony is so kind and helpful as is his mother who cooks amazing food! We loved our stay at Ananas and would definitely go back there.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Impeccably clean, beautiful property, great pool and outdoor area, and you will not find nicer or more helpful staff ANYWHERE. Tony and his mom are wonderful. Two negatives: 1) wifi is extremely inconsistent even in the lobby, if it works at all, and 2) hostel location...it is far away from everything, so transportation to/from town gets expensive fast. Stay here for a quiet, relaxing, break from intense travelling and partying, and you won't be disappointed. Very chill, perfect for a rest.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating and comments. We would like to apologize for the internet connection during your stay. Now the internet cable is fix and work even better than before. Regards,

97%

This hostel definitely exceeded my expectations. It is the perfect set up if you want to get away from the busy part of Koh Samui, sit by the pool, meet people in a relaxing environment. I am a big foodie & the food was A + and an affordable compared to the busy and tourist parts of Koh Samui. All the reviews really speak for itself. Big thumbs up to Tony and his new businesss.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel away from the busy area of town which keeps it quiet and great to relax. Tony and his mom are great hosts and provide you with a quality stay far above what you are paying. The food is amazing, the pool cool and the hangout area perfect to meet other travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your rating. It was great to have you here with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

94%

Was echt supergezellig! Het enige nadeel was de locatie. Ligt dicht bij strand, maar strand stelt niets voor en niemand ligt daar. Wel kan je bij het hostel een scooter huren voor 250 baht per dag. Hierdoor kan je overal heen. Maar verder ligt er niets in de buurt. Hostel zelf is heel mooi en heel leuk!


97%

Would definitely recommend anyone staying here.. Such lovely friendly welcoming staff, really clean all throughout the hostel.. It's more like a resort than a hostel!! (but at a reasonable price). Had such a great time here, would stay again!!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Koh Samui Hostels

Please give us your feedback