X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ananas Samui Hostel Reviews

103/13 M.2, T.Maret, Koh Samui, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Tony & his mum work very hard!Lovely, helpful,kind people,ended up staying longer,Thank u!There are a couple things u should consider seriously though: 1.Location=far away from everything, good only if u want a couple rest days.Had nice quiet times @beach &pool, but there's nothing around,so u're forced to eat there,but portions r small,30%pricier,& restaurant closes@8. 2.you have to walk barefoot everywhere,but shower floors r often wet,have a foot fungus now. 3.wild dogs around..take stick!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Food consumption depends on the individual. What we know is more than 90% guest came back to eat with us after a ride round the island. Your footwear (that you normally wear on the street) cannot be worn once you reach the building (culture), your personal bath sandals, slippers can be worn, you can wear anything by the pool area. There were guests who stay for weeks, none of them got foot diseases. Dogs bark to protect themselves, they do no harm.

100%

Very cozy and relaxing hostel. A bit far from the hotspots, but there are plenty of bikes to rent. Nice way to see the island and then when you get back you can chill at the pool! You also get a good nights sleep and the staff are the best. Highly recommended!


97%

A brilliant hostel! Tony was very helpful in organising day trips. Good wifi signal, laundry services, great food and shakes at the bar. Private swimming pool with great hostel atmosphere. A little far from the airport and main beach but that's more because Samui is a bit bigger so everything is a bit more spread out. Room was big enough to store your stuff, and had AC and comfortable beds with towels and linen provided. I would definitely recommend a stay here!


97%

Enjoyed a warm welcoming stay at the Ananas Hostel on Koh Samui. Tony & his mum were amazing hosts, it almost felt like home. The cuisine a la Mama was outstanding, fresh and authentic. Would always stay again should I happen to return to Koh Samui. Well done, enjoy and keep up the good spirit :-))

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Don't come here alone during low season. Though ananas itself is really nice but you can't go anywhere without spending hundreds of baths to call a taxi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Travelling in Low season is not a bad idea. All our facilities will turn into your private property. You will have your own room, bathroom, your personal TV room, your private swimming pool with garden, your personal chef and many more.... Imagine how much you have to spend the money for all the above mentioned facilities just for yourself :) At Ananas, it will cost you just hostel price.

57%

Pros: Very clean hostel. Cons: Far away from everything, rude staff, very boring hostel, and no AC between certain hours. Do not walk around in the neighbourhood. There are guard dogs in the area that will chase you down and attack you. It happened once when I was walking and a second time when I was on a scooter. Also after staying a few nights I tried to cancel my reservation because I had to leave. The staff was very rude because they were losing money. Terrible customer service!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Surprise to receive this review after all we've done to please him.He look so happy when he join different guest(that we introduce)who rent scooter to travel on the island everyday(free).The money was given right away when he cancel.We politely explain when he got upset that he didn't read website's policy regarding non-refundable deposit money that he agreed on before booking.There is no reason to be upset to you,we have other guest to fill your space(to be honest).Not everyone is a pet person

89%

Very nice guesthouse.very clean. Nice stuff..good food..quiet Atmosphere to relax..too quiet to party (in the guesthouse)..bar/ Restaurant close too early in my opinion.at about 8-8.30pm..but it was a really good stay @ ananas samui hostel..

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Pros: The aircon common area is very comfy and the tv has lots of movie channels. The pool is a major plus, and the restaurant is both tasty and reasonably priced. All the facilities were spotless. Cons: The aircon in the dorm room had to be off 12pm-6pm (ie the hottest part of the day), which was inconvenient. Also, there isn't good beach access, and the nearby beach isn't very nice. And it's in a deserted area. Overall: If you want to unwind and not go anywhere, this is the perfect spot.


91%

Really clean and immaculate hostel, the pool is great and so is the food served by it. Great place to relax, you would just need a scooter to get around as it's a few kilometres from the nearest shops and restaurants.


91%

Ananas is the perfect backpackers hostel! - clean, friendly and good value for money. Tony is so kind and helpful as is his mother who cooks amazing food! We loved our stay at Ananas and would definitely go back there.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Impeccably clean, beautiful property, great pool and outdoor area, and you will not find nicer or more helpful staff ANYWHERE. Tony and his mom are wonderful. Two negatives: 1) wifi is extremely inconsistent even in the lobby, if it works at all, and 2) hostel location...it is far away from everything, so transportation to/from town gets expensive fast. Stay here for a quiet, relaxing, break from intense travelling and partying, and you won't be disappointed. Very chill, perfect for a rest.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating and comments. We would like to apologize for the internet connection during your stay. Now the internet cable is fix and work even better than before. Regards,

97%

This hostel definitely exceeded my expectations. It is the perfect set up if you want to get away from the busy part of Koh Samui, sit by the pool, meet people in a relaxing environment. I am a big foodie & the food was A + and an affordable compared to the busy and tourist parts of Koh Samui. All the reviews really speak for itself. Big thumbs up to Tony and his new businesss.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel away from the busy area of town which keeps it quiet and great to relax. Tony and his mom are great hosts and provide you with a quality stay far above what you are paying. The food is amazing, the pool cool and the hangout area perfect to meet other travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your rating. It was great to have you here with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

94%

Was echt supergezellig! Het enige nadeel was de locatie. Ligt dicht bij strand, maar strand stelt niets voor en niemand ligt daar. Wel kan je bij het hostel een scooter huren voor 250 baht per dag. Hierdoor kan je overal heen. Maar verder ligt er niets in de buurt. Hostel zelf is heel mooi en heel leuk!


97%

Would definitely recommend anyone staying here.. Such lovely friendly welcoming staff, really clean all throughout the hostel.. It's more like a resort than a hostel!! (but at a reasonable price). Had such a great time here, would stay again!!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a extraordinary hostel with by far the Best service feeling from the super host Tony and his mom! These guys know how to make people feel like home. This is not only a top hostel service vise, the hostel could easily step in as a star rated hotel with the cleanness, swimingpool, lovely common areas and great food and beverage. I loved the fact that it's not located in the most touristic area. It geathers the stayers, rent scooters n expore the island by day, enjoy a few cold ones in avo!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I rarely leave a review, but Tony and his hostel deserve a 100% score! The atmosphere is just amazing and if you don't mind being a bit away from the crazy busy town and want to relax, Ananas is the place to go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your rating. We are more than happy to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future. Tony.

100%

Top notch! Best hostel in Thailand by far. Staff are delightful - nice, helpful, friendly. Lovely and clean. Pool provides a great place to chill out. Not too far from Lami (already forgotten name!) but pretty beach. From pier it costs 80Baht in red taxi to Lami which is around another 6km away from hostel. Could wave a taxi down from here. Avoid paying too much for taxi's at the pier (they can try and get you to pay around 1200TBH)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your reviews, rating and useful information.

91%

It's a great place to relax because you could stay there all day and not need to leave. I loved it because i went there to relax after I'd finished with all the moon parties. The facilities are great and clean and the wifi is good. The only drawback is the location which is pretty far out from anything. This didn't bother me because I wanted to get away from the crowds, but it might not be the place to go if you're looking to go out every night. Staff were pleasant. Real family vibe there


97%

This is a really good hostel! I loved being here! The facilities are great, and the staff as well! This is a great place to relax.. If you don't mind to be in the middle of the city, this is a great option for you! RECOMENDED!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. We are glad that you enjoy your stay here. Hope to see you again in the future.

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Koh Samui Hostels

Please give us your feedback