Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Anchor Lodge Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
7.7

Owners were away. Front desk improved over time. Owners friend, who was housesitting, was excellent. Staff needed to circulate more in the kitchen area to ensure backpackers cleaned up. Printed instructions needed for microwave and TV.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th Jun 2017
8.9

A really nice hostel with a super friendly Host.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.9

Nicely designed bungalows, spacious kitchen and a nice, though small, lounge area. Bathrooms and kitchen were relatively clean. Staff were friendly. Good location, though we had a car with us, so I'm not sure how public transport works there. If you're looking to meet people, this might not be the best place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
10.0

great nil issues thank you I will be back cheers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.9

Nice hostel with a motel feel, great facilities such as hot tub, pool and BBQ. The staff very friendly and helpful. Kitchen busy at times and messy due to sheer numbers sharing small space but overall enjoyed staying here. The location is good if you have a car to travel to the local beaches and gorgeous coastal drives - simply stunning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.1

This was a lovely hostel to stay at - it was clean, friendly, helpful, great facilities. However there were two things wrong. Firstly, the security was terrible. It was so easy for anyone to walk in & access the dorms. People kept leaving doors open and although that's not the hostel's fault, they really should have lockers in the rooms. There's plenty of room just to put small lockers in for people's important possessions. Secondly, my bed had a huge dip in it. It was quite uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
10.0

Fantastic place, excellent location. Hosts were really friendly people and could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our visit... Visiting Coromandel Town? Put this place top of the list and it meets a variety of budgets too, I will return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

This is a very nice hostel. There is a hot spa pool, heated pool, rental car available and amazingly friendly and helpfull staff. One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Great value for your money. I highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Fantastic place to stay, staff friendly, close to town shops and quiet at night. Would highly recommend. Thank you anchor lodge for a wonderful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
2.0

We coud not get there because the roads wew flooded (that was what the official nz govenment webpage said)and the ferry was cancelled because if storm. We sent emails and called the day before and the same day. The people we talked to were really rude and hung up the phone twice. We were charged the 1st night. A really bad experience!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.