Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Anchor Lodge Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.9

Nice hostel with a motel feel, great facilities such as hot tub, pool and BBQ. The staff very friendly and helpful. Kitchen busy at times and messy due to sheer numbers sharing small space but overall enjoyed staying here. The location is good if you have a car to travel to the local beaches and gorgeous coastal drives - simply stunning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.1

This was a lovely hostel to stay at - it was clean, friendly, helpful, great facilities. However there were two things wrong. Firstly, the security was terrible. It was so easy for anyone to walk in & access the dorms. People kept leaving doors open and although that's not the hostel's fault, they really should have lockers in the rooms. There's plenty of room just to put small lockers in for people's important possessions. Secondly, my bed had a huge dip in it. It was quite uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
10.0

Fantastic place, excellent location. Hosts were really friendly people and could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our visit... Visiting Coromandel Town? Put this place top of the list and it meets a variety of budgets too, I will return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

This is a very nice hostel. There is a hot spa pool, heated pool, rental car available and amazingly friendly and helpfull staff. One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Great value for your money. I highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Fantastic place to stay, staff friendly, close to town shops and quiet at night. Would highly recommend. Thank you anchor lodge for a wonderful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
2.0

We coud not get there because the roads wew flooded (that was what the official nz govenment webpage said)and the ferry was cancelled because if storm. We sent emails and called the day before and the same day. The people we talked to were really rude and hung up the phone twice. We were charged the 1st night. A really bad experience!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.0

Hostel has a really nice pool and hot tub area. Dorm beds were really comfortable. However the hostel smelt very stale. Very limited fridge space Free parking and close to everything Wifi was $5 per day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Feb 2017
7.4

Pool and hottub a bonus. Only actually saw the kitchen clean once which was suprising considering the few people staying there. Showers just had a curtain so couldnt get changed without getting wet if in a dorm but luckily we had a private room. Staff very friendly but lots of workers staying here so other guests weren't very friendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
6.3

Good points- intercity bus drops you outside the lodge, good location, not far from the main road or supermarket Not so good- wifi must be purchased by backpackers and is not great. The laundry is also not great, I had to wash my clothes twice. Little atmosphere and hard to meet people. Many long term backpackers who treat the place like their own. Both the kitchen and bathroom should be cleaned more. Long staying backpackers use most of the space. Overall disappointing, no hostel vibe

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.4

I couldn't tell who the staff was but it was a great place. I've never been to a hostel with a pool and a hot tub. It was so nice! I just wish it was closer to a nice beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.