X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Anda Guesthouse Reviews

Qiaokao Xi Jie, Saihan District, Hohhot, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
287 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Overall was disappointed with this place after seeing the other reviews and lonely planet's high praise. It's not a bad option, but it's definitely past its prime. Seems they try to make money by offering various tours--which we didn't do b/c they are not worth the money and not the optimal way to see the sights. Because we didn't use the tours, we felt the staff were very distant and unfriendly toward us. Location in center of city, but not really near any sights. Hard to find, call ahead

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff is very nice and the location is good, but I think that the room is expensive compare to the facilities - shared shower, very simple and hard bed with almost no mattress, the TV is from the 60's (didn't even try it) and in general there is nothing in the room besides a bed. The good point was the trip - which is very nice besides a few points: 1. The only authentic meal we had was 1 breakfast, the rest was plain 2. With the price we paid - we expected free water


94%

I liked a lot the liquor from Inner Mongolia that I drunk, and in general, the staff are very friendly people. Congratulations!!!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Booked three nights but checked out the second morning. The room was intolerably hot without an A/C for Hohhot in July. The facility is very basic with almost disfunctional shower on the second floor and unlockable bedroom doors. However, if you are looking for a place to meet young international travelers, Anda is a great place to be. Staff there are very helpful.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The dryer was broken and I went to sleep with my hair wet for two days. The water flows was quite small when taking shower. Though everything was fine. The location and staff are really nice.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I thought the hostel was very good. I really enjoyed the atmosphere, the operators spoke excellent English, and they made the place very comfortable. It's in a good neighborhood, with plenty of shops to purchase food (even a Western store). The tours they are operating are good value for the money. My only complaint is with the bathrooms. Very bad. I mean, to the point of not being hygienic. Those need to be fixed. Otherwise, a good place to stay.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Very friendly hostel, provides fantastic tours to the grasslands. Facilities are a little shabby particularly for the price.


77%

Staff helpful Price reasonable Location is a bit distant from the city center, but the Mongolian clothing street nearby is an attraction for girls!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We really enjoyed our stay at the Anda Guesthouse. We joined a tour to the grasslands and our guide Brian did a great job showing us around. The Anda Guesthouse is very pleasant and the staff overall is very helpful. We had a double room with shared bathroom and unfortunately the bathroom is not clean and it really smells badly. The breakfast which is included is not really a breakfast and as such it should not be advertised as such.


86%

If you don't have much time to visit Inner Mongolia, then stay with Anda Guesthouse and do the tour (3days, 2nights) with them. They bring you to the Gassland, you sleep in a Yurt, do horse-backriding, visit the desert etc. It was really interesting & realxing. The staff is really friendly & helpful and speaks good English & replies to email fast. Overall the hostel is clean & quiet. Only drawback, there are not many bathrooms in comparison of number of people the hostel can host. Queuing!


100%

An extremely good hostel. They are right by an amazing food street and near many of the main attractions in Hohhot. The hostel is very clean and secure. The staff speaks excellent English and are very friendly and helpful. If you arrive by train, call them to arrange a free pick up, as it is a bit difficult to get across town using the busses.


89%

Great guesthouse with really nice stuff. I can recommend the tours of the Anda Guesthouse!

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The location is difficult to find. The staff is service minded and speaks good English. The single rooms are spacious but the bathrooms should be renovated. The hostel is a good choice if you are interested by tours in the region. Otherwise there are better options for the same fares in the city.


77%

No cabbie seemed to know how to find the hostel, so it was frustrating getting there. The staff is friendly and they can easily arrange tours for you. The rooms are clean. There are only 2 bathrooms for 20+ guests, so when everyone is trying to leave at the same time for the day trips to the desert or grasslands, you have to be early if you want hot water. We ate at the Mongolian restaurant nearby and it was pretty decent barbeque.


91%

Really nice hostel, lovely friendly stuff, would recommend. Tours are great, especially grasslands one, worth the price! It does get freezing cold in the grasslands even in May (snow!) so come prepared. Only criticism was not enough showers/toilets - only 2 for everyone staying in the hostel and also not enough hot water, but not a massive problem. Good location for exploring Hohhot and staff are v helpful with finding places. Dorm rooms also nice and spacious and well decorated.


91%

Friendly staff, a lovely hostel that made us feel at home, and a free train station pick up. They organised a day tour for us which was very good, and cooked an evening meal hot pot for a good price.


100%

very good hostel, thanks boddies

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I join the grassland tour, staying a Mongolian family, ridding horse, caring the sheep.It was fun! And the Guesthouse is very good, staff was so freindly!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect stay!


100%

Lovely retreat at centre of town, friendly and helpful staff, the resource for local travel information. They also organise many short trips, such like camel riding in gobi desert, horse ridding and home stay with Mongolian nomadic family. Visiting Mongolian nomadic family was a surprise for me and my travel mates, highly recommend!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Hohhot Hostels

Please give us your feedback