Hostelworld.com

Anker Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 3,966 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 3,966 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.7
Anker Hostel Located at Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo, Oslo.
Anker Hostel
Norway
Oslo Storgata 55, N-0182 Oslo
73% 3966
59.9170642 10.7575464
Anker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd May 2016
6.3

The hostel was an ok value for the money. I understand that Oslo is a very expensive city so it makes sense that this is one of the more expensive hostels I've stayed in during my time in Europe, but I still don't believe that it was worth 38 USD. The location was amazing though - only a 10 minute walk from Oslo's central train station.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • s_vetier2765
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th May 2016
8.3

Hostel is not the greatest but good for a place to stay. Location is central but kind of in a not very nice area compared to other areas in Oslo. Staff were lovely and the reception area was very social. Overall I had a nice stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Amanda_kerr
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
8.3

Anker was a good option for seeing Oslo and had a really good atmosphere. There are no lockers in the actual rooms (just small ones in the lobby) and the room itself was a bit dirty, but nothing out of the ordinary for a hostel. The environment is pretty fun, I got lucky and had fun people in my room to hang out with, otherwise it might have been a little dull. The bartender/reception had good recommendations for sights/attractions/bars too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
8.3

Located ~15 min from the bus/train station and close to the city center. They didn't charge us for the bed linens. I don't know if it was just coincidence or if they are not charging for that anymore. Staff was absolutelly unhelpul when you ask what to do in the city and they don't like if you ask more than one time to open the luggage room. Apart from that, everything was perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • james_phillips931719
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th May 2016
5.7

Very average hostel. Even when staying in a private énsuite room not only do you have to make your own bed, you have to pay for the linen as well. The reception staff were mixed, a couple of nice guys but never really offered much in terms of trying to make your experience better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
8.0

Good hostel, expensive like everithing in Norway, but it's well located, it has good facilities and the staff is very useful and friendly, my only objection is the lact of electricity contacts inside the rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
8.3

Perfectly good hostel, and by the looks of it one of the cheaper ones in Oslo. Only thing I did not like was you were not allowed bring outside drink into the common area because it is a "bar". They were surprisingly strict about this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay, met a lot of people at the hostel to rage with and the staff was super friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th May 2016
9.7

Overall this is a great hostel in a great location! The only downside is having to pay for linens and there's not a real dedicated kitchen space which would have been nice considering how pricey food is in Oslo (comes with the territory of Norway though) so just expect to pay a little more for food unless you're able to bring pots and pans for the hot plates that are in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.0

The staff members were helpful and patient. All of them were great! Our dorm mates wrere terrific as well. The facility needs some deep cleaning--especially the stairwells and elevators. My comforter was gross, but they exchanged it for a new one. Key cards for the rooms and doors is great as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.