X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Annecy Hostel Reviews

32 Avenue de Loverchy, Annecy, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
870 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Lack of any sort of atmosphere, smells in the foyer, backyard is terrible. But a good base to see Annecy. No locks on the doors (not even a handle). Safes in rooms but they are not secured and could be picked up and taken out of the room just as easily as your pack/suitcase.


91%

Fantastic feel to it, and surprisingly cheap.. Only a 15 minute walk to the village and the lake.. Couldn't have asked for more really! Definitely recommend and will stay here again!


71%

Not very welcoming staff, but they gave the information.i needed. The place is dark and feels even a bit clastrophobic, but I came on a rainy day and the outside we couldn't use looks very good. Kitchen very well equipped. Overall i recommend this place

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel is a really good place to stay. They had good kitchen facilities, bike hire for €8half day €16full day, wifi (only works in common room and kitchen not in bedrooms), beds are comfy and the showers are really good! Lots of free stuff floating around too which people have left behind which is always a bonus!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

everything is good, good wifi, good staff, with a very cutie little dog


91%

Nice staff and very Nice terrasse!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The room was very nice and it was good value. However, at night, there was so much noise in the hallway and it was impossible to sleep. I especially appreciated the balcony.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the noise. We tell guest not to talk in the staircase and the corridor. We have signs asking to be quiet but unfortunatly not everyone is respectful of other guest.

86%

Clean bathrooms, newish beds, usable kitchen. And very, very close to the center. Nothing to complain about. Well, the price is high, but it's the area.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I enjoyed my stay in this hostel. The atmosphere is very relaxing and there is a good common area and backyard. It is close to the grocery store and only five minutes from the old town and 10 minutes to the train station on foot. I would stay here again. The security could be better though.


71%

The heavy smell of the new paint made me hard to sleep even with the window open all night,.


80%

The hostal itself was very nice, and had a very creative and laid back atmosphere. The price for it though was a bit much considering it did not provide breakfast. The wifi was also seemed not to be able to support the number of people using it because it kept going in and out. And it would have been nice to have wifi outside in the yard area but regardless the hostal was a nice place to stay and the surrounding areas were very scenic

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your nice comment. We're working on having the wifi outside. Hopefully we'll have begining of August.

69%

Friendly & helpful staff. Location is good--out of the old town which means it's quiet and just 10 mins to old town & 15-20 minutes to bus/train station. Gorgeous back yard, really nice to hang out there. It is the only hostel in town but it's very decent.


100%

Fantastic place

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

One if the best hostels I've had the pleasure of staying in. Wish I could've stayed there longer. The staff are all a family and treat you really well!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Annecy Hostel was clean, spacious, and modern. Walk straight for 10 mins and you're in the center of town, and the staff are friendly and helpful (shoutout to Roger). The people I met were all super friendly- a lot of travelers hang out in the main room on the couches or in the kitchen. A group of friends even shared a BBQ with all the hostel guests while I was there!


77%

Great hostel but really frustrating that there is no wifi in rooms since there's nothing to do after 8pm and the location isn't great

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't have WIFI in the dorms because we don't want guest using their computer in the middle of the night while the others are sleeping. Annecy is not a party town but it's great if you like outdoor activities and we are 10 min from bars and restaurants and less than 20 min from the lake.

100%

Wonderful atmosphere, very homey small-place feel. Loved the book swap.


83%

The hostel was ok. Well located. The share room was too small, and everyone want to be there because of the limit wifizone.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

We got to stay in a house that was right beside the hostel, in another building. Must have been something they had bought newly, I even think we were the first guests in that house since they were still working there, hanging up things on the wall and so on when we arrived. Which makes it a little hard to review, since the probably didn't have everything quite in order just yet. I think this is the only hostel in Annecy, good location and staff :) The wifi didn't reach the rooms.


94%

Awesome hostel! I was allocated to a new block of hostel of Annecy Hostel. The facilities are just as same as the old one, which is more than enough!! Big kitchen, dinning room, resting room are making it like home! But it's a pity that the door of the new block is kept open all day long, which might be unsafe somehow. Fortunately, we were safe that night and before. Hopefully, this will be fixed soon.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your great comment despite our little problem with the door lock. It's all solved now. We received the missing part of the lock and everything is safe.

« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Annecy Hostels

Please give us your feedback