X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Annecy Hostel Reviews

32 Avenue de Loverchy, Annecy, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
778 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

the hostel is within 10-min walk from the train station, the location is OK. i lived in a 4-bed female dorm, it was clean and tidy. The bathroom is good as well. They clean the bathroom everyday. The common area is not large but enough. Everyone is welcome to use the kitchen, they provide some free food as well. Staff is very helpful!! And the cost to rent a bike there is cheapest in the town! I have a pleasant stay there:) Highly recommended!

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Welcoming, atmosphere. Staff very flexible with rooms. Great personal touches around the hostel. Cheap bike hire (€12 per day). Good cooking facilities. N64! Great experience

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Wonderful staff and also the hostel itself

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place to stay in a beautiful city. Pretty clean only a little small.


71%

good location - very easy to get into town. One of the more basic hostels we've stayed in, in terms of decor etc - it's inn a large house which is in need to repair but works well as a hostel. We had a double room - again very basic and only complaint was very loud slamming doors - people weren;t making a sound but the heavy doors in and out of rooms and bathrooms were very loud. We enjoyed our stay and Annecy is a great place to visit!

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Would definitely recommend staying here! Great atmosphere, good location, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The one thing that was somewhat frustrating was the fact that the toilets were not in the actual rooms with the showers and sinks; to go to the toilet, you had to leave the room and go out in the hall. Other than that, it was a great stay!


97%

Annecy is incredible!! This hostel is a good 20 minute walk from the town but this is the only downside. In exchange for the lack of proximity to the town you have, in the back yard, beautiful well marked hiking trails into the mountains. Also, there is a beautiful view of the lake.


91%

I loved this hostel because of the town itself and the staff, its family owned.All very chill and helpful. There are no lockers in the room and no luggage storage that I was aware of. The showers could use a little bleach and it would be nice if when people smoked outside they would close the door because it makes the entire kitchen smell like smoke which isn't appetizing when you are eating or cooking. they have an awesome dog who is super friendly too.


94%

The hostel is well priced, good location. Was a little hot in the rooms due to no fans, but otherwise facilities and rooms were clean and good. The staff were fantastic! Beers outback with Patty and the dog made a great day into an awesome night as well. This was my second stay at the hostel and I'd definitely go back for a third.


89%

Great hostel...one of my favorites!

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I highly recommend this place. The broad common area in the garden is awesome with lots of comfy seats and and a hammock to hang out and relax. The well equipped kittchen was spick and span and the room we stayed in was also very clean. I appreciated the relaxed atmosphere among guests and staff and would really like to come back one day. The only thing that was a little bit inconvenient was the lighting of the washroom on level 2. The lamp did not really brighten and it was a bit dark.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay: Relaxing and pleasant:

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is awesome, great location near the best part of town, and near the lake as well. The old town district is beautiful with mid-evil buildings, many flowers, canals, and at the end of the road a gorgeous lake with the over-looming french alps. Definitely would recommend this to anyone passing through this part of France on their travels. The hostel is nice, large yard, very friendly and helpful employees. Bon voyage!


91%

Very nice hostel, very clean, facilities are good, ambient is very nice. Certainly would stay in it again.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice and relaxed hostel with friendly stuff. You can easily feel yourself as being home.


91%

Great hostel! Located very close to the old town, facilities are very good and the atmosphere is great! Everyone's very friendly, so are the staff, would definitely recommend!


80%

Very relaxed informal studenty atmosphere. Temporary staff were very helpful. Quite busy when we were there in July heatwave - kitchen got a bit full. Well equipped though. Appreciated free wifi downstairs. Good to have garden with shaded areas to relax in. Perhaps not as suited to family groups as some hostels we have been to, but walking distance from station and old town, not up a hill like the other hostel, on a regular bus route with a supermarket round the corner. Friendly dog.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Really cool hostel with a great atmosphere and in an amazing town. Great communal area to hang out in the evening and we were especially excited to have a private balcony in our double room. Couldn't recommend staying here any more! The hostel could do with a vague touch up, but that's by no means a complaint. Awesome place!


86%

Good comfy bed, nice outdoor area, staff were friendly. Bit of a walk into town and lake but was fine for us. Would stay here again :)


80%

A nice hostel with clean bed dorms and a nice patio and garden where you can discuss with fellow travellers the only issue is its location : it is a bit isolated from the city center.


(347 results)


View all Annecy Hostels

Please give us your feedback