X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Antares Hostel Reviews

5 Avenue Thiers, 06000, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1660 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I had a very nice time. The location is exellent since is just near the train station and tram stop.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel with very friendly staff. Close to the train station, although a bit of a walk to the beach. We were upgraded from a dorm to a private room. Free drinks and chips in the common room!


71%

overall the staff were OK I suppose... WiFi was pretty poor in the dorms I stayed, and only worked in communal areas or outside the hostel doors. The pasta parties helped to create an atmosphere where solo travellers had an opportunity to meet people. Location was brilliant for me :) with the supermarket next door and other stores too. NB. people alcohol sale at the supermarket stops at 22.00 ;)


91%

Convenient for the train locale, but a wee bit of a hike to the beach and old city. The AC in dorms is always stupidly contentious, and the bathrooms have zero air so get stinky hot. The hostel does put on neat social events every night in their downstairs dungeon, which makes meeting other hostellers easier. Not much character to the place, but its reasonably cheap.


91%

Great atmosphere, excellent location (if you don't want to stay on Nice beach, but rather explore surrounding cities). Didn't need to go to party to the downtown, cuz there was always fun at the common room. Free alcohol every night around 7 was great start to meet with another people in hostel.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Location is alright just opposite to the train station, Old town is 10 minutes walk. Check-in time is not 11am as said it's 12pm. The Internet / common room is a untidy.


74%

No lockers provided in the bedroom


66%

There were no locks in the bedroom or on the bathroom doors. The facility itself was okay but don't expect anything spectacular.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Antares hostel is good value for money. Though not really very clean, the rest is good. Good location right in front of the train station, 30 min on bus from the airport, close to train and bust stops, 15-20 min walk to the beach and old town, supermarket and cafe next door. Great solid rather big (about 70 cm long) cages under beds, so just bring your lock and you won't worry leaving the room. Pasta parties couple times a week with pasta, wine and popcorn for just 3 euro/person.


94%

This hostel was great! PERFECT location it was literally directly across from the train station and right next to the main strip of Nice. My room had AC and an ensuite so facilities were great! Typically some event each night including free wine! I didn't use the kitchen much but it seemed spacious enough and common room quite large! I highly recommend this hostel.


69%

good location but humid and not well-ventilated


74%

Good value for what you pay for and friendly and helpful staff.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

- not a lot of powerplugs + very friendly staff, lots of events in the evening, really big kitchen


80%

Everything here was great actually, the only bad part of our stay was the lady at the desk. I thought she was completely rude to us from the moment we came in to the moment we left. Also when giving us their email address so we could print something off she wrote it on the back of a photocopy of someones passport, which meant we had someones passport details, not okay. The wifi wasn't that great but put that to their being lots of people there. Great atmosphere, pasta night looked fun!


94%

Excellent atmosphere, the spaghetti and wine night and champagne party is a great way to meat new people :)

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good location just 10/15min walk from old town and sea and close to train station. Clean bathroom. Only one locker cage for the 4 beds and your locker must be big or you have to rent one. Only 2 plugs and one was almost at the ceiling. Awesome pasta dinner to meet people. Supermarket next door.


89%

Excellent location. Vray clean and maintained. Excellent for accommodation on route or visiting. Excellent value.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Wonderful staff. Pasta and free drinking nights were amazing:)

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Pretty decent hostel. The staff were a bit strange, one man was very rude and the other very flirtatious (made me quite uncomfortable, kept asking for my room number). The rooms were very nice and the atmosphere was great!


69%

I was at Antares over 7 years ago and so it seems to have been done up more and was in General OK. The Lady who welcomed us was not so friendly/happy; The VISA Machine had 'broken' and there was no apology for this or any hint of apology for the inconvenience for us....as we had expected to be able to pay with Card.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback