X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Anzac Backpackers Reviews

69 Hope Street, Gardens, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
26 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The noise from the bar below was awful. Do NOT expect to sleep on Friday night. The place could use an upgrade. Everything reeked of cigarettes. The staff (5? 6?) was a little pushy on trying to sell tours. For as much staff as they seemed to have, the place was pretty gross.


60%

The location is good as it is central. However, the street is a bit dodgy, and I wouldn't recommend walking there at night. It is close to the gardens and to Long Street, which is convenient. The guesthouse itself is not very clean and has nothing really special, but it is cheap and then if you are looking for a good price and are not too fussy on quality, go for it!


94%

The buildings and infrastructure is everything that you an expect from a hostel, just much cleaner than most other. It has that distinct lived in look but you can see that the staff knows their jobs and do it well. Talking about the staff, the office staff (all of them) are the most helpful and friendly people I have come across in a long time. Last weekend they had a biker party, and way to go, it was one of the best hostel parties ever.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
46%

The staff was unfriendly and smoking in the office while we were inside it. Rooms are okay BUT we couldnt sleep AT ALL Because the night Bar Downstairs was playing very!! loud Music. Just go there if you are partying yourself all Night!


74%

Had a good stay at Anzac. Easy walk into town, but a few shady characters hanging around in the evening. Room had great view of table top, shared bathrooms were nice, kitchen good. Good value for money


89%

A relaxing & refreshing place, except Friday & Saturday nights

  • 21st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

we were very satisfied!!!

  • 25th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice location, great facilities (good showers, nice kitchen, balcony, wifi), but above a terrible bar. Worst music ever, impossible to get some sleep ;-)


100%

Great atmosphere, very helpful staff, clean, comfortable and has wonderful parties. I recommend and I will again host the Anzac Backpaker when I go back to cape town.

  • 21st Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very kind and helpful staff! Great last night in Cape town :)

  • 14th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice location and nice facilities. In the weekends by night it's a disaster.. too much noise in the bar underneath the dorms. You are bouncing in your bed due to the bass. Horrible!


80%

everything is good, but the Bar underfloor is really terrible when there is party, really hard to sleep. normally twice a week, at other time, it's really good. nice people. as I said, everything is good, except the bar

  • 3rd Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Within walking distance to Long St and Cape Town but not actually in Long St so much less noisy. Good facilties, helpful staff, would recommend it.

  • 10th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


73%

Very friendly staff, very accomodating. Staff is very helpful for organising tours.

  • 17th Nov 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


27%

There were no staff available to help with any information etc. The kitchen, although the hostel was pretty much empty at the time, was disgustingly dirty and full of rubbish. Also, when we asked to check out early, we were told thank they didnt think that would be possible!!!!

  • 15th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I could see this hostel being fun if you were in a large group or if the place is full, but as a single traveler in an off-peak time (September) there wasn't much going for this place. Biggest downside was location - it is only a 10 min walk to the bars on Long Street, but the owners recommend you to call a taxi after dark (20R) so it makes it a bit more difficult to truly enjoy a night on the town.


90%

Very central, nice and clean backpacker.The only disadvantage is its position above a disco (party is Mi, Fr and Sa). Friendly staff, basic equipped rooms, big balcony, nice kitchen and bathrooms. We had a very good time there.

  • 7th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

All in all this was an excellent hostel. Very clean, friendly staff & in a very short walking to Long Street & other attractions. The only negative point is if you're a solo female traveller, probably don't stay here as there are quite a few homeless people on the street at night which can be a bit unnerving (although I didn't have any problems with them).


90%

Great hostel, still quite new but friendly staff, good bars, cool vibe. Free internet and TV, very clean, quite central. Would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the hostel. We hope to see you both again in the not to distant future. Kind regards Mitch.

100%

Fantastic Backpackers. I will definitely repeat a holiday with ANZAC Backpackers. Very friendly staff.

  • 17th Dec 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.



View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback