X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aoi Garden Home Reviews

51/1 Singharaj Soi4, Sriphom, Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
964 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Not too sure why so many of the reviews rave about the staff- we found them to be funny but quite unhelpful. We tried to book an extra night to be told that the boss was asleep (at 10am) so we should leave a note. When we returned from our trek, the note had gone missing and no apology was offered. Otherwise the hostel is nice with a good garden space and a nice quiet location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our apologies for the miss understanding, When an activity is booked outside of the hostel, we are not able to store your things, also, we are not able to help when a room is requested with only a few minutes before you leave for the trek, If you had gave more notice, you would not have had to leave a note, which is easily miss placed and we could have arranged something for you, also no deposit was left and we cannot guarantee your return as your booked outside of the hostel.

94%

AOI has good social scene and common area for guests. AOi is on the north side of the old town, close to the north gate. The Garden Home location is inside a maze of alleys, which can get confusing. Don't go down dark alleys alone at night...just common sensee. Rent a bycle to see attrations inside and close to the old city gates. You probaby will want to book a couple tour packages to see the important stufff just outside of town. All day tour packagez run from 900 - 1400 baht for a day.


86%

I didn't like the location since it was quite a walk to the center where all the shops and restaurants are. However, the beds are great and the staff was really friendly. I wanted to extend but it wasn't possible, so if you want to stay there you have to plan in advance.


91%

Nice hostel, I'd recommend the place. Staff (Tom, specially) really goes out of their way to help you with anything, just ask them! As mentioned in other comments, they may not seem at first, but they are very much friendly as well. Facilities are overall clean and good, with a great pateo to hang in a lazy afternoon. Courtyard/common area is full of mosquitoes, though. If you happen to stay at this hostel, make sure you go eat at Mr. Kai. Best restaurant, friendliest people ever!!!


83%

Aoi it was so nice, helped with everything. Laundrey quick and cheap. Close to main street. Good beds and rooms. Fantastic breakfast! We had a problem with our roommate and Aoi check them out at morning!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Nice rooms and comfy beds.


100%

Amazing hostel


77%

Beautiful hang out area outside. Really nicely done and lots of people chill there during the day. Staff tries to help as much as they can but there was a certain language barrier. Room didn't have air conditioning but the fans worked just as well. Breakfast is reasonably priced and really fills you up :) for the price we paid to stay there it was absolutely worth it!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

wonderful hostel! The owner was very considerate, and even gave us her number to call her at 4am and opened the gate early for us to check-in. Breakfast was amazing, fresh fruit with yogurt, and the wi-fi was really fast! will definitely recommend it to everyone

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

very nice,it's easy to find kinds of thai food around there.


91%

Great staff, good fun and easily approachable. A very nice communal area to sit in outside the dorms and a lovely reading hut.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This is a nice, cute place with great location. It's clean and quiet. It has a nice garden decoration, with water and greens, so if you are traveling there in the rainy season, bring some deet.


86%

Can't beat the price. I was a little disappointed after walking a while to find the place that our room was the one with the fan and not A/C. Surpisely we both slept great. Fans worked out well. The following day I had time to appreciate the setting. Very clean bathrooms and had 2 extras outside that were never used. The staff was unique. I thought kind of dry toward the beginning towards me but that's how they are. Very chill and I thought they were cool. Beat my expectations -- I recommend.


91%

Great hostel close to Zoe's bar but a short walk to the old city area


74%

Staff are not as nice as what I expect, which arise from the comments in this website. Overall, they are just good. Every night i stayed there were different people talking and chatting in the garden.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry if you did not find us personable enough. Please understand that we have 50 people staying in our hostel everyday. We cannot give special attention to everyone. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

100%

A great place to stay with a beautiful garden.


66%

Decent guesthouse but wifi only worked in reception area and not really within walking distance to anywhere (5-10 taxi rides). Good atmosphere amongst other guests. Would probably stay here again.


83%

Nice walking distance to anywhere within old city. Staffs are friendly and do speak English quite well.


100%

Very nice hostel, very good price, good location, quiet but close to bars, temple and inside the old city and 5 minutes walking to the Sunday night market. Staff is really nice, and it's very easy to meet other travelers. I needed to receive some important document by mail, and they received it and gave it to me. Thank you so much for everything, it was

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Staff was constantly trying to sale thier trips (treck etc..). Prices of coffee and other goods changed everyday based on their mood or your face. The atmosphere is cold and does not lend itself to connections with other hosts. Really not impressed by the place.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Staff is never trying to sell trips, only if customers are interested the Staff offers some ideas, no one is ever forced to do anything. There are more types of coffee offered, price depends what kind of coffee, but is always the same price, same for meals. Moreover we offer a garden, where plenty of guests spend their time together at night, actually everyone is responsible for themselves whether they're communicative or not.We can't force people to be communicative if they stay in their rooms.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback