X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Apa Kaba Home&Stay Reviews

28, Kampung Banda Kaba, Melaka, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
253 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

the staffs are very lovely. and the atmosphere is cool.


89%

We really enjoyed our stay at Apa Kaba. Location is great and staff very friendly. Every morning different local specialties to tasten. The admosphere is very relaxed while so close to the city center. We would definitely recommend this place.


86%

The room advertised as a twin was actually a double. The hotel is basic but good value for money. Nice quiet location. Bed mattress rather uncomfortable but good enough for one night.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice local breakfast and also Toast with jam. Friendly and helpful staff


91%

If you wanna experience real Malay culture.. Go to Apakaba. You will have a nice room and a great garden to relax in. Although in the middle of the city, Apakaba is in a quite neighbourhood and perfect for relaxing or visiting the old centre. The family of the homestay is amazing! They make the stay worthwhile. Rooms are easy but everything you need. Home cooked breakfast and perfect location. Even though the walls are thin, people tend to keep the 10.30 silence curfew. All in all its perfect!

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I had such a great time at Apa Kaba. Lovely place and the owners are more than friendly:)

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Thanks for an excellent stay. The location is just great and we really appreciated being shown around the neighbourhood.


94%

Great stay! Very central, but still in a lovely, very local neighborhood. Pretty garden where you can have your (Malay and very good) breakfast and the hosts were amazing. They showed me around, explained the city's history to me and recommended me little gems of shops for my lunch on the way back. I would recommend this to everyone who wants a more authentic experience than a boring business hotel or the typical hostel party stuff.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The house is a very cozy place and the staff is very helpfull and nice. I loved the breakfast with banana cake. Its only 5-10minutes away from the centre with the shops and famous places. With a cycle, its easy to go around everything!


80%

Lovely homestay with nice garden to relax

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The family were very helpful and kind-offering us food and to celebrate with them for Chinese New Year. The garden is a nice reprieve from sterile hotel rooms and seeing chickens and cats made it feel very homey.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

We were greeted right away and shown the routes the visit major sites. The walk to the historic district takes about ten minutes and is nice. The staff provide a printed map for us. Room was a good size and clean. I wish we had more time to enjoy the cozy garden outside.


100%

What a lovely place! I really enjoyed my time there. I loved the breakfast, always with different cookies:-) . I would choose this place always again. The staff who run the house are really really nice.


94%

Loved the homey ambiance! The staff was nice too.He gave us tips on how to go around town.They have bike rentals for only 10MYR for the whole day.Suggesting this to friends who plan to go to Melaka.;)

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff was nice and helpful. Location is in a quiet neighborhood, but one that's very close to everything else. Breakfast was convenient and ready at 8AM. Other hostel members were quiet and respectful. Showering is a bit tricky as the toilet/shower is in the same room, so it can get a bit cramped, but it was manageable. Need to be back in hostel before midnight.


97%

great garden and very cosy and friendly athmosphere. delicious breakfast with local delights. absolute value for money. lovely owners

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

There was a really nice relaxed family feel to this guest house. It felt like a little haven away from the noise and activity, yet not so far away that you couldn't walk to wherever you wanted. A very enjoyable stay.


94%

Great guesthouse with a wonderful garden to sit, relax and meet other travellers. Very quite at night but close enough to all the sites in the city. Very good (local) breakfast, with different things to try every morning as well as toast, jam and fresh fruit.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel is unique with chinese ornaments inside. Also they provided local-taste breakfast.


89%

worth much more than what you pay!!! Even include a nice breakfast, surprising!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Melaka Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback