X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Apple Hostel Reviews

B7, 10/fl., Block B, Chungking Mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1101 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

good!! The location is nice. near the Tsim sha chui and ferry terminal. The manager is so friendly. but don't have kitchen.


83%

Had a great stay. The hostel is located in the Chungking Mansions, a crowded building where rooms don't tend to come with large windows, but that doesn't mean you can't sleep well there. Rooms are small but good beds and quiet. Staff super friendly and helpful. We ended up staying for 2 extra nights.


63%

This place was hard to find. Overall, stay was good.


86%

Just like the other reviews said, it's clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. Chunking Mansions is an experience unto itself, and while at first it was very stressful, after a day or so I began to develop a real fondness for the place (and the Indian food!). I'm glad this is where I stayed on my first trip to HK. Thanks again guys!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very accessible location. The mtr was very near our place, as for the bus we attempt to ride one but the driver can't speak in english so we just ride a taxi. The crew was very helpful and caring! At night, there's only one crew whose a chinese. Then at daytime, there are 3 filipinas. Room was very clean, water heater is working, everything's gr8, though the electric pot in our room was not working. But if you're really desperate for a coffee, you can still use the electric pot in their lobby.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff is very well accomodating, room is clean but tiny which I guess this is common to HK which goes to the cheap price. But I just don't like the surroundings, it was so smelly.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location, close to the Tsim Sha Tsui subway, and piers. The Chungking Mansion is a very cosmopolitain place, with an amazing atmosphere. The 1st floor must be seen. Taking the lift is like an adventure. So after you reach the 10th, you find some friendly owners in a small, but clean hostel. Conformable bed with TV set, and WIFI. Very tiny shower in the toilet place. Efficient but noisy AC, banging all the night. Anyway, much better experience than my last visit in HK 10 years ago.


89%

The place is accessible to stores and some tourist spots, close to mtr as well. At the lobby you'll find money changers and ticket booths for disneyland and ocean park. What I love most are the friendly filipina caretakers who gave advices on cheapest way to get around the city. The place is neat. Though the hostel is a bit small, its comfortable with the basic stuff you need like water heater, clean towels changed everday, electric kettle and cups, good lighting and AC and wifi

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

If you're looking for an affordable place that's clean and has a great staff, you have found the place! The lady who was running it was great and our room, although small, was just what we needed! The only downside to the place was that it was located in Chungking Mansions, but once you got upstairs everything was great!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was very small but adequate. Aircon worked well. Felt very safe and secure. Shower/toilet room was unusual but worked well. Located close to ferry terminal. Manager was helpfull and friendly. For cost I thought very satisfactory. Will return


74%

We would have liked their to be a locked room for luggage staorage rather than leaving the bags at reception.


46%

A bit shoddy. Cell-sized room even for a non demanding veteran traveler like me. Only good for just sleeping. Very noisy air conditioner, specially since drops constantly fall onto it, drum-like, from upper floors. No problem with the hassling Indians downstairs, but a real pain in the *ss waiting for the elevator, often longer than 10 mins.


91%

AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!!!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice and professional people. The hotel was very clean, and the room was spacious and nicely equiped (TV, free and fast Wifi, shower, toilets, big bed, window...) it was a pleasure to stay in the apple hostel.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The lifts are terrible - we took the stairs down every time! But can't beat location and price was reasonable for what we got. Laundry service in the building on the ground floor and the free wifi was great! Staff were friendly.


74%

If you are only in the Hostel to sleep there and you don't want to use it as a place to hang out then it's fine. It is a cheap and convenient option to have a bed in the centre of Hongkong. I would stay there again.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good location, and good room for cheap price. Nice Staff, feel free!


69%

The staff spoke English and was friendly. The location was good, but during the night the area was kinda scary to return alone as a woman. But inside the hostel area itself it was very safe. Atmosphere was okay. The building seemed to be quite old and could use some renovation and even though the door seemed to be paper thin it was not loud. It was very clean in there. I had my room cleaned while I was gone on everyday except on Sunday. The shared bathrooms were also clean.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Not rooms, but actually cells. Good internet connection. Bothersome waiting at the elevator: it's a very busy building and elevator is small. Always queue.


71%

If you are just looking for a place to rest your head in a great location, this hostel fits the bill. The staff is very friendly, the internet is reliable, and everything is clean. While you will get hustled on your way into the place, and it is a bit hard to find, it is still a great deal. The hot water in my bathroom wasn't working, but it didn't bother me enough to raise an issue with the staff, who were very friendly.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback