X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Apple Hostel Reviews

B7, 10/fl., Block B, Chungking Mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1115 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I stayed in a single room, tiny but functional. The AC was loud, but not too bothersome. Combined shower/toilet bathrooms. Good value for a fairly clean and secure place in an excellent location.


74%

우선 로케이션 굉장히 좋습니다 스타의거리까지 걸어가도 뭐 별로 안힘듭니다. 주인 아주머니 영어소통이 되긴한데 발음이 좀ㅠㅠ 알아듣기 힘들었구요 싱글룸 이용했는데 방은 굉장히 좁습니다 군대에서 개인침상 공간 같은..방안의 화장실까지 한걸음 거리. 화장실은 1평 주면 많이 처준겁니다. 물이 쫄쫄 나와서 샤워하기 힘들었습니다. 젤 심각한건 엘리베이터! 그 건물 자체가 호스텔 천국이라 사람이 엄청 많아요 그래서 엘리베이터 타려면 이십분? 기다려야 되구요 답답한 마음에 계단 타려했지만 계단도 미로.. 올라가다 다시 내려왔구요ㅋㅋ..뭐 버스나 지하철 근처에 있는건 굉장히 좋구요 나머지는 나름 만족..합니다


100%

Room cleaned all the times with nice warm crispy towel everyday I'm back from outing. Staffs are all friendly

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Location is perfect, near MTR, near the famous Hong Kong waterfront. It's not expensive. It's clean. Wifi is working well. Staff are very accommodating and friendly i well definitely come back to Apple Hostel :D

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Some of them speak very good english.. The rooms with private bathrooms where clean and the "newely renovated" only applies to these rooms not for the ones with shared bathrooms. The shared bathrooms where are in desperate need of renovation. the rooms where clean though they are tiny and not at all comfortable. If you are on a budget and only plan to sleep in the rooms it's o.k. but its not a nice place to spend time and meet other travelers.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

room is too small. but i think it is same in all hostels at Chungking Mansions. there are lots of hostels at same building and all use same lift. and so there may be lift queue. i have seen cockroach in the room at night. and it is normal in the city i thing. the building in city center. and lots of seller disturb you in the roads. the room is only for a place to sleep in nights; for not to sleep on the streets.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Beware of cockroaches! It was not possible for me to stay at this hostel even for one night because of the cockroaches. I stayed in HK many times before, and mostly in guesthouses in Mirador Mansion which is just a few meters away from ChungKing on Nathan Road. Though they might look the same from the photos, the cleanliness is not at all the same, at least in Apple Hostel. When we wanted to leave, they charged us the first night, but refunded back the rest, which was fair.


83%

good!! The location is nice. near the Tsim sha chui and ferry terminal. The manager is so friendly. but don't have kitchen.


83%

Had a great stay. The hostel is located in the Chungking Mansions, a crowded building where rooms don't tend to come with large windows, but that doesn't mean you can't sleep well there. Rooms are small but good beds and quiet. Staff super friendly and helpful. We ended up staying for 2 extra nights.


63%

This place was hard to find. Overall, stay was good.


86%

Just like the other reviews said, it's clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. Chunking Mansions is an experience unto itself, and while at first it was very stressful, after a day or so I began to develop a real fondness for the place (and the Indian food!). I'm glad this is where I stayed on my first trip to HK. Thanks again guys!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very accessible location. The mtr was very near our place, as for the bus we attempt to ride one but the driver can't speak in english so we just ride a taxi. The crew was very helpful and caring! At night, there's only one crew whose a chinese. Then at daytime, there are 3 filipinas. Room was very clean, water heater is working, everything's gr8, though the electric pot in our room was not working. But if you're really desperate for a coffee, you can still use the electric pot in their lobby.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff is very well accomodating, room is clean but tiny which I guess this is common to HK which goes to the cheap price. But I just don't like the surroundings, it was so smelly.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location, close to the Tsim Sha Tsui subway, and piers. The Chungking Mansion is a very cosmopolitain place, with an amazing atmosphere. The 1st floor must be seen. Taking the lift is like an adventure. So after you reach the 10th, you find some friendly owners in a small, but clean hostel. Conformable bed with TV set, and WIFI. Very tiny shower in the toilet place. Efficient but noisy AC, banging all the night. Anyway, much better experience than my last visit in HK 10 years ago.


89%

The place is accessible to stores and some tourist spots, close to mtr as well. At the lobby you'll find money changers and ticket booths for disneyland and ocean park. What I love most are the friendly filipina caretakers who gave advices on cheapest way to get around the city. The place is neat. Though the hostel is a bit small, its comfortable with the basic stuff you need like water heater, clean towels changed everday, electric kettle and cups, good lighting and AC and wifi

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

If you're looking for an affordable place that's clean and has a great staff, you have found the place! The lady who was running it was great and our room, although small, was just what we needed! The only downside to the place was that it was located in Chungking Mansions, but once you got upstairs everything was great!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was very small but adequate. Aircon worked well. Felt very safe and secure. Shower/toilet room was unusual but worked well. Located close to ferry terminal. Manager was helpfull and friendly. For cost I thought very satisfactory. Will return


74%

We would have liked their to be a locked room for luggage staorage rather than leaving the bags at reception.


46%

A bit shoddy. Cell-sized room even for a non demanding veteran traveler like me. Only good for just sleeping. Very noisy air conditioner, specially since drops constantly fall onto it, drum-like, from upper floors. No problem with the hassling Indians downstairs, but a real pain in the *ss waiting for the elevator, often longer than 10 mins.


91%

AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!!!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback