X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Apple Hostel Reviews

B7, 10/fl., Block B, Chungking Mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1126 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff is very friendly, kind and smily. Some little cockroach, but it is normal in Hong Kong.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

friendly and helpful staff, but all the hustling from the men at the entrance of the building was rather annoying. oh right, elevator so small and slow.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed in a 1 person room, and it was pretty nice with tv, phone, internetcable. The friendly staff cleaned it regularly. The location is excellent, it's where you want to be in the city, and you have easy access to all transportation. The place doesn't have much in terms of common area where you can hang out and meet people. The market area in the ground floor of the building is a bit sketchy, and I was offered to buy drugs several times each day. You can just ignore them, though.


74%

Room is extremely small, but rather clean. Location is good, near the subway station. But Chunking Mansion is very big building with a lot of people, I don't like its atmosphere.


57%

This hostel has strong security policy: your passport is carefully scanned and registered. Besides this, security at the building entrance is poor, with lots of people hanging around selling drugs and alike. The only security personnel in front of the elevator goes off duty after 11 PM. The room has feeble lights, and bed sheets are old and dark colored... which does not add confidence about the cleanliness of the room (which otherwise is acceptable).

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Hostel nearest to MRT Station, staffs are friendly, only that sometime have to long q to get the lift to hostel.


69%

For HK and its very central location, what you'd expect- compact (yet not cramped). Staff helpful at check-in, asked where I was going after and told me what bus I could take to the airport then. TV, AC and fan in room, wifi access slow at times but hey who goes to HK for wifi? ;). Expect a line-up for the elevator, there is a stairwell but odds are you'll find yourself in a labyrinth after taking it. Main floor crowded with people offering guest houses, just ignore them and mind your belongings


80%

I stayed in a single room, tiny but functional. The AC was loud, but not too bothersome. Combined shower/toilet bathrooms. Good value for a fairly clean and secure place in an excellent location.


74%

우선 로케이션 굉장히 좋습니다 스타의거리까지 걸어가도 뭐 별로 안힘듭니다. 주인 아주머니 영어소통이 되긴한데 발음이 좀ㅠㅠ 알아듣기 힘들었구요 싱글룸 이용했는데 방은 굉장히 좁습니다 군대에서 개인침상 공간 같은..방안의 화장실까지 한걸음 거리. 화장실은 1평 주면 많이 처준겁니다. 물이 쫄쫄 나와서 샤워하기 힘들었습니다. 젤 심각한건 엘리베이터! 그 건물 자체가 호스텔 천국이라 사람이 엄청 많아요 그래서 엘리베이터 타려면 이십분? 기다려야 되구요 답답한 마음에 계단 타려했지만 계단도 미로.. 올라가다 다시 내려왔구요ㅋㅋ..뭐 버스나 지하철 근처에 있는건 굉장히 좋구요 나머지는 나름 만족..합니다


100%

Room cleaned all the times with nice warm crispy towel everyday I'm back from outing. Staffs are all friendly

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Location is perfect, near MTR, near the famous Hong Kong waterfront. It's not expensive. It's clean. Wifi is working well. Staff are very accommodating and friendly i well definitely come back to Apple Hostel :D

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Some of them speak very good english.. The rooms with private bathrooms where clean and the "newely renovated" only applies to these rooms not for the ones with shared bathrooms. The shared bathrooms where are in desperate need of renovation. the rooms where clean though they are tiny and not at all comfortable. If you are on a budget and only plan to sleep in the rooms it's o.k. but its not a nice place to spend time and meet other travelers.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

room is too small. but i think it is same in all hostels at Chungking Mansions. there are lots of hostels at same building and all use same lift. and so there may be lift queue. i have seen cockroach in the room at night. and it is normal in the city i thing. the building in city center. and lots of seller disturb you in the roads. the room is only for a place to sleep in nights; for not to sleep on the streets.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Beware of cockroaches! It was not possible for me to stay at this hostel even for one night because of the cockroaches. I stayed in HK many times before, and mostly in guesthouses in Mirador Mansion which is just a few meters away from ChungKing on Nathan Road. Though they might look the same from the photos, the cleanliness is not at all the same, at least in Apple Hostel. When we wanted to leave, they charged us the first night, but refunded back the rest, which was fair.


83%

good!! The location is nice. near the Tsim sha chui and ferry terminal. The manager is so friendly. but don't have kitchen.


83%

Had a great stay. The hostel is located in the Chungking Mansions, a crowded building where rooms don't tend to come with large windows, but that doesn't mean you can't sleep well there. Rooms are small but good beds and quiet. Staff super friendly and helpful. We ended up staying for 2 extra nights.


63%

This place was hard to find. Overall, stay was good.


86%

Just like the other reviews said, it's clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. Chunking Mansions is an experience unto itself, and while at first it was very stressful, after a day or so I began to develop a real fondness for the place (and the Indian food!). I'm glad this is where I stayed on my first trip to HK. Thanks again guys!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very accessible location. The mtr was very near our place, as for the bus we attempt to ride one but the driver can't speak in english so we just ride a taxi. The crew was very helpful and caring! At night, there's only one crew whose a chinese. Then at daytime, there are 3 filipinas. Room was very clean, water heater is working, everything's gr8, though the electric pot in our room was not working. But if you're really desperate for a coffee, you can still use the electric pot in their lobby.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff is very well accomodating, room is clean but tiny which I guess this is common to HK which goes to the cheap price. But I just don't like the surroundings, it was so smelly.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback