X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Apple Hostel Reviews

B7, 10/fl., Block B, Chungking Mansions, Tsim Sha Tsui, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1069 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Not rooms, but actually cells. Good internet connection. Bothersome waiting at the elevator: it's a very busy building and elevator is small. Always queue.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

If you are just looking for a place to rest your head in a great location, this hostel fits the bill. The staff is very friendly, the internet is reliable, and everything is clean. While you will get hustled on your way into the place, and it is a bit hard to find, it is still a great deal. The hot water in my bathroom wasn't working, but it didn't bother me enough to raise an issue with the staff, who were very friendly.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nearest to the MTR, staffs are friendly, nice and recommend to all.


89%

The only annoyance was the long wait for the elevator.


91%

Great location and helpful staff!!!! It's only 3 minutes to the metro station in city center!!Besides, it's really cost-effective one!!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good for people on a budget,only thing you gotta worry about are the Indian guys downstairs trying to hassle you but had a very pleasent stay there !


71%

Nice staff, good location..wil definitely stay der again d nxt tym i visit HK..


91%

Everything is great. The room is small but it's clean, they clean it everyday. And I always get clean towel, internet facilities is great. The only problem is to get to the Hostel. Chungking Mansion only have small elevator, so it took almost 10 minute to get to the elevator. The situation in the lobby of Chungking Mansion is very crowded, full of people from Africa, Arab and India. Despite of all that, the hostel is great. Especially the location is Super. Apple hostel is my best choice.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It was okay, but I hope they will provide newer bath towels and small towel.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Apple Hostel is a very good hotel. Clean rooms, very accomodating staffs and the internet connection is so fast. Our family enjoyed our stay in this hotel.:)

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Apple Hostel is not a typical hostel where you have areas to socialize with fellow backpackers or a kitchen to prepare one's food. And the reason for this is that the hostel is only one of several hostels located in Chungking Mansions. For me, the hostel suited my needs to the tee: it's clean, has excellent-working AC, working hot/cold shower, in prime location in Kowloon, pretty much in the middle of a variety of restaurants and travel services (ATMs/banks, metro, travel tour companies, e


91%

Had an amazing stay here. The rooms are small but super clean and I never once worried about my security, be it personal or for my stuff. The atmosphere for staying in the Chungking Mansions is the same here as anyplace in the building. But once you go past the doors here you are staying in a clean and safe environment. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The mansions are not for everyone but if you want to stay in the heart of the actions and want a bit of adventure, this is the place.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Had a great stay at Apple hostel. The caretakers are very friendly and accommodating. They are very aware of what is going on - no blank stares or airheaded workers. Their English is good! Mamma looks over house keeping and is very warm. Rooms are small like everywhere, showers are over the toilet. Its clean and the décor is basic but up-to-date. Location is excellent but lots of Indians and Africans selling cell phones in the market on the first floor, so not great for children. Book here!

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

It was very basic, but clean, affordable, and secure. We had a wonderful stay!


74%

It's a hostle in Hong Kong. They are a bit different than everywhere else. Location is good. Not great hostle for meeting people. But staying in ChungKing Mansion is an experience in itself. Wifi and shower are both excellent.


89%

What can I say. Chung King Mansion is an experience in itself. Look it up on Wikipedia. Typical Hong Kong hostel. Small, cozy, shower/toilet/sink combo bathroom. hot water. Good Wifi. Good location.


83%

it is even better if there is an area for people to hang out


100%

Thanks so much. Look forward to see you again.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The problem is with the long time waiting for the lift not with the hostel.


60%

Apple Hostel is located on the tenth floor inside of the infamous Chungking Mansions. In order to get into your hostel, you must walk through the front entrance that is constantly surrounded with shady solicitors trying to drag you away to other hostels or sell you watches. Atmosphere is not safe for lone female travelers. Elevators take forever. Hostel itself is fine- linen and towels cleaned every other day, only 1 cockroach small room. Situated in an excellent location though.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback